RSR SPRING giving bumpy ride

ivar

RSR SPRING giving bumpy ride

Postby ivar » August 18th, 2011, 3:01 pm

New KYB shocks and used RSR springs, 215/35/18 tyres...

With this set up is it normal to get a bumpy ride?

GoS

Re: RSR SPRING giving bumpy ride

Postby GoS » August 18th, 2011, 4:46 pm

how old the spring is

Postby black start » August 19th, 2011, 12:08 am

incorrect matching of shocks and springs?i assume is rsr lowering springs?some shocks does not perform well if the height drop is too much from what it was designed for...

yakuza

Postby yakuza » August 19th, 2011, 7:03 am

ivar wrote:New KYB shocks and used RSR springs, 215/35/18 tyres...

Stock shocks dampening rates are designed for stock springs, I have EIBACH with KYB AGX and my pardna has the same EIBACH with stock KYB, and there is a big difference between the ride quality and handling...

With 35 series tyres, you must expect to feel every bump in the road.

ivar

Postby ivar » August 19th, 2011, 10:05 am

yakuza wrote:
ivar wrote:New KYB shocks and used RSR springs, 215/35/18 tyres...

Stock shocks dampening rates are designed for stock springs, I have EIBACH with KYB AGX and my pardna has the same EIBACH with stock KYB, and there is a big difference between the ride quality and handling...

With 35 series tyres, you must expect to feel every bump in the road.

So u saying i should have used the KYB AGX???

yakuza

Postby yakuza » August 19th, 2011, 10:19 am

I am saying that you should use shocks that have a dampening rate compatible with YOUR lowering springs...... every set up is different.

ivar

Postby ivar » August 19th, 2011, 10:27 am

Where can i get this kyb agx shocks to buy? average price?

yakuza

Postby yakuza » August 19th, 2011, 10:40 am

I don't know if anyone stocks them locally, but you can try dollar savers in the bamboo, they are agents for KYB.

Average price online is $120US per shock.

Postby X_Factor » August 19th, 2011, 9:30 pm

^ they dont stock or sell that
you hav to order them in urself
you can PM raptor for a quote
but you need to get the specific one for ur vehicle

what kinda car u have?

bir

Postby bir » August 19th, 2011, 9:56 pm

Padna i have on a set of rsr lowering springs on a wingroad with 18"What i did was retread the shocks and all the bad ride gone

ivar

Postby ivar » August 20th, 2011, 10:31 am

Wouldn't "retreading" the shock make the height lower? how much did u tread down???

yakuza

Postby yakuza » August 20th, 2011, 10:38 am

Re-threading the struts doesn't affect the "height" in any way, what it does is regain some suspension travel that is lost when using lowering springs.

GoS

Postby GoS » August 20th, 2011, 5:26 pm

where u get rsr spring to buy

Postby X_Factor » August 20th, 2011, 5:42 pm

^ usually from those guys who bring f.used performance parts to sell in the forum
can probably bring ur own as well

GoS

Postby GoS » August 21st, 2011, 8:04 pm

i see ah post the fella want 2500 for the set firm shocks everything i nearly cry when i see that price

Puppetman

Postby Puppetman » August 22nd, 2011, 10:29 am

doh worry Gos... things more things comin.. i find that price high too but from what i heard those shocks are good for the springs so its a good combo.. but price bit to high for used stuff i think...

ivar

Postby ivar » August 23rd, 2011, 7:54 am

Puppetman1142 wrote:doh worry Gos... things more things comin.. i find that price high too but from what i heard those shocks are good for the springs so its a good combo.. but price bit to high for used stuff i think...

Do u supply suspension parts?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 23rd, 2011, 9:13 am

you need stiffer shocks to go with stiffer springs

ivar

Postby ivar » August 23rd, 2011, 9:18 am

any suggestions?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 23rd, 2011, 11:35 am

agx, tokico hp and so on.

do some research and see what shocks worked well with those springs.

with the agx you can adjust shock stiffness.

now don't come and ask where to get the agx's - not sold in Trinidad I think.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » August 23rd, 2011, 11:55 am

Check G20.net and see what those guys get best results with.

Creative

Postby Creative » August 29th, 2011, 7:28 am

kyb excel g with rsr springs, not a good combination, had it on my primera, ride was not nice.