SIMPLE BRAKE UPGRADES

chemist777

Re: SIMPLE BRAKE UPGRADES

Postby chemist777 » December 20th, 2015, 12:40 pm

Any upgrades for a Nissan Wngroad Y12? Or any simple solutions to increase short distance braking?
Thanks

Postby Ted_v2 » December 27th, 2015, 8:27 am

steel braided brake lines, vented rotors.
the braided lines are around 750 a set. rotors about the same

chemist777

Postby chemist777 » December 27th, 2015, 10:35 am

Any recommendations Ted_v2?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 27th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Brembos replacement rotors. Dba. The hoses there is a few good brands but I don't know if they have for ur car.

Trinidad hose makes them and does some extreme testing before selling so that's a option also

chemist777

Postby chemist777 » December 28th, 2015, 2:25 pm

Any idea where I can get the brembos for my car? Looking around for the SS hoses but none so far for the Y12. I'll try to get a contact for the hose makers

Postby Ted_v2 » December 28th, 2015, 8:29 pm

measure ur stock size and hole spacing, axle spacing ect. they usually have them and would drill for ur application.

speedist

Postby speedist » January 14th, 2016, 8:27 pm

Recently my rear right caliper seized up on my P11 Primera. I'm looking to replace it entirely. Anyone know where I could find one? Also what other calipers fit in case I can't find the stock?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 15th, 2016, 8:30 am

speedist wrote:Recently my rear right caliper seized up on my P11 Primera. I'm looking to replace it entirely. Anyone know where I could find one? Also what other calipers fit in case I can't find the stock?

P11 M6 are a nice upgrade and shud be easy to find...

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 15th, 2016, 8:56 am

I have P11 rear calipers for sale

speedist

Postby speedist » January 15th, 2016, 8:09 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
speedist wrote:Recently my rear right caliper seized up on my P11 Primera. I'm looking to replace it entirely. Anyone know where I could find one? Also what other calipers fit in case I can't find the stock?

P11 M6 are a nice upgrade and shud be easy to find...

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Cool. Seems like they go fast though. Looked everywhere on here and they sold already. :sad:
@Anil: I'll be in touch about those. I need transportation to get up there.
Is there any Brembo application that fit without modification?

thatJDMsentra

Postby thatJDMsentra » August 13th, 2016, 7:51 pm

Where can i get ad22vf calipers to buy and what brake pads are compatible with it?

yakuza

Postby yakuza » August 19th, 2016, 7:12 am

thatJDMsentra wrote:Where can i get ad22vf calipers to buy and what brake pads are compatible with it?

Bamboo... 41060-ON685 is the Nissan part number, but it's discontinued.
AD22VF pads are the same as 90-92 Mitsubishi Eclipse.

Postby X_Factor » August 19th, 2016, 8:29 pm

had these in mine
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001C ... UTF8&psc=1

worked pretty decent

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2016, 9:14 pm

Ad22 use a D549 frame whereas the Ad18 use the D509 frame. There are many available remanufactured.

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » September 28th, 2016, 11:26 am

For all the Y11 peeps. Just installed a primera double diaphragm booster n Master cylinder 15/16" in my wagon. Firewall bolt up is the same, brake lines same but the electrical jack on the other side (minor thing). Have the Z32 calipers in front, will test run n update the post later.
BTW have the QR20 so I need stopping power n wifey driving it.

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » September 29th, 2016, 8:01 am

stingray316 wrote:For all the Y11 peeps. Just installed a primera double diaphragm booster n Master cylinder 15/16" in my wagon. Firewall bolt up is the same, brake lines same but the electrical jack on the other side (minor thing). Have the Z32 calipers in front, will test run n update the post later.
BTW have the QR20 so I need stopping power n wifey driving it.

From since i had installed the Z32 calipers, I had to reach at least half on the brake pedal to begin to slow down.
Now with the P11 master/booster, its touch and stop, less than quarter pedal travel.
So working really good.

The only down side is, it involved removing the entire plastic intake manifold in two pieces (top and bottom) and fuel rail to remove in install the new one.
Enjoy.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 30th, 2016, 4:10 pm

Nice

The Unknown

Postby The Unknown » October 1st, 2016, 12:15 am

What bigger brake callipers an rotors would work on a ck2 lancer without too much modifications ??
Would evo 3 or 4 work?
What you all recommend?

Postby Ted_v2 » October 4th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Cs Lancer works. Need rotor calipers and Caliper bracket.

The Unknown

Postby The Unknown » October 4th, 2016, 6:58 pm

Is that bigger than the ck?

JF.K

Postby JF.K » January 12th, 2017, 4:52 pm

I need some brakes help/advice/recommendations for Y11 AD

Ever since I had this car, I have never went to a garage who could service/adjust the rear drum brakes for it to work as normal as in other cars.

Many times they adjust the Handbrakes (rear shoes) too close to the drum and after some hours of driving they brakes begin to grab and release until they seize up or overheat, the pedal then goes flat without any stopping power. I end up returning to the garage for them to release the shoes a bit, and bleed over the brakes.
Federal in Cipero Street was king in doing this.
Laughlin and de Gannes (POS)... same issue.

Many other occasions, after driving for some weeks, the Rear Drum Brakes would start "grabbing and releasing" when you try to smoothly stop. Every time I go to a garage to address this, I would be told to "Machine Down" the drums and buy new shoes.
I swear I changed these shoes probably 4 times last year alone.
Then after the machined drum, new shoes and hand brakes adjusted, the "grabbing" feel from the rear drums would return.
This issue would only stop after driving it like this for some months and the shoes either lose adjustment or wear down.

My driving style is obeying the speed limit with gradual stopping, but there is the occasional "rush to work" drive where some harder braking is done.

The latest issue I am having is a constant noise coming from the rear drums.
This noise is heard without mashing any brakes at all. It sounds as though a shoe is touching a point on the drum at one spot, since the noise gets faster as you speed up.
The noise stops as soon as you touch the brake pedal though - then the grabbing thing starts, this time with a loud "squeak" noise (that slows down) as the wheel rotates to a stop.
Mind you, I just changed these brake shoes, brake cylinder (on one side), and machined both drums.

Really frustrated now and looking desperately for advice.
Thanks.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 12th, 2017, 6:07 pm

Dbu we go sort u out. The ad rear brakes could be real sometimeish. Things to knw....

1. They are not self adjusting
2. Drums warp easily
3. A really good budget shoe is Titanium
4. The left side tends to wear faster in my experience.
5. Try to change the wheel cylinder rubbers at least once every six months.
6. Don't buy foreign used wheel cylinders. New decent Chinese available for less than $100
7. Brake shoes must be allowed to settle properly before trying to get them to adjust.
8. Too much adjustment is as good as none since too much just induce faster wear.
9. A good way to adjust the rear is by pressing down as hard as possible on the brake pedal then pulling the handbrake as much as possible. If using ur jocking hand to pull...well doh break the cable.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » January 15th, 2017, 8:10 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Dbu we go sort u out. The ad rear brakes could be real sometimeish. Things to knw....

3. A really good budget shoe is Titanium

Where can I go to buy these?

racedriverpro wrote:5. Try to change the wheel cylinder rubbers at least once every six months.
6. Don't buy foreign used wheel cylinders. New decent Chinese available for less than $100

I remember in Nov 2016, when I went to AUTO 8 in Aranguez (worse experience ever)
they said I had to change the Brakes Cylinder on the right side.
I went looking all over for it (new) and nobody had it.
Had to end up buying a Foreign Used Cylinder from Bicks in Bamboo.
Where do you suggest I buy these things?

racedriverpro wrote:7. Brake shoes must be allowed to settle properly before trying to get them to adjust.
8. Too much adjustment is as good as none since too much just induce faster wear.

So adjusting the handbrakes to 1 click is too much right?

racedriverpro wrote:9. A good way to adjust the rear is by pressing down as hard as possible on the brake pedal then pulling the handbrake as much as possible.

Because of my work hours etc, I don't really attempt these tasks right now.
Base on your adjusting advice, what exactly to I tell the mechanic to do for it to adjust properly?
Trust me, they will appear stupefied if I only tell them what you said there and not explain further. Seen it before.

Also...
How to deal with the "present problem" that I am having?

JF.K wrote:The latest issue I am having is a constant noise coming from the rear drums.
This noise is heard without mashing any brakes at all. It sounds as though a shoe is touching a point on the drum at one spot, since the noise gets faster as you speed up.
The noise stops as soon as you touch the brake pedal though - then the grabbing thing starts, this time with a loud "squeak" noise (that slows down) as the wheel rotates to a stop.
Mind you, I just changed these brake shoes, brake cylinder (on one side), and machined both drums.

I presently am in the search for a garage who knows about Rear Drum Brakes as you fellas do.
Any recommendations for a Garage/Service Station that could sort out these issues?

Thanks Again.

josiah97

Postby josiah97 » February 8th, 2017, 11:18 pm

Anybody ever try d c25 serena brakes on d b15 knuckle???

josiah97

Postby josiah97 » February 8th, 2017, 11:19 pm

And anybody know if the p10 rear spindle cud work on d b13 rear?

flashpoint

Postby flashpoint » March 22nd, 2017, 7:09 am

Anybody tried to upgrade from 4 hole to 5 hole on b15/almera

Trinisr_jdm

Postby Trinisr_jdm » April 8th, 2017, 12:59 am

Hi my gears does not go in when engine on but when off it goes in

Postby Ted_v2 » April 10th, 2017, 2:26 pm

Clutch slave /master /clutch adjustment.

A 33 stuff works for 5 hole swap on almera once you know what you doing.

shawn_093

Postby shawn_093 » July 19th, 2017, 9:30 pm

Does anyone know about rebuilding brakes? Rear calipers on my b14 not releasing properly

Postby Ted_v2 » July 20th, 2017, 8:35 pm

Carries two seals. B14 needs to be screwed in, not pushed. Kit is hard to locate tho. Simple thing, diy job