Thermostats?

sio_r32_gts

Thermostats?

Postby sio_r32_gts » January 26th, 2012, 4:37 pm

On a regular basis someone or other RB owners always ask me if i had my thermostat removed. When i tell them no, they always give me this Shocking open eye look.
The reason they claim this is a good idea to remove it is because of our high temp.

So i'am curiously asking for all the RB owners in here, if it is a good idea to remove the OEM thermostat from my engine in order to get a cooler temperature in our climate.

and BTW
A thermostat is the component of a control system which regulates the temperature of a system so that the system's temperature is maintained near a desired set point temperature.
from wiki

await for some hopefully good responses

thanks
Last edited by sio_r32_gts on January 26th, 2012, 8:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Thermostats & RB engines?

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2012, 5:11 pm

Re: Thermostats?

Postby turbosingh » January 27th, 2012, 6:38 am

Simon if yuh know yuh going to use a nismo thermostat then u can take it out.What most Rb men are scared off is it sticking in close position an overheating the engine.Yuh see with the thermostat out the brain is always thinking the engine is cool an can cause you to burn excessive fuel!Also fooling the coolant temperature sensor causing the ECM to deliver improper fuel delivery.Take a read.....

http://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=c ... tmXw_HQhTQ

sio_r32_gts

Postby sio_r32_gts » January 28th, 2012, 7:07 am

Thanks turbosingh for your response, i have no plans of removing the thermostat.When the engine was on the ground i took a look at it and it seemed rust free and usable. Also i read once it removed the OEM temp gauge gives a wrong reading and ppl are forced to purchase an aftermarket gauge.

i wasn't aware of the excessive fuel burn and improper fuel delivery.

thanks again

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 15th, 2012, 10:01 am

most engines designed to work at a certain temperature, from my experience my car give a "rich" reading on the wideband when cold an only goes "lean" when it heats up properly, this "heat up" process usually take longer without of a thermostat. so if u want to conserve your gas consumption and have ur engine running at an efficient level i suggest u keep the thermostat and change it according to the service interval.

i have a nismo low temperature thermostat which was recommended and installed on my car (sr20det powered) by my new mechanic and it works fine. opens and closes between 70-75 degreeS C according to my digital water temp guage, it even cools at a lower temp with the a/c on.