a31 cefiro problem with gear box

Sargeant

a31 cefiro problem with gear box

Postby Sargeant » December 14th, 2009, 12:04 pm

I have a a31 cef it have a stock rb20 turbo engine 5fwd. I recently change the clutch cuz the other one was worn out put in a street and shift copper clutch the flywheel also had some cracks fixed that sent it to machine shop also changed pressure plate when I shift between gears even when the clutch is fully enguaged I does hear a grate what could be causeing this? I was thinking about replacing the box and done but that go be a next set of money the money I spend to fix this one I coulda buy a new one anybody have any suggestions

vin123

Postby vin123 » December 14th, 2009, 9:17 pm

Did you adjust back the clutch cable? When I used to get the grating noise on my car it meant that the clutch cable needed adjusting. Seeing that you put in a new clutch I doubt its that, unless its a "problem" brand.

Best of luck!

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 14th, 2009, 9:20 pm

RB boxes are hadrualic Vin.

that grating sounds supiciously like synchros in the box itself. Was the release beairng also swapped out?

vin123

Postby vin123 » December 14th, 2009, 10:15 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:RB boxes are hadrualic Vin.

that grating sounds supiciously like synchros in the box itself. Was the release beairng also swapped out?

okay cool, learnt something new today, thanks!

Sargeant

Postby Sargeant » December 15th, 2009, 1:40 pm

Yea I get meh padner to adjust the clutch cable he agh mechanic I eh know If all yuh firmilar wit quality car care scrappy but the clutch is a copper clutch but I find it over too soft If I driveing slow and shifting you go only hear small grate in 3rd but If I go to launch and put in second you hearing a big grate is second and 3rd where I hearing the grate 4th and 5th no problem I feel is to change the box yes anybody know where I could get one I go just put my clutch and pressure plate in it

Postby turbosingh » December 16th, 2009, 6:42 am

Yeah man dat sounds like synchros in the box.

Sargeant

Postby Sargeant » December 16th, 2009, 3:15 pm

turbosingh wrote:Yeah man dat sounds like synchros in the box.

Am I know this mite sound silly eh but what is synchros and how can this be fixed

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 16th, 2009, 3:40 pm

Best thing would be to carry the car to a reputable mechanic.

Many people may give suggestions as to what the problem may be but they'll only be guessing.

Either way for the problem to be resolved some technical knowledge will be required. Don't take it as an insult on your capabilities.

BTW a used RB20 manual transmission can easily be sourced from places like Bamboo #2 for as low as $1,500.00 so you may want to look into that rather than rebuild.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 16th, 2009, 3:50 pm

Sargeant wrote:
turbosingh wrote:Yeah man dat sounds like synchros in the box.

Am I know this mite sound silly eh but what is synchros and how can this be fixed

They "ease" gear changes. When moving between gears remember different parts will be moving at different speeds so basically the synchros help bring things together with a smoother transition. If extra stress is placed on them due to abuse or simple wear and tear, over time they become worn and result in what you describe as crunching.

Quite common in 3rd and 4th on RB gearboxes.

Sargeant

Postby Sargeant » December 17th, 2009, 9:36 am

Yea well I was thinking about changing the gear box and done I vex I didnt do that in the beginning thanks fellas for all the help 1500 that eh bad for a box I go vibes the bamboo I spend 2600 so far on fixing clutch and pressure plate flywheel on this one parts labour car is money yes and meh suspension still have to do over

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 17th, 2009, 10:15 am

The joys of a car that's approximately 20 years old :lol:

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » December 18th, 2009, 2:20 pm

Conrad have some behavior in public please!...the comittee will need to hear about this 20Yr old comment....you will be notified via mail!