noise coming from suspension

smily245

noise coming from suspension

Postby smily245 » August 27th, 2010, 10:05 am

Everytime i turning the steering and driving i am hearing a knocking noise, when i driving striaght i dont hear anything, only sometimes when i am stopping i hear a small knock, does anyone have any ideas on what it could be, changed velocity joint last week, rack end good, dont have a stabilizer bar, cradle bushing changed recently. This is an almera .

THE SYNDICATE

Re: noise coming from suspension

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 30th, 2010, 7:58 am

get a complete under suspension check!

smily245

Postby smily245 » August 30th, 2010, 7:44 pm

thanks man.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » August 31st, 2010, 9:52 pm

inner cups

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » September 1st, 2010, 6:13 pm

when your going on a bumpy road do you get the knocking ?
check the top of the shock there is a little rubber from the shock shaft.

smily245

Postby smily245 » September 5th, 2010, 8:34 pm

turbohead, the inner cup is damaged?

smily245

Postby smily245 » September 5th, 2010, 8:36 pm

turboturnsmeon2, no i dont get noise when it driving through rough roads.

mellod

Postby mellod » September 6th, 2010, 7:24 pm

how do u know if that rubber from the shock shaft is bad, cuz i did a complete change of suspension parts recently except shocks but i still get a knocking sound in rough roads or bumpy ones and some times when turning the steering at slow speeds u can hear it. so how do u know must u remove the shock? and if so how easy is it to check

turbohead

Postby turbohead » September 17th, 2010, 8:23 pm

inner cups may be worn. and knocking

mellod

Postby mellod » September 20th, 2010, 8:55 pm

turbohead wrote:inner cups may be worn. and knocking

how easy is it to change them or are they attached to the shock and can't be removed separately?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » September 21st, 2010, 7:56 pm

they are teh other end of the axle to the transmission

trini_darkside

Postby trini_darkside » September 29th, 2010, 11:11 pm

dude i getting the same problem but when i turn the steering i hearing a metal rubbing sound....i changed velocity joint bout 3 months ago.............

turbohead

Postby turbohead » September 30th, 2010, 9:28 pm

give me call 4952320

***TRINISON***

Postby ***TRINISON*** » October 2nd, 2010, 8:03 pm

Had the same problem hoss... The inner cups may be worn.

xeon

Postby xeon » October 6th, 2010, 8:07 am

im getting a slight knock coming from the steering wheel whenever a pass over a lil bump like what wassa does make. what is the problem there?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 7th, 2010, 12:08 pm

could be a worn steering end or rack may need adjustment

Eagle

Postby Eagle » October 9th, 2010, 1:09 am

I had a similar problem recently ,and it may be that the rubber on the top of the shock head is burst ,you can check this by taking a spanner and turning the nut on the top of the shock head and if it is not tighting that may be your problem.Also there is a very small plastic bearing that is to the top of the shock head ,when it is worn you may get that noise ,because i had my suspension check and it was perfect ,wheel aligned and yet still I was getting the noise you describe and for some reason there were still a pull as though if the wheel was not perfectly align..........Bottom line a shockman may be able to identify the problem but you are free to call me or pm to much to explain

mellod

Postby mellod » October 11th, 2010, 9:33 pm

will have to try those things cuz so far i've changed everything on the car excepting shocks, genuine arms, tierod and tierod ends, stablizer bar bushings and still this knocking noise whenever i am in a bumpy road or if i hit slight bumps.

smily245

Postby smily245 » October 10th, 2012, 5:57 pm

bump!!