QG18 Transmission, Reverse not going in

flint

QG18 Transmission, Reverse not going in

Postby flint » April 23rd, 2011, 9:13 am

Guys,

I have a Primera here with a transmission problem, it was a RORO dunno if that makes a difference, I not sure if it have a CVT in it when I look at the transmission I only see these engraved numbers "0403111" at the very top of the casing.

In anycase, the owner ignored the transmission taking a little while to go into reverse (prior to this problem), and now it just wont go in at all. The fluid needs to change and i'm going to do that first once I find out exactly what type of fluid it needs.

Any help would be appreciated, oh and Drive goes in without any problems at all.

PS. I read here "http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=177408&hilit=primera+transmission" about the Stepper motor and i'm wondering if that would be one of the causes

I should also note I not seeing any OD light blinking when I have the key in the ignition with it in the acc or on positions and this problem occurs when the engine is hot or cold.

QG

Re: QG18 Transmission, Reverse not going in

Postby QG » April 23rd, 2011, 5:04 pm

If you have the OD listed on your instument panel then you do not have CVT.

And most mechanics would recommend you change the tranny. But to me maybe your transmission clutches are damaged.

What vehicle is it?

flint

Postby flint » April 23rd, 2011, 5:10 pm

Well look at that, didn't kno about the OD and CVT.
It's the P12 Primera 2002 model.

Guess we'll just change it out then... last time I checked it's around 3k to just check those trannys.

Thanks QG

Postby black start » April 24th, 2011, 1:35 pm

^yup it probably more economical to change it....but rebuilt is very very good once a GOOD technician does the rebuild....alot of ppl rebuild their trannies an in a few months time it does kick the bucket....seen this happen to lots of people i know....so see wat the owner wants and do from their....

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » April 24th, 2011, 1:55 pm

Most likely, as QG suggested, the clutches are gone. I have a little Honda bike, and believe me, the clutches are thinner on these transmissions, then on the bike.
To rebuild these transmissions at a good specialist would be over $4,000.
I did a rebuild on a B14 at a specialist and it lasted two and a half years. Of course, it was only then I took the advice of others " boy go in de bamboo an' slap on ah forren-use one". The foreign-used one I then "slapped-on" lasted three and a half years, until I sold the car.
The rebuild was two and a half times the cost of the foreign-used replacement.
Regards,
RR.

QG

Postby QG » April 25th, 2011, 3:17 pm

Estimating from Ramishrrr statement and experience...replacing the trannt came out better!!

Flint you said 3K just to check the tranny; maybe if you went to Neal and Massy they might charge that price but there a few tranny experts around in various garages and I am sure they not charging 3K just to check man.
Take your time and search, ask many questions to people and someone must lead you to a reasonable tranny expert!

In the south side has many garages that will handle you good.

QG

Postby QG » April 25th, 2011, 3:23 pm

On another side note..i am puzzled! You stated QG18 Transmission for the heading and then stated it in the P12 Primera.
To my knowledge QG series were never built in P12's.

I know P12 comes 2.0 in either SR20VVL (2001 version) or the QR20DE or QR20DD (and QR25DE) with CVT or OD tranny. I never came across a 1.8 P12 o_0

flint

Postby flint » April 25th, 2011, 3:59 pm

yeah replacement is what we went with, I pretty much looked around for transmission repairs and heard those same reviews before.

Yeah QG it came just like that, even the guys that were working on it was surprised. It runs pretty well though

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » April 25th, 2011, 4:01 pm

There were P12 1.8 Primeras with chassis # starting QP12-. I don't know what type of engine they carried, but if they followed the P11 model Primera, then it would be a QG18 with CVT(not M-6) transmission.
There was a GT 2.0 manual version which possibly carried the SR-20.(not in photos)
Oh ! There was even a 2.5L model carrying the chassis # RP12-.
Regards,
RR.
Primera 1.8 Engine.jpg
Primera 2.0 Engine.jpg
Primera 2.5L Engine.jpg
Last edited by ramishrrr on April 26th, 2011, 5:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

QG

Postby QG » April 25th, 2011, 8:28 pm

WOW!!!!

Very shocking twist :lol:
That photo of the 1.8 L is in fact a QG Series 2 engine with E-Throttle. But Nissan wicked, that P12 is too heavy for that 1.8L but say what. Thanks for those images Ramsihrrr.

lalchan dalgir

Postby lalchan dalgir » July 11th, 2011, 8:35 am

ah have a transmission if you intrested
real small money ah callin

cal meh 725-0579

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » October 16th, 2021, 11:41 pm

lalchan dalgir wrote:ah have a transmission if you intrested