Nissan Y12 Wingroad- Questions

chris

Nissan Y12 Wingroad- Questions

Postby chris » October 31st, 2010, 12:41 pm

Its a 2007 RORO Nissan Y12 Wingroad.
What Grade of Gas
What Brand/ Grade of Oil
Spark plugs
Brakes Pads
Coolant.
A/c Filter

eViLwOn

Re: Nissan Y12 Wingroad- Questions

Postby eViLwOn » November 5th, 2010, 2:09 pm

Have purchased a 2007 Y12 RORO just over two months ago and have made the following changes to my ride.

1. Running Super unleaded gasoline with no noticeable knocking from the engine.
2. Had the engine oil changed to Castrol GTX 20W-50
3. Topped off radiator bottle with Prestone Radiator Coolant.
4. Checked the A/C unit and was informed that the filter needed to be changed. The drawback of this was that Massy charged me $450 plus VAT. In the end it needed to be changed so that's one expense out of the way.
5. Had the original air breather filter changed and replaced with a K&N air filter which has made a great difference to my gas consumption bill as I run with the A/C on at all times.
6. Have not yet changed the spark plugs as yet but will after reading the advice and suggestions from 2ners here!

Regards...

Postby wagonrunner » November 5th, 2010, 3:12 pm

^^ #3, may end up costing you more in the long run.

casper

Postby casper » November 5th, 2010, 6:40 pm

wagonrunner wrote:^^ #3, may end up costing you more in the long run.

y?

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » November 5th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Thanxs for the feedback Wagonrunner!
Please explain why I shouldn't use Prestone and what recommended coolant should I use instead?

Feedback appreciated!

Postby wagonrunner » November 6th, 2010, 12:38 am

that prestone coolant (green), corrodes aluminium radiators.
it makes the tubing pourous, and eventually leaks.

glycoshell (blue) is the recommended alternative.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » November 6th, 2010, 8:53 am

Thanx you so much Wagonrunner!
Me thinks that I will have the existing coolant, one which came with the wagon drained and replaced with glycoshell (blue).
Will do a search on the board to see where I may locate some.

Regards,

casper

Postby casper » November 6th, 2010, 9:15 am

wagonrunner wrote:that prestone coolant (green), corrodes aluminium radiators.
it makes the tubing pourous, and eventually leaks.

glycoshell (blue) is the recommended alternative.

i always thought that prestone relll good u know...guess i was wrong...lol

Postby wagonrunner » November 6th, 2010, 10:30 am

It real good, but better suited for brass / copper radiators. not aluminium.

casper

Postby casper » November 6th, 2010, 11:28 am

^^ite thanks for the advice

chris

Postby chris » November 6th, 2010, 5:41 pm

[quote="eViLwOn"]Have purchased a 2007 Y12 RORO just over two months ago and have made the following changes to my ride.

2. Had the engine oil changed to Castrol GTX 20W-50
4. Checked the A/C unit and was informed that the filter needed to be changed. The drawback of this was that Massy charged me $450 plus VAT. In the end it needed to be changed so that's one expense out of the way.

The Oil. I got a japanese service manual and it recommend the use of a 10w30 oil?Would there be any difference between using a 20w 50 oil and a 10w 30 oil.Also the a/c filter you carried the car by massey and they change it for that price?Or did u change it? Can u tell if the filter is the same as the Nissan Tiida?

the phoenix

Postby the phoenix » November 6th, 2010, 9:18 pm

What's the deal with the RORO Y12 gas consumption.Half tank with a/c gives me 200km with super unleaded gas.It finishes real fast.

the phoenix

Postby the phoenix » November 6th, 2010, 9:20 pm

Not too impressed with the Y12 suspension..rides real rough especially the back shocks.

the phoenix

Postby the phoenix » November 6th, 2010, 9:27 pm

How did you get the K&N to fit on or who did it for u?

thanks

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » November 8th, 2010, 12:07 am

The Oil. I got a japanese service manual and it recommend the use of a 10w30 oil?Would there be any difference between using a 20w 50 oil and a 10w 30 oil.Also the a/c filter you carried the car by massey and they change it for that price?Or did u change it? Can u tell if the filter is the same as the Nissan Tiida?[/quote]

@Chris,
I had the A/C specialist give my system a complete checkup inclusive of testing the pressure and coolant levels.
He removed the filter in my presence and showed my the condition and advised me to have it replaced.
I went by Massy for the filter and was told that I had to give an order and wait for it to arrive from Morvant within 24hrs.
The salesperson at Massy informed me that the A/C filter for the Y12 is the same one used in the Tiida's here.
If you are interested in changing your filter, which you should, I would advise you check out Faiz's Auto in Marabella first or anyone of the Motorist's outlets.
Massy is just a big rip off! IMHO

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » November 8th, 2010, 12:22 am

the phoenix wrote:How did you get the K&N to fit on or who did it for u?

thanks

@ the phoenix,

I went by R&R's Auto Supplies in Balmain just after Central Park in Couva. Please forgive me if I got the name of the shop wrong, I can't remember the exact name right now.
I purchased the filter for under $600 and replaced the old air breather right there and then myself.
No big technical job, just remove the cap from the air breather box and pull out the old filter along with its holder. Keep note of the position of the old filter when coming out.

Get an old cloth and wipe away all excess grease and dust from the edges of the air breather box and holder. I even wiped inside the casing of the box for any noticeable dust or grease.
Remove the K&N filter from the box and slip it into its holder and then gently glide the holder back into position, keep in mind the same direction you would have removed the old filter.
Make sure that the holder is properly aligned otherwise you would not get the cap to fit back into position. Had to remove the holder at least two times until I got the alignment right.
Hope this helps out.

Regards,

Zim

Postby Zim » August 17th, 2013, 7:44 pm

I purchased the filter for under $600

this is a good price?

What coolant is recommended?

rx30

Postby rx30 » September 8th, 2013, 3:38 pm

I have a cople of questions about the Y12 Wingroad. Does the E-4wd model carry different parts to the regular 2wd model,I am concerned about shocks,suspension,brakesetc esp for the rear???
How readily available are these parts if they are indeed different???

nigel_df

Postby nigel_df » May 11th, 2014, 11:10 pm

good questions. What parts are different in the 4wd and the 2wd

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » May 12th, 2014, 8:11 pm

Just the banjo in the back diff. But 2wd banjo fits ups bolt for bolts if yuh wanna change. Brakes shoes different also. Engine wise now the belt is just longer coupled with a few more pulleys, and a generator for the motor that drives the 4wd . Nb only engages under 40kmp. If by any chance pulleys give trouble in 4wd, just buy the 2wd bracket with tensioner "manual" and belt swap out 4wd bracket and yuh good will just be left with light on on the dash which is no problem,

Redboymiguel96

Postby Redboymiguel96 » July 26th, 2014, 4:58 pm

hey guys i have a y12 rider version i want to know how to activate sport mode please???

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 29th, 2014, 8:34 pm

just press the sports button on the shifter

Hans

Postby Hans » July 30th, 2014, 5:42 pm

Hey tuners does anyone know where i can get the rear shocks for the y12. need them asap....thanks

jameswd

Postby jameswd » October 6th, 2014, 10:32 am

Hey Tuner bodies Listen I've been reading all the comments about AC filter, I payed $100 TT dollars at SACHIN AUTO AIRCONDITION #2 Bamboo Settlement Cell: 722-4830/349-5540, and yes i have a Y12 as well over three months now and I change my filter a month now the same one he put in was the same as the one he pulled out, Trust me they are de Best, in AC. Reference the oil I was told that the Shell Helix HX7 10W 30 and the 10W 40 from Automotive on Charles Street Port of Spain.

Seanyr2

Postby Seanyr2 » October 23rd, 2014, 3:33 pm

Can anyone tell me the differences between the rs and rx models from massy?

spr@ng@23

Postby spr@ng@23 » October 26th, 2014, 7:15 pm

any advice on what spark plugs to use on the Y12?

casper

Postby casper » October 30th, 2014, 1:30 pm

^^^why don't u jus go to massy and ask / buy the plugs from them?

LordB

Postby LordB » November 11th, 2014, 3:33 pm

Wifey has the 1.8 tiptronic 2008 Y12.

It uses Denso Platinum Iridium plugs. $800 plus for it at the motorist. Saw it online for between 40 and 50 USD for the set of 4.

Got it for 440 at Dindials in Chaguanas.

Had the plug number written down somewhere .. will look and see if I can find it.

spr@ng@23

Postby spr@ng@23 » December 5th, 2014, 2:32 pm

anyone encounter problems with cradle bushings?

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » December 6th, 2014, 11:46 am

That's a normal prob with y12