Almera Suspension
Posted: August 12th, 2011, 6:44 am
by hookage
I recently purchased a 2006 Almera about 2 months ago during the first month there was a squeaking noise and cracking sound coming from the from of the vehicle while driving on smooth and rough surfaces I visited the mechanic and he checked the vehicle stated that everything seems ok, however he advised me to get the car under wash and shock oil. This was done and the noise was totally gone now its back I was wondering if the noise was coming from the bushings or the shocks can any one shed some light on this for me please thanks.
Re: Almera Suspension
Posted: August 12th, 2011, 1:08 pm
by X_Factor
go by an alignment shop and let them check ur car and they would be able to tell u if anything is bad and needs to be changed
when last the shocks was changed?
Posted: August 12th, 2011, 8:15 pm
by hookage
when and got the vehicle align after i shock oil and everything was ok. Not sure when last the shocks was changed but the ride is ok with the current shocks.
Posted: August 13th, 2011, 8:51 am
by turbosingh
Dan never use shock oil under your car then self all yuh bushing gone.Most Almeras an wingroads have a problem with the calipers rackling!
Posted: August 13th, 2011, 5:38 pm
by hookage
well I had no idea that the oil would be bad for the bushing because the mechanic told me to have that done to eliminate the noise. Had the caliper pins changed and greased that gtg but the noise looks like it coming from the ball joint i think cause i check the mechanic back and he put some oil on the 2 ball joints and sound almost gone could barely hear it. That very weird cause i never knew that ball joints could make such a loud noise this is not confirmed yet a driving around just to make sure the noise not coming from no where else.
Posted: November 7th, 2011, 2:38 pm
by aR&D
Confirmed. Dont' ever shock oil your vehicle. Engine, underwash with water and thats' it.
Posted: November 8th, 2011, 11:42 am
by jayzinz
what else can be done to prevent the calipers from rackling? My almera doing the same thing too.
Posted: December 7th, 2011, 2:13 pm
by badmanbopeep
jayzinz wrote:what else can be done to prevent the calipers from rackling? My almera doing the same thing too.
this is a problem with all almeras, wingroads, b15 etc. take the complete calipers to a machine shop and let them re-bush them for you. i did mine with teflon over a year ago and them now startin to make noise again. i'm not surprised since i go from la romaine to la brea and back everyday. any machine shop should be able to do this, i did mine in debe.
Posted: December 16th, 2011, 3:27 pm
by 10k
badmanbopeep wrote:jayzinz wrote:what else can be done to prevent the calipers from rackling? My almera doing the same thing too.
this is a problem with all almeras, wingroads, b15 etc. take the complete calipers to a machine shop and let them re-bush them for you. i did mine with teflon over a year ago and them now startin to make noise again. i'm not surprised since i go from la romaine to la brea and back everyday. any machine shop should be able to do this, i did mine in debe.
i took out mine and rap the pins with tread seal...noise gone works perfect!!! cheap and u could do it your self
Posted: December 17th, 2011, 7:40 am
by jayzinz
thanks.