Page 1 of 2
wtk using super on a vvl engine?
Posted: January 25th, 2010, 9:14 am
by KrAzYBoY
Guys i wanna know what are the advantages/ disadvantages of using super gas on a vvl engine. is it safe? I know the QG engines can use it safely but i don't know about the VVL...
Posted: January 25th, 2010, 6:50 pm
by 5forward
Only if money real tight but its not recommended.You'll have to clean injectors an change spark plugs more often.Also,you MAY hear knocking from d engine in the future.Just my opinion.Get other responses first
Posted: January 25th, 2010, 7:02 pm
by sharkie6451
I have being using it since gas gone up & nothing yet but an ignition rattle if i dont clean injectors on time , d cleaning of injectors that i do every month but i have a machine an i use needle tip plugs so not that offten i change it .
Posted: January 25th, 2010, 9:59 pm
by KrAzYBoY
sharkie6451 wrote:I have being using it since gas gone up & nothing yet but an ignition rattle if i dont clean injectors on time , d cleaning of injectors that i do every month but i have a machine an i use needle tip plugs so not that offten i change it .
Well I also use super slight knock only when accelerating on a higher gear but running ok, iridium plugs though so no change in a hurry, but next month is tune up.
Posted: January 25th, 2010, 11:13 pm
by RYO3149
It is recommended that if yuh run the super, try to get the engine to run a bit cooler especially at the lunch time period where the heat may be at the peak or if u drive alot in traffic.
This can be achieved by installing an aftermaket thermostat eg NISMO Thermostat opens at 65 deg C instead of the OEM that opens at 72 deg C or thereabout.
Once yuh do that u should be good to go to run the super.
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 7:04 am
by yakuza
5forward wrote:Only if money real tight but its not recommended.You'll have to clean injectors an change spark plugs more often.Also,you MAY hear knocking from d engine in the future.Just my opinion.Get other responses first
sharkie6451 wrote:I have being using it since gas gone up & nothing yet but an ignition rattle if i dont clean injectors on time , d cleaning of injectors that i do every month but i have a machine an i use needle tip plugs so not that offten i change it .
Quick question, why would you have to clean injectors/change plugs more frequently when using super, is super gas dirty?
Both super and premium fuels are unleaded.
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 7:11 am
by KrAzYBoY
yakuza wrote:5forward wrote:Only if money real tight but its not recommended.You'll have to clean injectors an change spark plugs more often.Also,you MAY hear knocking from d engine in the future.Just my opinion.Get other responses first
Quick question, why would you have to clean injectors/change plugs more frequently when using super, is super gas dirty?
That's what i know! Since i'm running water in the radiator, i'll use the coolant and get the Nismo thermostat. *Don't wanna anything happening to the engine*
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 7:14 am
by yakuza
Personally I would use premium.
My $0.02
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 9:09 am
by turbonator
yakuza wrote:5forward wrote:Only if money real tight but its not recommended.You'll have to clean injectors an change spark plugs more often.Also,you MAY hear knocking from d engine in the future.Just my opinion.Get other responses first
I thought the difference was in the octane level.... with premium having a higher octane level than the super. With the increased octane level pre-ignition is reduced. What's I would like to know is if the 'ignition rattle' that
sharkie6451 mentioned is a sign of pre-ignition?
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 9:13 am
by nareshseep
super and water injection kit
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 10:31 am
by Ragnarok
VVL engines have a high engine compression so they would need high octane fuel so super is out of the question even our premium is a tad bit low, and yes "ignition rattle " is knocking.....
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 10:33 am
by V2NR 3.0
Premium is the way to go. Recommended and Proven
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 10:48 am
by azoturbo
dont risk it detonation is a biatchhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh premium all d way dont damage yuh sexy vvl pistons
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 11:46 am
by KrAzYBoY
Living south Working North, Monday to Friday. Premium not really cutting it
Mix ah lil C16

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 12:06 pm
by yakuza
KrAzYBoY wrote:Living south Working North, Monday to Friday.
Premium not really cutting it 
Mix ah lil C16

Well take out the 20VE and put in a QG15.
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 12:33 pm
by KrAzYBoY
yakuza wrote:KrAzYBoY wrote:Living south Working North, Monday to Friday.
Premium not really cutting it 
Mix ah lil C16

Well take out the 20VE and put in a QG15.
NOT in a ZV-S

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 2:12 pm
by krack korn
super is the best thing for the engine.
been using it for about a year now, no knock or pinging whatsoever, engine performance has improved.
currently getting 450km to a tank, ~ $120 super (I not letting the tank go right down, this is just before the light would come on). This is with the CVT tranny, not gearbox.
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 2:47 pm
by KrAzYBoY
SR20 VVL???

The most i ever got is 350km's on $120 super (Maybe due to my driving habits) But still 450km/tank

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 5:16 pm
by krack korn
SR20VE, manufactured 1998, currently 200,000 km on the odo, stock exhaust system, stock ecu, Blitz sus filter and velocty stack.
yea 450, if the wife drive its like 375 cause she always hitting speed cut, but cruising at 120~140 its a repeatable 450.
truth
Posted: January 26th, 2010, 9:43 pm
by sharkie6451
KrAzYBoY wrote:SR20 VVL???

The most i ever got is 350km's on $120 super (Maybe due to my driving habits) But still 450km/tank

That is how much km i get out of a full tank($120) 350km's -370km's .i could do with d with d extra kms
Posted: January 27th, 2010, 5:32 am
by spoogy
advancing ignition timing also requires the use of higher octane gasoline.. higher octane gasolines (premium) have a higher activation energy than lower octane (super) which means it would take more to ignite the premium thus rendering it less likely to pre ignite...sooo i guess if you want to save money and run super but is really scared of damaging the engine via knocks pings etc, retard the timing a bit... you would loose power but you would be saving money... or you could go turbo diesel and enjoy yourself

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 7:15 am
by KrAzYBoY
krack korn wrote:SR20VE, manufactured 1998, currently 200,000 km on the odo, stock exhaust system, stock ecu, Blitz sus filter and velocty stack.
yea 450, if the wife drive its like 375 cause she always hitting speed cut, but cruising at 120~140 its a repeatable 450.

Ok
Well i really need to get a tune up then
I retarded the timing just ah little bit, that's why the pinging.
Posted: February 1st, 2010, 12:23 pm
by Mosaic
Use an ultrasonic water mister off a PC UPS (runs on 12V), get one rated for about 10% your fuel consumption at cruise. Let the intake suck the fog in. Lotsa ppl doing it on U tube.
You will get about a 5% mileage increase, no ignition retard, no knock, steam clean ur motor, fewer oil change required, improved emissions and run on super.
Posted: February 1st, 2010, 5:59 pm
by KrAzYBoY
Will have to google this and check it out for sure. BTW thanks for the info

Posted: February 2nd, 2010, 12:00 am
by swift gti funatic
water injection FTW

Posted: February 3rd, 2010, 9:26 pm
by KrAzYBoY
swift gti funatic wrote:water injection FTW

How Does this work???
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 10:15 pm
by Mosaic
Not water injection for a N/A the ultrasonics makes fog down to 5 microns..whizzes right through your air filter .....just let the air intake suck it in...beats CAI by a mile.
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 10:27 pm
by swift gti funatic
can you post more info about this ultrasonics water mister?Mosaic,
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 11:56 pm
by QG
yakuza wrote:Personally I would use premium.
My $0.02
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 9:53 am
by josh.dookie
If the engine is N.A. and presuming its stock, why did a user make d statement detonation is a beyotch? What reason would detonation occur under an N.A. application? And d poster mentioned d advantages of using super, lol @ dat ( u will save some cash).
Fuel is the topic so this where ur knock sensors come in, with the use of super d sensor wud retard timing a bit, but with the use of octane boosters etc u can avoid it damage from occuring.
Think it's highly unlikely that your engine wud detonate easily cuz these engines are strong, I know of guys who ran super in there vvl SR's to know consequnece, but at the end of the day, it's all relative right!!!