rwd gearbox for ga16?

Posted: October 5th, 2010, 5:21 pm
by speedfreak44
does this exist?

Re: rwd gearbox for ga16?

Posted: October 5th, 2010, 7:10 pm
by bigchief3679
does not exist but anything is possible. i've seen an E15 sunny engine on a 120Y gearbox in a 310 wagon already, and that was maybe ten years ago. you may need to pocket the firewall for the distributor though, depending on the vehicle. engine mounts gonna be weird too.

Posted: October 5th, 2010, 7:14 pm
by speedfreak44
but what gearbox u think? 120y?

Posted: October 5th, 2010, 7:30 pm
by bigchief3679
it's not that easy. even if the bolt pattern is similiar, the starter may be on the wrong side in the bell housing and foul the exhaust etc, then you have to worry about clutch, flywheel etc. i dont think it may be worth it. you may be better off going A15 (if you think its not too old) or and engine that's already rwd, CA18, SR etc. what vehicle is it going in?

Posted: October 9th, 2010, 9:39 am
by speedfreak44
hmm.. ca and sr is to big, its for a 1.3 Suzuki carry.. yeah lol

Posted: October 10th, 2010, 1:30 pm
by bigchief3679
i have a friend witha toyota 4k engine in a super carry (believe it or not). that's the slanted ke70 engine, it fit but the rear cross member is a real challenge,

Posted: October 12th, 2010, 7:01 am
by speedfreak44
im up for the challenge, and the 3k is even smaller.. hmm food for thought

Posted: October 12th, 2010, 8:10 pm
by bigchief3679
orr...................you could try something different like the 3-cylinder jimny turbo with the original carry box (don't know if it will line up, but at least its suzuki) and it go be tobo...........lol. many of these engines around now.

Posted: October 14th, 2010, 12:08 am
by speedfreak44
these sheit go for 10g lol... yeah the box will line uppp.. but idk if i wana do that.. turbo will make men head turn lol

Posted: October 14th, 2010, 6:03 pm
by bigchief3679
10g :shock:
thais $3,300 per cylinder for a 660cc engine. there are places you will see these engines strewn like rubbish, but i guess is all about timing and walkin wit ca$h. i will keep an eye out though, ravi's in the bamboo has a good few.

Posted: November 2nd, 2010, 6:40 pm
by pokie b11
i have seen dis done in a 120y check nanan racing in debe

Posted: November 3rd, 2010, 2:49 am
by megadoc1
ga16 rwd gearbox may be found in the old model nissan serena c23 good luck !
http://www.sr20nation.com/ga16forum/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=456

Posted: November 3rd, 2010, 7:04 am
by speedfreak44
oh waw.. good luck is very good phrase to be used here...

Posted: November 20th, 2010, 1:12 am
by KrAzYBoY
120Y gearbox is the thing, and minor mods,(doh ask meh what) a friend did this conversioin in his 120Y. Don't know if it'll fit in your vehicle BUT, i have a 5fwd box fuh sale (if yuh interested) $1800
704-3009