SR20DE Swap in a 120Y with A15

Posted: February 7th, 2005, 5:37 pm
by Jimbo
Ey Nissan gurus

My padnah have a Dastun 120Y with the A15 engine and it just giving rell problems so he looking to swap in the essssss arrrrrrr.
Can anyone give a projected cost of this swap with a list of all things that are needed?
Thanks all help appreciated 8)

Posted: February 8th, 2005, 12:59 am
by Jimbo
erm... Nissan men, where allyuh?

Posted: February 8th, 2005, 5:45 am
by Mitsu power
It better if he put in a L20

Posted: February 8th, 2005, 2:35 pm
by Jimbo
Why not an L28?

Posted: February 8th, 2005, 7:03 pm
by DIESELTRINI
A15 giving real problems? Fus time I ever hear that.

Posted: February 8th, 2005, 10:10 pm
by Rx
The man probably talking about lack of replacement parts.........

RB 20 8)

Posted: February 9th, 2005, 12:52 pm
by droppa
let yuh padna organise ah 10k an check mih, dais full sr20 5fwd conversion?installation, he aint have tuh do nuttin but cut man arse wen ah dun wit him, if funds play rite, he mite even get sum rear disc brakes too, no skimpy back-a-yard install eh fadda, top-a-top thing. 8)

Posted: February 9th, 2005, 9:21 pm
by Rx
^^^^^^^^ kool............. doppa......yuh rell serious.........

Posted: February 9th, 2005, 11:51 pm
by Gool
jus make sure he get all d proper sensors on d harness and d correct brain etc. and i not sure d diff will take d stress... and make sure and redo the cooling system ( 3 core radiator) upgrade brakes. driveshaft hadda machine. front suspension hadda be top top.

p.m. me if u need any specific info.

i drop in one in my 929 bout a yr and a half ago.

Posted: February 9th, 2005, 11:58 pm
by Rx
^^^^ any probs with the system?

how about rooting problems?

Posted: February 10th, 2005, 12:31 pm
by Gool
rooting probz? eh? :?

Posted: February 15th, 2005, 11:57 pm
by link
Jimbo wrote:erm... Nissan men, where allyuh?

auto or manual trans....if auto u must install external trans oil cooler

if no eng modifications......install the standard single core alum rad for the eng......drops straight on orig x-member eng mts..yes - d/shft to cut..add laurel shocks...

basically..that's it......

circuit racing carded for 06th March........there is a 120Y with sr20det/6spd..brake/strut conversion.....get some pointers then...
rgds

Posted: July 2nd, 2005, 10:45 pm
by SUNNYB310GUY
A 120y a15 giving trouble?!!that is d fus time i hearing dat.a 120y engine is the easiest engine 2 fix and they don't give trouble UNLESS you are not taking care of it.any mechanic will who work on dem cars will tell yuh dat. my 120y has an a15 and it never ever give me trouble ATALL!!!!!

Posted: July 3rd, 2005, 12:31 am
by soo
yeah just to clear that up. nothing wrong with the engine. car was down for a while for a complete body job and the old oil tank was fugging up the whole system. the a15 still going strong

Posted: July 3rd, 2005, 10:39 am
by nash
Inshan wrote:A15 giving real problems? Fus time I ever hear that.

Thas what I trying to figure out myself....
Them engine could run on water yes..lol
If he want,I have an L18 put down,lemme know.

Posted: July 4th, 2005, 10:01 pm
by maximus
link wrote:
Jimbo wrote:erm... Nissan men, where allyuh?

auto or manual trans....if auto u must install external trans oil cooler

i don't have an external trans oil cooler on mines. what kinda problems will this cause. where can i get one??

when i did mine it cost about $10K.

Posted: July 22nd, 2005, 3:06 pm
by xxstitch69xx
hmm i hav a 120Y with a SR18...costed me about $6000 overall. de amount ah ppl get cut arse wit dat eh...iz ah shame...

Posted: August 2nd, 2005, 9:26 pm
by soo
what kind of mods u had to do for the sr18 to work? and what model 120y ?

Posted: August 3rd, 2005, 11:08 am
by demented
I kow of this fella who have ah SR-20 DE in a 210 model 120Y...he sellin for $12,000.

SR project in a 120Y sounding real promising though