wtk using super on a vvl engine?

KrAzYBoY

wtk using super on a vvl engine?

Postby KrAzYBoY » January 25th, 2010, 9:14 am

Guys i wanna know what are the advantages/ disadvantages of using super gas on a vvl engine. is it safe? I know the QG engines can use it safely but i don't know about the VVL...

5forward

Postby 5forward » January 25th, 2010, 6:50 pm

Only if money real tight but its not recommended.You'll have to clean injectors an change spark plugs more often.Also,you MAY hear knocking from d engine in the future.Just my opinion.Get other responses first

sharkie6451

Postby sharkie6451 » January 25th, 2010, 7:02 pm

I have being using it since gas gone up & nothing yet but an ignition rattle if i dont clean injectors on time , d cleaning of injectors that i do every month but i have a machine an i use needle tip plugs so not that offten i change it .

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » January 25th, 2010, 9:59 pm

sharkie6451 wrote:I have being using it since gas gone up & nothing yet but an ignition rattle if i dont clean injectors on time , d cleaning of injectors that i do every month but i have a machine an i use needle tip plugs so not that offten i change it .

Well I also use super slight knock only when accelerating on a higher gear but running ok, iridium plugs though so no change in a hurry, but next month is tune up.

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » January 25th, 2010, 11:13 pm

It is recommended that if yuh run the super, try to get the engine to run a bit cooler especially at the lunch time period where the heat may be at the peak or if u drive alot in traffic.
This can be achieved by installing an aftermaket thermostat eg NISMO Thermostat opens at 65 deg C instead of the OEM that opens at 72 deg C or thereabout.
Once yuh do that u should be good to go to run the super.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » January 26th, 2010, 7:04 am

5forward wrote:Only if money real tight but its not recommended.You'll have to clean injectors an change spark plugs more often.Also,you MAY hear knocking from d engine in the future.Just my opinion.Get other responses first

sharkie6451 wrote:I have being using it since gas gone up & nothing yet but an ignition rattle if i dont clean injectors on time , d cleaning of injectors that i do every month but i have a machine an i use needle tip plugs so not that offten i change it .

Quick question, why would you have to clean injectors/change plugs more frequently when using super, is super gas dirty?

Both super and premium fuels are unleaded.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » January 26th, 2010, 7:11 am

yakuza wrote:
5forward wrote:Only if money real tight but its not recommended.You'll have to clean injectors an change spark plugs more often.Also,you MAY hear knocking from d engine in the future.Just my opinion.Get other responses first

Quick question, why would you have to clean injectors/change plugs more frequently when using super, is super gas dirty?

That's what i know! Since i'm running water in the radiator, i'll use the coolant and get the Nismo thermostat. *Don't wanna anything happening to the engine*

yakuza

Postby yakuza » January 26th, 2010, 7:14 am

Personally I would use premium.
My $0.02

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 26th, 2010, 9:09 am

yakuza wrote:

I thought the difference was in the octane level.... with premium having a higher octane level than the super. With the increased octane level pre-ignition is reduced. What's I would like to know is if the 'ignition rattle' that sharkie6451 mentioned is a sign of pre-ignition?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 26th, 2010, 9:13 am

super and water injection kit

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » January 26th, 2010, 10:31 am

VVL engines have a high engine compression so they would need high octane fuel so super is out of the question even our premium is a tad bit low, and yes "ignition rattle " is knocking.....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 26th, 2010, 10:33 am

Premium is the way to go. Recommended and Proven

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » January 26th, 2010, 10:48 am

dont risk it detonation is a biatchhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh premium all d way dont damage yuh sexy vvl pistons

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » January 26th, 2010, 11:46 am

Living south Working North, Monday to Friday. Premium not really cutting it :(

Mix ah lil C16 :mrgreen:

yakuza

Postby yakuza » January 26th, 2010, 12:06 pm

KrAzYBoY wrote:Living south Working North, Monday to Friday. Premium not really cutting it :(

Well take out the 20VE and put in a QG15.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » January 26th, 2010, 12:33 pm

yakuza wrote:
KrAzYBoY wrote:Living south Working North, Monday to Friday. Premium not really cutting it :(

Well take out the 20VE and put in a QG15.

NOT in a ZV-S :)

krack korn

Postby krack korn » January 26th, 2010, 2:12 pm

super is the best thing for the engine.

been using it for about a year now, no knock or pinging whatsoever, engine performance has improved.

currently getting 450km to a tank, ~ $120 super (I not letting the tank go right down, this is just before the light would come on). This is with the CVT tranny, not gearbox.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » January 26th, 2010, 2:47 pm

SR20 VVL??? :shock: The most i ever got is 350km's on $120 super (Maybe due to my driving habits) But still 450km/tank :shock:

krack korn

Postby krack korn » January 26th, 2010, 5:16 pm

SR20VE, manufactured 1998, currently 200,000 km on the odo, stock exhaust system, stock ecu, Blitz sus filter and velocty stack.

yea 450, if the wife drive its like 375 cause she always hitting speed cut, but cruising at 120~140 its a repeatable 450.
Last edited by krack korn on January 26th, 2010, 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sharkie6451

truth

Postby sharkie6451 » January 26th, 2010, 9:43 pm

KrAzYBoY wrote:SR20 VVL??? :shock: The most i ever got is 350km's on $120 super (Maybe due to my driving habits) But still 450km/tank :shock:

That is how much km i get out of a full tank($120) 350km's -370km's .i could do with d with d extra kms

spoogy

Postby spoogy » January 27th, 2010, 5:32 am

advancing ignition timing also requires the use of higher octane gasoline.. higher octane gasolines (premium) have a higher activation energy than lower octane (super) which means it would take more to ignite the premium thus rendering it less likely to pre ignite...sooo i guess if you want to save money and run super but is really scared of damaging the engine via knocks pings etc, retard the timing a bit... you would loose power but you would be saving money... or you could go turbo diesel and enjoy yourself :D :D

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » January 27th, 2010, 7:15 am

krack korn wrote:SR20VE, manufactured 1998, currently 200,000 km on the odo, stock exhaust system, stock ecu, Blitz sus filter and velocty stack.

yea 450, if the wife drive its like 375 cause she always hitting speed cut, but cruising at 120~140 its a repeatable 450.

:shock: Ok

Well i really need to get a tune up then :?
I retarded the timing just ah little bit, that's why the pinging.

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » February 1st, 2010, 12:23 pm

Use an ultrasonic water mister off a PC UPS (runs on 12V), get one rated for about 10% your fuel consumption at cruise. Let the intake suck the fog in. Lotsa ppl doing it on U tube.

You will get about a 5% mileage increase, no ignition retard, no knock, steam clean ur motor, fewer oil change required, improved emissions and run on super.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » February 1st, 2010, 5:59 pm

Will have to google this and check it out for sure. BTW thanks for the info 0X

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » February 2nd, 2010, 12:00 am

water injection FTW :lol: :lol:

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » February 3rd, 2010, 9:26 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:water injection FTW :lol: :lol:

How Does this work???

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » February 4th, 2010, 10:15 pm

Not water injection for a N/A the ultrasonics makes fog down to 5 microns..whizzes right through your air filter .....just let the air intake suck it in...beats CAI by a mile.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » February 4th, 2010, 10:27 pm

can you post more info about this ultrasonics water mister?Mosaic,

QG

Postby QG » February 4th, 2010, 11:56 pm

yakuza wrote:Personally I would use premium.
My $0.02

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 5th, 2010, 9:53 am

If the engine is N.A. and presuming its stock, why did a user make d statement detonation is a beyotch? What reason would detonation occur under an N.A. application? And d poster mentioned d advantages of using super, lol @ dat ( u will save some cash).
Fuel is the topic so this where ur knock sensors come in, with the use of super d sensor wud retard timing a bit, but with the use of octane boosters etc u can avoid it damage from occuring.
Think it's highly unlikely that your engine wud detonate easily cuz these engines are strong, I know of guys who ran super in there vvl SR's to know consequnece, but at the end of the day, it's all relative right!!!