boosting a QG15

cassius11

boosting a QG15

Postby cassius11 » February 17th, 2010, 4:49 pm

hey ppl i wana do a project 4 fun n need sum info. i wana boost my dad's 4wd b15. need advice.

5forward

Postby 5forward » February 17th, 2010, 8:12 pm

First issue of advice....DONT DO IT!
Literally,it can be done but you'll end up spendin way too much $ when compared to buying a turbo engine.Also if it is to be done,boost pressure should NEVER exceed 7 psi

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 17th, 2010, 8:30 pm

for fun is going to cost you a few k easy..
for fun when you blow up pops engine he will ahve you sleeping in the hammock by the neighbour house.

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » February 17th, 2010, 10:44 pm

naw meng, he can put 9psi on it, i HAD a page bookmarked somewhere with a detailed DIY list,

guy used a T25 turbo,stock internals,stock everything actually, on a manual FWD transmission,

the car drove on 8psi daily, if i find back the link i'll post it

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 24th, 2010, 7:44 am

this might give u an idea...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... qg15+boost

as Advil,said there is another detailed post on this as well.try a search. i'll see if i can find it for u as well!

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » March 1st, 2010, 9:51 pm

DO eeeet!!! :D, PM me i'll give you free advice 8)

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » March 2nd, 2010, 7:33 pm

yeah man do it fleck it up .....not me too sleep on de ground yh know ....why turbo an eco box eh ....waste of time and money !!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 3rd, 2010, 12:51 am

D16/D15 > QG15/QG16/QG18DE-T :cry:

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 3rd, 2010, 10:14 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:for fun is going to cost you a few k easy..
for fun when you blow up pops engine he will ahve you sleeping in the hammock by the neighbour house.

but seriously, if you can source parts in the bamboo reasonably, I'm sure you can pull it off between 5-8K depending on if you go with a very basic application or with minor management......

......and while you're at the bamboo be sure to price an engine as well just in case things don't go as planned :)

good luck, keep us informed how it turns out we may be boosting a QG 18 soon, I'll let you know how that goes :)

Postby black start » March 4th, 2010, 9:49 am

it'll probabli be more economical to get a turbo'ed engine(sr) and put it in and then sell your old engine and parts to make back up some of the money spent.....parts list would be

turbo manifold(to be made and probabli cost a good raise)
turbo
all pipings and fittings
intercooler
probabli want some bigger injectors
management to tune injectors and timing
ebc

i sure i missed out some parts too, but those parts alone could add up to a good few thousands.....and all of that to make how much more power to the wheels as compaed to a sr turbo?but is your car so weight out your options and see which one you want.....

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 4th, 2010, 1:58 pm

for fun is going to cost you a few k easy..

X2zillion.... if u goin tru wit, expect detonation to take place @ som point in time, invest in a spare QG15 as well meng!!

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » March 5th, 2010, 8:27 am

why should he expect detonation? only if he get jolly and go past 9psi, with a proper tune, and the right amount of research, it's possible, actually, as i said earlier, it's been done, no luck finding the link to it though. oh and btw, there is a guy on 2nr with a turbo almera btw .Dude named zedseg or sumn so,

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 5th, 2010, 9:00 am

why should he expect detonation? only if he get jolly and go past 9psi

correct!

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 5th, 2010, 9:41 am

^^ U all answered it there, is a econ engine he turboin, sooner or later he gone wah more power, crank it over 9psi, and KaPLAw.. lol.. Iz jus a matter ah time, everybody does get greedy an boost happy!!! lol (or not)

cassius11

Postby cassius11 » April 27th, 2010, 7:03 pm

yea ppl thanx i investing in an engine already daz wat i guna work on 4 d while

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » April 27th, 2010, 7:07 pm

all it takes is a boost spike on a hot day and 4 tanties in the car and :onfire:

theoutlaw

Postby theoutlaw » April 27th, 2010, 7:49 pm

was thinking of the same to boost ah qg18de

BSA

Postby BSA » April 29th, 2010, 12:22 am

Some inspiration

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » April 29th, 2010, 1:25 pm

BSA, thanks bro......who did the flange for you?, did you have to do any other mods to the extractors to get the fit and what vehicle is this in??

BSA

Postby BSA » April 29th, 2010, 7:07 pm

This is foreign.....I believe it is in a B15