Postby DatManiac » March 28th, 2011, 11:17 pm
I opened a sprocket that was rattling and discovered three seals that holds the oil pressure inside, had obvious signs of wear. I want to try changing these three o-rings to see if it would stop the noise. Problem is the o-rings are made out of a composite called phenolic resin, kinda hard to find. Did some searching and found that hydraulic cylinders use this same type of ring called wear rings. Checked a few of those hydraulic supplies places and couldn't find the size the sprocket uses.
I have couple of other options to check:
Heard that seals like these are found in transmissions also. I'm going to check those transmission repair places to see if I could get it there.
And,
Some places make teflon seals. I want to see if I can get them made out of teflon. Checked hydraulic components in chaguanas but they blank meh. Looking for other places that makes seals right now.
Anyways the seals for the sprocket have three different diameters 1" 1.5" and 2.5" (just averaging, can't remember exact measurements right now) but all have the same square cross section, 2.5mm thick. They are reddish brown in colour and are kinda like a fibre glass material(it actually is phenolic resin soaked into cotton and hardened from what I found googling) These seals also have gap like piston rings, but slant cut.
Your advise and suggestions are welcomed, thanx.