noise coming from suspension

Posted: August 27th, 2010, 10:05 am
by smily245
Everytime i turning the steering and driving i am hearing a knocking noise, when i driving striaght i dont hear anything, only sometimes when i am stopping i hear a small knock, does anyone have any ideas on what it could be, changed velocity joint last week, rack end good, dont have a stabilizer bar, cradle bushing changed recently. This is an almera .

Re: noise coming from suspension

Posted: August 30th, 2010, 7:58 am
by THE SYNDICATE
get a complete under suspension check!

Posted: August 30th, 2010, 7:44 pm
by smily245
thanks man.

Posted: August 31st, 2010, 9:52 pm
by turbohead
inner cups

Posted: September 1st, 2010, 6:13 pm
by turboturnsmeon2
when your going on a bumpy road do you get the knocking ?
check the top of the shock there is a little rubber from the shock shaft.

Posted: September 5th, 2010, 8:34 pm
by smily245
turbohead, the inner cup is damaged?

Posted: September 5th, 2010, 8:36 pm
by smily245
turboturnsmeon2, no i dont get noise when it driving through rough roads.

Posted: September 6th, 2010, 7:24 pm
by mellod
how do u know if that rubber from the shock shaft is bad, cuz i did a complete change of suspension parts recently except shocks but i still get a knocking sound in rough roads or bumpy ones and some times when turning the steering at slow speeds u can hear it. so how do u know must u remove the shock? and if so how easy is it to check

Posted: September 17th, 2010, 8:23 pm
by turbohead
inner cups may be worn. and knocking

Posted: September 20th, 2010, 8:55 pm
by mellod
turbohead wrote:inner cups may be worn. and knocking

how easy is it to change them or are they attached to the shock and can't be removed separately?

Posted: September 21st, 2010, 7:56 pm
by turbohead
they are teh other end of the axle to the transmission

Posted: September 29th, 2010, 11:11 pm
by trini_darkside
dude i getting the same problem but when i turn the steering i hearing a metal rubbing sound....i changed velocity joint bout 3 months ago.............

Posted: September 30th, 2010, 9:28 pm
by turbohead
give me call 4952320

Posted: October 2nd, 2010, 8:03 pm
by ***TRINISON***
Had the same problem hoss... The inner cups may be worn.

Posted: October 6th, 2010, 8:07 am
by xeon
im getting a slight knock coming from the steering wheel whenever a pass over a lil bump like what wassa does make. what is the problem there?

Posted: October 7th, 2010, 12:08 pm
by turbohead
could be a worn steering end or rack may need adjustment

Posted: October 9th, 2010, 1:09 am
by Eagle
I had a similar problem recently ,and it may be that the rubber on the top of the shock head is burst ,you can check this by taking a spanner and turning the nut on the top of the shock head and if it is not tighting that may be your problem.Also there is a very small plastic bearing that is to the top of the shock head ,when it is worn you may get that noise ,because i had my suspension check and it was perfect ,wheel aligned and yet still I was getting the noise you describe and for some reason there were still a pull as though if the wheel was not perfectly align..........Bottom line a shockman may be able to identify the problem but you are free to call me or pm to much to explain

Posted: October 11th, 2010, 9:33 pm
by mellod
will have to try those things cuz so far i've changed everything on the car excepting shocks, genuine arms, tierod and tierod ends, stablizer bar bushings and still this knocking noise whenever i am in a bumpy road or if i hit slight bumps.

Posted: October 10th, 2012, 5:57 pm
by smily245
bump!!