b14 ac worries
Posted: October 1st, 2012, 7:40 pm
by 14lover
when i put on the ac for the first time for the day, it works ok, then gradually its gets warmer as time goes by when driving, and when i accelerate, the breeze gets cooler and when car stops it gets warmer(changed two compressors already and same thing

) the ac lines are ice cold and everything seems to work good under the hood, however the temperature of breeze through the vents are a different story..what u tuners think is going on with my b14?

Re: b14 ac worries
Posted: October 1st, 2012, 7:43 pm
by wagonrunner
Evaporator possibly needs cleaning.
Posted: October 1st, 2012, 7:55 pm
by 14lover
^^ok that is a start, thanks...
other men say power wash the condenser
the tint i have have does attract plenty heat
to disconnect the heater
car idling too slow....
Posted: October 2nd, 2012, 6:50 am
by ddog
Sounds like your evaporator is "freezing up". Is you compressor tripping on and off? If it is the expansion valve on the evaporator could probably be the problem.
You also said the car is idling too slow, does it idle up when you turn on your AC? If not, you could have a problem with the IACV.
Posted: October 2nd, 2012, 10:32 am
by PARTS2go
Have a professional a/c shop check it for you but it does sound like a freezing evaporator. We can supply you with any parts you need for the fix. We are an a/c parts shop. call us 353-5523 or 223-8674
Posted: October 2nd, 2012, 12:40 pm
by 14lover
ok guys thanks for the help and PARTS2go i will give u a call soon..btw do you guys (PARTS2go) do installs to?
Posted: October 2nd, 2012, 1:38 pm
by 14lover
ddog wrote:Sounds like your evaporator is "freezing up". Is you compressor tripping on and off? If it is the expansion valve on the evaporator could probably be the problem.
You also said the car is idling too slow, does it idle up when you turn on your AC? If not, you could have a problem with the IACV.
ddog what is the 'IACV'?
Posted: October 2nd, 2012, 1:42 pm
by wagonrunner
idle air control valve
Posted: October 2nd, 2012, 1:56 pm
by 14lover
thanks^
Posted: October 2nd, 2012, 2:09 pm
by wagonrunner
when changing that, clean out your throttle body before.
Posted: October 6th, 2012, 9:46 am
by NR8
wagonrunner wrote:Evaporator possibly needs cleaning.
How would one go about cleaning an evaporator?
Posted: October 6th, 2012, 10:03 am
by ddog
Take it out and wash it under a pipe. If u pressure wash it, u will damage it.
Posted: October 6th, 2012, 12:21 pm
by PARTS2go
Pressure washing is what you need. With regular pipe pressure you will not wash properly.
Posted: October 6th, 2012, 1:26 pm
by wagonrunner
NR8 wrote:wagonrunner wrote:Evaporator possibly needs cleaning.
How would one go about cleaning an evaporator?
I go to an A/C service. they remove it from behind the dashboard, clean it, and regas system.
Posted: October 6th, 2012, 1:56 pm
by konartis
had this same issue with my b13 and it good now....go by good AC tech an clean the condenser ,filter(under the dash), re gas everything properly, condenser has nothing to do with it....that will help, other than that, doh beat up...is a b14

Posted: October 6th, 2012, 2:32 pm
by wagonrunner
konartis wrote:had this same issue with my b13 and it good now....go by good AC tech an clean the
condenser ,filter(under the dash), re gas everything properly,
condenser has nothing to do with it....that will help, other than that, doh beat up...is a b14

Posted: October 7th, 2012, 12:47 am
by PARTS2go
Vacuum it real good!
Posted: October 8th, 2012, 7:31 am
by 14lover
^thanks guys, im going by the shop this week...