Almera burning gas

Antic

Almera burning gas

Postby Antic » January 27th, 2010, 6:21 pm

I using super. getting about 50 kms less on the fill up, even with treatment.

any explanations? doh want ah mechanic leading meh in cirlces so any help is welcome. Car is foreign used, 2002.

thanks in advance

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 27th, 2010, 8:28 pm

check air filter and plugs to start....

broger53

Postby broger53 » January 28th, 2010, 12:33 am

check this link and you'll get everything you need to know about your car...

http://www.carbibles.com/gasmileage.html

praise

Postby praise » January 28th, 2010, 7:52 am

Injector cleaners may help keep your injectors clean but thats no guarantee that they will clean them. Get your vehicle properly tuned, meaning clean injectors, trottle body, change spark plugs, air filter, oil and filter (10W30) and do an idle air relearn with a diagnostic scan tool. Make sure timing and injector pulse is withn proper specs. Also make sure your alignment is proper and your tyre pressure is correct. An under inflated tyre can cause economy to drop as much as 10%.

QG

Postby QG » January 28th, 2010, 8:32 am

praise wrote:Injector cleaners may help keep your injectors clean but thats no guarantee that they will clean them. Get your vehicle properly tuned, meaning clean injectors, trottle body, change spark plugs, air filter, oil and filter (10W30) and do an idle air relearn with a diagnostic scan tool. Make sure timing and injector pulse is withn proper specs. Also make sure your alignment is proper and your tyre pressure is correct. An under inflated tyre can cause economy to drop as much as 10%.

WELL SAID!

Injector cleaners (in bottle like STP etc)are only temporary, do the full service of your injectors and done. Go to Federals, they do the service for like $300 to $350 when last I checked.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 28th, 2010, 3:36 pm

Also make sure your alignment is proper and your tyre pressure is correct. An under inflated tyre can cause economy to drop as much as 10%.

Learned sumtin there but not applicable in this case, his is a severe gas consumption problem!
Hmm, u burning exxxxtremely rich jed lol? But once u do all of the above mentioned to no avail, get a diagnostic done to see if all sensors are fuctioning, ur knock sensor, the timing may be way of etc, a number of things can be responsible..

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2010, 7:21 pm

I feel its the injectors.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 28th, 2010, 7:46 pm

i feel you need to service d car

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 29th, 2010, 8:36 am

^^^^ good solid technical advice :?

Antic

Postby Antic » January 29th, 2010, 12:09 pm

^^ car serviced about 2 months ago. changed air filter, oil fillter, cleaned injectors.

problem started about 3 weeks. started getting a "heavy" idling on the car. also noticed that when i parked and the car idling, the gas needle reading higher. then dips when i start driving. e.g. this morning was between two marks on the gauge then it went on the lower mark when i drive. something might be wrong in the tank then? guess i'll have to do diagnostic.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 29th, 2010, 1:06 pm

carry your car elsewhere for sevrvicing as well the nex time, som ppl eh hav clue wat theyy doin, they jus hav a scan tool!

Antic

Postby Antic » January 29th, 2010, 5:12 pm

well is the same fella is serving by all the years.

who you recommend?