RB25 Turbo Or 20 Turbo

GHOSTRYDER

RB25 Turbo Or 20 Turbo

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 5th, 2010, 1:46 pm

Ok i have a A31 with a RB25 at present non turbo .But i want turbo now.So my question is could we turbo the 25 and would it hold up or should i just go for a 20 turbo all together ?

Conrad

Re: RB25 Turbo Or 20 Turbo

Postby Conrad » June 5th, 2010, 5:14 pm

You can but you'd need a lot of stuff. Best to buy a turbo engine to save face.

Devil's advocate...a higher compression engine (your N/A) would do more numbers on the same amount of boost than a lower compression (RB25DET) one.

OH! You should come our lil' meet, see the below link.

A31 Car Meet

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 5th, 2010, 5:50 pm

Cool i will make an attempt to pass .

Any more advice on the engine guys ?

shinaka

Postby shinaka » June 7th, 2010, 10:51 am

Auto or manual?
Budget?
Power goals?

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 7th, 2010, 1:44 pm

Well the engine presently in right now has a tranney many have said change it and go gearbox and it will rip .

As for budget i am not sure as yet still thinking if i can get the 25 sold i could put back out some together with the funds from that engine but again iam still trying to see what my options are

shinaka

Postby shinaka » June 7th, 2010, 3:04 pm

From most experiences auto transmissions work well for stock engines but break down after serious mods...If its just stock turbo engine you're looking for then maybe you can bolt on an rb20det engine on your tranny without cutting up the harness and plug an auto rb20det main ecu as the trans ecu will already be in place without needing to be touched....The only difference between rb25 pinout and rb20 pinout are #4 and #6 injector and rb25de and rb20det come with the same auto transmission as far as I'm aware....Burnouts will destroy those auto transmissions so go manual one time if that you're looking for either rb25det or rb20det...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 7th, 2010, 3:15 pm

^^^ Which RB25DE does he have? ;)

shinaka

Postby shinaka » June 7th, 2010, 3:39 pm

thats a good question but its an A31 so should be series 1....maybe he should confirm?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 7th, 2010, 3:46 pm

There was a RB25DE that was more akin to the RB20s found in the R32/A31/C33.

Quite different to the more popular R33 & R34 and going off of pass trends the R33 uses an electrical signal whereas the R32 genre uses a mechanical signal to the tach. That's for manuals, I doubt it changed for autos (same gauge cluster I would assume) but you never know.

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 7th, 2010, 4:38 pm

Well fellas its a local A31 Altima came with single cam but we dumped that and put the 25 after we had some probs here are some pics

Ok so we talking about the car let me introduce alyu one time nah

And thank you guys for all this info my madchanic saying best we go with a 20 turbo one time gearbox so i asking around to see whats best

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » June 8th, 2010, 2:25 pm

boi boost yuh 25 high comp wil pull ike a devil wit yuh tranny u go save money but go hada roll on low boost 2 be safe get a management i woulda do dat and done tlk

my mech now install a rb20 det red top from the r 31 skyline tranny in a medalist and it pullin nice i en go lie so imagine yours
Last edited by azoturbo on June 9th, 2010, 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 8th, 2010, 3:34 pm

wey yuh mean boost yuh mean turbo the stock 25 ?

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » June 9th, 2010, 10:17 am

GHOSTRYDER wrote:wey yuh mean boost yuh mean turbo the stock 25 ?

yes it has been done many times high comp rules

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 9th, 2010, 11:58 am

ok now what would that cost?

what price am i looking @ and what would i need to get / buy for this conversion

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » June 9th, 2010, 2:57 pm

GHOSTRYDER wrote:ok now what would that cost?

what price am i looking @ and what would i need to get / buy for this conversion

ok
1.turbo
2.intercooler
3.pipeing and clamps
4.exhaust manifold
5.management
6.bov
7.guages
8.adjustable fpr

and the tuner would tune the d car 2 run wit stock injectors for now till u upgrade

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » June 10th, 2010, 7:51 am

what price range would this run me too ?

see iam looking at if the cost factor if it runs may be just 2 or 3 thousand more from buying a 20 turbo i might as well buy anothe engine and scrap he 25 for parts to sell

Sargeant

Postby Sargeant » June 17th, 2010, 2:14 pm

boi the ceffy looking real hard likeing the color better you sell your engine and buy a rb20 turbo engine cuz you go get turbo manifold everything na and run it auto for the while cuz If you wah convert to manual you go hadda cut dryshaft and thing so that go cost a lil extra you could always change it manual after will dai my opinion

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 17th, 2010, 2:19 pm

No need to cut driveshaft for RB20 manual conversion.