Page 1 of 2
Proper SR20VE Headers...
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 2:21 am
by Monk BANzai
im in the hunt for a proper set of SR20VE headers or a fabricator that can provide such....inbox me....thanks....
Re: Proper SR20VE Headers...
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 2:50 am
by black start
That is a real hard item.
call Anil and see if he could link anything- 7372330
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 7:55 am
by mpower
banzai, unless is hotshot don't waste ur time, best bang for buck ssac ebay headers.Talk to yakuza.
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 10:20 am
by moving
on the hunt for the same.. ssac and hotshot is a pack of rubbish to be honest..
currently running ssac and would love to get my hands on a good 4-1 header with a proper merge collector and megaphone. best price i saw was online for around 800.00 us
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 10:28 am
by mpower
fujitsubo and implu have but is hard to find. Mazworks had one but was rubbish.
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 10:48 am
by moving
http://www.motoiq.com/magazine_articles ... og-ii.aspxcheck these headers on Mike Kojima Dog 2 Racecar from ASP..best ive scene on the internet so far
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 11:25 am
by Monk BANzai
Yeah moving...i saw those....the most elegant ive seen thus far.....scourging ebay and havent found any SSAC ones..so i gonna have to get them done locally....apart from Farley and Jimmy in the east ....are there any other good fabricators?
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 12:17 pm
by Conrad
Curious, how come so many examples are being rubbish?
Material?
Welds?
Design re: flow?
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 12:56 pm
by mpower
i read a lot that the best bang for buck is the ebay headers, i have them and they are just fine.
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 4:25 pm
by afternex2
all who say ebay headers is sheit think again, i bought ah set frm ebay cost 100 usd an dynoed the car on ah ve 174hp 136 tq an dynoed another car same ve rsr header 176 hp 135 tq , both cars runnin same ecu.an incase allyuh feel i talkin sheit i have d dyno sheet. so fellas is allyuh choice.
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 4:40 pm
by mpower
i say ebay for a budget build. Ent banzai cheap! *says mg man eh* i read dat somewhere
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 6:51 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
Those SSAC are selling average $1600 by fellas here on tuner the best price i saw them for was $1400.
I'm running the impul but i mod it where the secondary merges into one, I cut it and flared it into a 3'' stainless steel mandrel set up all the way the back.
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 6:58 pm
by Monk BANzai
ok.. i dont mind getting a set of Ebay's but who sells them on Tuner?..... point me good fellows....
Anil who did you modifications?
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 7:29 pm
by kurpal_v2
I think I saw one at sjr imports (powerseller on here), can't remember too clearly but hit him a pm.
Posted: January 2nd, 2013, 8:46 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
I think up my stuff, i brought in a full stainless steel catback for my car and was thinking why would i want a 2.5'' choke point flowing into a 3'' so i chopped it off and flared it with a hammer (neatly) and got a 3'' pipe welded onto it to meet the catback .only problem is when the VVL kicks in its a bit noisy
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 2:37 am
by Monk BANzai
ok i sent SJR a PM..hopefully he responds with good info...
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 7:54 am
by yakuza
Anil_Sooknanan wrote:I think up my stuff, i brought in a full stainless steel catback for my car and was thinking why would i want a 2.5'' choke point flowing into a 3'' so i chopped it off and flared it with a hammer (neatly) and got a 3'' pipe welded onto it to meet the catback .only problem is when the VVL kicks in its a bit noisy
The choke is there for a reason, without it you will lose some low end torque.
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 9:31 am
by moving
is anyone running a nistune ecu ?.. or what ecu's are yall running..
thinking about getting one instead of going to a full management.
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 10:55 am
by mpower
calum

for now!
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 11:02 am
by moving
mpower how do you find the performance of that ecu is?
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 11:39 am
by mpower
well i drove a friend sr20ve and i think mine pulls very hard, i dont like the fact that i have what sems to be an 8K + rev limit, my foot kinda heavy nah, i have to upgrade the valve train. She is painting right now, when it's done you could come and see for your self how it does.!
Yakuza! i still looking for the gearbox speed sensor! anyone!
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 1:29 pm
by Monk BANzai
so go with the SSAC "ebay" one guize?....
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 1:51 pm
by moving
the only issue i had with mine was the manifold kept blowing the gasket from the 4 into 2 piece..
i blew it 4 times in two weeks.... tried all sorts of stuff to prevent it..
and ended up welding it shut. so now its just one long piece..
and the ssac headers u may have to port match it.. i believe they are really DE headers
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 2:05 pm
by mpower
ssac for now banzai. if you ever need another header, it will sell fast here on tuner, son no worries.Budget Build!
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 4:32 pm
by Monk BANzai
nice...more than likely it wil lbe modded for our application.....but good advice guize.....i'd love a 4-1 setup..but how the engine is currently sitting in the Rover..there defn wud be ground clearance issues..
Posted: January 8th, 2013, 1:48 am
by Monk BANzai
..this is from one of the places i checked. Is this an SR20 application? the holes for the gasket looks a bit off...

Posted: January 8th, 2013, 8:11 am
by afternex2
looks like qr25 headers banzai. i dont think its sr20.
Posted: January 8th, 2013, 10:15 am
by Monk BANzai
ahhh thank you afternex.....
Posted: January 8th, 2013, 12:10 pm
by mpower
it can be modded to fit, but if you are going thru the trouble, just go tri-y and mod that.
Posted: January 8th, 2013, 7:23 pm
by Monk BANzai
which is the better flow in your opinion...the Tri-Y or the 4 -1?