280C (P430) restoration PROJECT HELP NEEDED
Posted: December 16th, 2012, 9:14 pm
by killarpete
PEOPLE, meh brother and i have a P430 old school 280c in our possession that we are tring to bring back, thus far we have done a fair amount of work on it.
This involves a good
-Bodyjob
-Engine swap
-New dashboard
-Change stock rim and tyres
-new steering wheel
-new breaking system
-installation of a double din deck
-modified headlights
-new wind shield
-side mirrors
-maybe new tail lights
-indicator lights (not the one the black line)
we are looking at the RB25 de auto for the swap - not really into speed (maybe a little), more economy. Anyone done this swap before?
Any major issues/mods to consider? (besides, fuel pump, mounts, brackets)
I already seeing one, as most tranny's for the RB engine came with floorshift, and his shifter by the steering currently, so I know some cutting and modding have to be done.
He also needs a new AC unit, mainly swaping out d old evaporator/blower with a better compatible one and we're wondering which will work.
What allya think?
....I would be documenting this project with good pics for all to see what goin on...
Re: 280C (P430) restoration PROJECT HELP NEEDED
Posted: December 17th, 2012, 5:35 am
by killarpete
anyone feel free to give me some advice on how i sholud go ahead to tackle this pls, the body is very solid (no accidents) just a some rotten spots here and there. I will update all the parts i need a bit later
Posted: December 17th, 2012, 9:35 am
by Ted_v2
Dudeeeee
my buddy currently is doing the same project
rb25de with tranny
20"
stock engine for the while
however the car is still getting painted and sorted out body wise
will post pics later
Posted: December 17th, 2012, 1:54 pm
by killarpete
Ok kool

[soundboy 64] well let him join in and see what we can learn from each other,
Update
Currently at
Body job 80% complete
Stock rim upgrade to 18s
Change out of front seats to single seats
Work on front dash 20% complete
Engine and tranny swap 30% complete [rb25de]
Headlights changeout 90% complete
Will update with some pictures later
Posted: December 17th, 2012, 3:56 pm
by Ted_v2
Pics of the slump pan and the mounts
thats my problem atm
Posted: December 18th, 2012, 4:53 am
by killarpete
updated pics

Posted: December 18th, 2012, 7:25 am
by killarpete
hey so ppl updated pics, let me no wat u"ll thinking and all advice r welcome,
So jus a lil more detailed run down of d wuk done thus far
EXTERIOR
-4 second hand 18" Azul Wheels - Speedmesh
-replacement rb25de engine&tranny
-replace trunk
-new head lights with super white bulbs (with home made harness 80% complete)
-cleaned all nickle strips/parts
-staighten and body work (90%)complete
-paint job (black with blue dust)
- change out of all shock
-inside and under the trunk sprayed with gravetex (rubber coated)
- entire underside painted with industrial blue paint
-new front wind shield installed
-all glass tinted 35%
Posted: December 19th, 2012, 12:47 am
by Anil_Sooknanan
i have all the power window switches foreign used (looking like brand new) mounted on wood finish finishers if you interested give me a call
Posted: December 19th, 2012, 1:50 pm
by killarpete
Anil_Sooknanan wrote:i have all the power window switches foreign used (looking like brand new) mounted on wood finish finishers if you interested give me a call
ok kool, i will checkout d condition of mines and base on how it looking i would give u a call. Btw have u got d door upholstery too ?
Posted: December 20th, 2012, 2:15 pm
by Tarantula
killarpete the transformation thus far is excellent!! Not really loving the rims, but I'm sure it'll look better in person. Not too fond of those back lights either, but nevertheless, car looks really great!
Posted: December 21st, 2012, 10:24 pm
by killarpete
Tarantula wrote:killarpete the transformation thus far is excellent!! Not really loving the rims, but I'm sure it'll look better in person. Not too fond of those back lights either, but nevertheless, car looks really great!
thanks, the rims i got it at an resonable deal, with respect to the taillights i plan on doing something with it wen i doing d finishing touch d body works (not sure as yet if u got any ideas let me know if u got any), Once its within my budget.
Posted: December 23rd, 2012, 12:58 am
by black start
project looking real goo so far pal.
Posted: December 24th, 2012, 5:22 am
by fabulous1
looking nice
Posted: December 24th, 2012, 6:29 am
by TRENDSETA
not really feeling the rims that are on presently but to each their own .
i do however like the back lights , i'm on the side of an ole school car should look old school .
you can update it with led bulbs or sumn so but i say keep the look you got .
Posted: December 31st, 2012, 3:46 am
by SUNNYB310GUY
project comin along nicely...would look a little better if u drop the ride height a bit...but it lookin good. keep us posted on progress.
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 8:58 pm
by killarpete
Thanks for all the post and comments, will be updating soon with pics, just waiting on some $ to continue but thus far new engine and tranny inside . Stuff still to be done
-modify drive shaft to tranny yolk,
-cut and install shifter (centre console needed),
-to source engine outlet hose to radiator,
-setup a new power steering line up to and from pump on engine
-change braking system (any ideas ???)
-engine wiring to be check (to be checked by guy who wired the engine)
and a couple of other stuff, but will keep U'll updated
Posted: January 3rd, 2013, 10:09 pm
by NR8
It's drive shaft bro.. WRT the brakes I've often heard that the Skyline setup works but not sure which model. The other guys will clarify.
BTW where did you get the Gravitex brand to buy & how much did it cost?
Posted: January 14th, 2013, 4:17 pm
by Sundar
wa bout the differential bro?

Posted: January 14th, 2013, 4:23 pm
by Ted_v2
Sundar wrote:wa bout the differential bro?

Differential won't need changing unless he plans to do some serious launches with it or upgrade to a turbo model soon
I know someone with a td27 turbo in one of these and it's working good with some pretty hard launches and the occasional donuts
Posted: May 28th, 2013, 5:23 pm
by crossfire
Yo anyone looking 4 some 280c parts call me470 6800 I have some foreign used doors and a dashboard
Posted: May 28th, 2013, 5:57 pm
by N.F.S
U have the complete engine and tranni?? that u willing to sell ?
Posted: May 28th, 2013, 8:53 pm
by nervewrecker
Wow, first time seeing this thread.
Nice work man, keep it up. Car looks nice.
Posted: May 29th, 2013, 1:03 am
by skylinechild
killarpete wrote:Thanks for all the post and comments, will be updating soon with pics, just waiting on some $ to continue but thus far new engine and tranny inside . Stuff still to be done
-modify drive shaft to tranny yolk,
-cut and install shifter (centre console needed),
-to source engine outlet hose to radiator,
-setup a new power steering line up to and from pump on engine
-change braking system (any ideas ???)
-engine wiring to be check (to be checked by guy who wired the engine)
and a couple of other stuff, but will keep U'll updated
some idea here for ya.....for the center console....you could try getting one from the old type box laurel...i dunno if it will work... but its worth investigating...
brakes....same thing...try and see if the set from the laurel will work..some laurels came disc some came with drum...
WRT the headlights....again you can use white for high beam but low beam use yellow.....it will help when driving thru heavy downpour...
Posted: May 29th, 2013, 3:09 pm
by Sundar
my bro put ah NEO 20 in his 280C, mechanic worked back the finger tip shift and over drive was always on
Posted: May 30th, 2013, 9:06 am
by Ted_v2
^ installing a neo 25 in one right now.
just hadda wire up now
Posted: June 3rd, 2013, 5:05 pm
by N.F.S
Bump....
Posted: June 13th, 2013, 3:04 pm
by glorenwill
Hi i drive a 280c that has been modified to fit an RB25 non turbo i'm a lady so i dont know much about these things i put some 20"s on it and i use the finger tip shift they managed to keep that, car works fantastic i want to change the bonnet and my condenser i'll be in touch
Posted: July 1st, 2013, 7:39 pm
by nissan/nothing
Hi guys new to the forum as I just found it. Great project remind me of one I did a couple years aback. Same P430 but was floor shift with a rb26dett on a 25det transmission had to merge the 25 sump with the 280
Posted: August 20th, 2018, 2:48 pm
by Mr. Red Sleeper
How did this finish up?