knocking sound-- sr20
Posted: December 16th, 2009, 4:22 pm
by ivar
wen i start my car it starts well but as soon as it starts i hear dis knocking sound , but it stops approx 3 seconds after. not to sure where its coming from. de car is a primera sr20de. any suggestions will be appreciated.
Posted: December 16th, 2009, 6:37 pm
by thunder7554
Posted: December 16th, 2009, 7:38 pm
by biggreen
it iz said 2 be normal... this is before the oil oicks up..
Posted: December 18th, 2009, 10:48 am
by turbosingh
Check ur timing chain,but is common in the vvl sr20.
Posted: December 18th, 2009, 10:54 am
by Goolie
commom in the SR20 DE motors as well. its the timing chain n stops when the oil picks up.
Posted: December 18th, 2009, 11:27 am
by Swifted
sounds like rod bearings. check your oil pressure when the engine is cold and at idle, then when it is warm at idle.
Posted: December 22nd, 2009, 5:38 pm
by ivar
tanks guys.................
Posted: December 22nd, 2009, 7:20 pm
by Premera
pal, that " diesel engine " sound you getting when you start on mornings i know about, as i HAD the same problem until Neil from AUtorama recommended a treatment called " WYNN'S SUPREME ENGINE TUNE UP "
About a week ago i put it in and two days after NOT A SINGLE RATTLE is heard.....it used to be louder the morning after i really raced the car and since the treatment, no noise whatsoever................NONE.......treatment cost about $ 40.00
Try it and get rid of the problem........if u want i will monitor my car tomorrow morning to confirm any noise when i start and respond......

Posted: December 23rd, 2009, 12:25 pm
by swift gti funatic
it's most likely the tensioner and the timing chain guides that are worn....
solution in a bottle

HA
Posted: April 2nd, 2010, 11:49 pm
by shimon
Posted: April 11th, 2010, 12:42 am
by rocco
Yea the oil pump ent pick up yet well thats my take on it atleast