RB20DET Question

Posted: January 22nd, 2010, 9:26 pm
by alleykat2020
Simple question: What is the recommended octane for use in a stock RB20det.

Basically want to know if it's safe to use 92 octane (super) in my car and what are the potential consequences of doing so.

Cheers.

Oh, one more thing. Opinions on raising the back of your bonnet with washers. Does it actually help keep the engine bay cooler?

Posted: January 23rd, 2010, 7:12 pm
by alleykat2020
Nobody got an opinion here?

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 2:26 pm
by smell
The japs tuned your Rb20det ecu to run on 100ron fuel and given our best (premium 95) still isn't good enough u want to go lower again!

U may get away if it was a NA engine but being turbo charged and have to run in our high ambient temps i would not go lower than premium if i were u.

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 3:02 pm
by alleykat2020
Cool. Thanks for the info.

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 3:48 pm
by alleykat2020
Anybody else?

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 4:40 pm
by mitsu4life
well if you run super in it, it will most likely ping every time you go into boost, the car will probably run horrible too...no power and may even break up higher in the rpm range.

worst case you'll detonate the engine to death, if you ask me not worth the risk running super in a boosted car.

as for raising the back of your bonnet, yes the engine bay will be cooler, but i dont see this being necessary...get a 3 core radiator, besides if i'm not mistaken next to the bonnet hinges there a some hooks that in the event of a front end collision supposed to prevent it from come into the vehicle cabin. Raising the back will lift it over those hooks an god forbid an front collision the bonnet will come through the wind screen...you want details of what happens after that???

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 7:11 pm
by 5forward
^True dat brodda.A lot of people dont know about the bonnet clips

Posted: January 24th, 2010, 7:16 pm
by alleykat2020
Good info fellas. Thanks. Pays to ask questions round here. :D

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 1:41 pm
by DJ Nexxus
super will not kill your engine pal, that is why the ecu's have a knock map!, anyway I have been running super on my 25DET for over two years now, with no problems whjatsoever, just keep your tunups on schedule, and don't try to boost the crap out of it using super, with the stock turbo and stock boost, you will be fine. if for some reason you find yourself stuck in traffic or something where the ambient air temp would cause the super to knock, the ecu will just resort to the knock map until conditions change, and the only difference you will feel is a slight loss of peak power, either way, I don't think you will be launching the car in a 1/4 mile style during traffic right?!!!

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 2:20 pm
by josh.dookie
super will not kill your engine pal, that is why the ecu's have a knock map!, anyway I have been running super on my 25DET for over two years now, with no problems whjatsoever, just keep your tunups on schedule, and don't try to boost the crap out of it using super, with the stock turbo and stock boost, you will be fine. if for some reason you find yourself stuck in traffic or something where the ambient air temp would cause the super to knock, the ecu will just resort to the knock map until conditions change, and the only difference you will feel is a slight loss of peak power, either way, I don't think you will be launching the car in a 1/4 mile style during traffic right?!!!

Excellent piece of first hand advice to follow, got couple partners who run super on their rb powered vehicles to no consequence.. So as far as i know, it will not damage your engine, as correctly mentioned previously the use of the knock sensor in your engine, wud retard the timing of your engine to accomodate the octane of fuel being used!

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 2:20 pm
by josh.dookie

Excellent piece of first hand advice to follow, got couple partners who run super on their rb powered vehicles to no consequence.. So as far as i know, it will not damage your engine, as correctly mentioned previously the use of the knock sensor in your engine, wud retard the timing of your engine to accomodate the octane of fuel being used!

Posted: January 26th, 2010, 7:02 pm
by alleykat2020
josh.dookie wrote:

Hmm. That's what I was thinking. ^^^

I didn't hear any pinging when I was running on super, but I drained the tank anyway and tossed in all premium. My intercooler is currently in the engine bay (which defeats the purpose even though it's got a fan on it), so it gets pretty hot after a few minutes. When I install a FMIC, I'll try super again. The fact that DJ Nexxus uses super in his RB adds some credibility to the knock map thing. I found the same basic info on the web.

Anybody got the stock intercooler piping for the RB by chance? To sell I mean. :D

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 8:55 am
by Midnight_Demon
alleykat2020 ,i use super in my car now and then (if i brokes :oops: or if the gas station has no premium) and as DJ Nexxus said ... it works fine, NEVER had any breaking up problems, no power loss to talk about, no pinging no problems with a/c in traffic everything is fine with VERY little temperature change. ofcourse if i know i going to be running the car hard i put premium.

Posted: January 27th, 2010, 9:16 am
by josh.dookie
majority says super, and is reliable sources we hearing from!

Posted: April 7th, 2010, 11:12 am
by alleykat2020
Using Super again after installing fmic with heat shielded pipes etc.
No pinging so far and I've thrashed it a few times just to see if it would detonate.
Nothing.......
Not as much power as the premium though, but ok for daily driving.
Will drain the tank and toss in premium should I be called out though......... :twisted:

Posted: April 8th, 2010, 9:12 am
by Sargeant
alleykat how much boost you running in your ceffy we should have a race lol but I hadda get some shocks yes one of meh back shocks ben anybody have some rear coilovers for sale

Posted: April 13th, 2010, 8:17 pm
by alleykat2020
Sargeant, Stock 10lbs. Everything stock except 3" exhaust.
What you runnin'......... :D