Navara Speed Cut??

Posted: December 2nd, 2009, 6:16 pm
by madcoolieboy
i wanna know whaz the scene with the m/t navara. My cousin has one and i contemplating one as a new ride but however i hearing that the top speed is 170 and he keeps telling me that is some speed cut issue.....could anyone shed some light on this please?!!!

Posted: December 3rd, 2009, 2:25 pm
by QG
I think majority of those pickups has similar top speed range (with speed cut)...some will vary.

Even with the manual tranny, you may get a lil higher than the auto, but the speed cut will still be in effect.

What you can do, is get a speed cut defencer...http://www.nipponpower.com/view.phtml?f ... t+Defencer

Posted: December 3rd, 2009, 6:15 pm
by madcoolieboy
aye thanks homie....i'll look into it. but i would have to find out just how the firm actually achieves the speed cut to kbnow how to get around it.. i dunno if just hookin up a defencer will work

Posted: December 3rd, 2009, 11:29 pm
by Midnight_Demon
why d hell would u want to cross 170 in a navara :? :?

btw .. the speed limit on the road is 80kmh :wink:

Posted: December 4th, 2009, 1:23 pm
by QG
Midnight_Demon wrote:why d hell would u want to cross 170 in a navara :? :?

btw .. the speed limit on the road is 80kmh :wink:

LOL!!!

and those pickups becomes very unstable at high speeds, so I won't advice anyone to cross 180KM

Posted: December 4th, 2009, 1:38 pm
by BlueIce
i get the same max speed ...manual as well.

dont recommend getting a speed cut simply for the fact that obviously the center of gravity of the vehicle is already so high the slightest dip/bump at those speeds will send you flying off the road

Posted: December 4th, 2009, 1:39 pm
by QG
Exactly!

Posted: December 4th, 2009, 1:49 pm
by Aaron 2NR
my cross a lil over 180km but still why wud u wanna go that fast...

Posted: December 5th, 2009, 7:48 am
by madcoolieboy
sorry i just accustomed to being flat out at 175 in the L2 up and down the highway....thing is she sits on the road real nice and bumps and thing have no kinda effect on the handling....say what my driving style... i kinda expecting more from the newer vans...

Posted: December 5th, 2009, 8:30 am
by Aaron 2NR
trucks are not made for high speeds of sort....

Posted: December 5th, 2009, 9:26 am
by madcoolieboy
wha yuh go do boy......ah harden so...lol

Posted: December 6th, 2009, 6:13 pm
by QG
lolzz

Posted: December 6th, 2009, 10:37 pm
by Greypatch
dangerous ppl

Posted: December 7th, 2009, 7:46 am
by BlueIce

so whe you are split into peices on the side of the highway ...can i tell ur loved ones "he was harden so" :?:

Posted: December 7th, 2009, 7:49 am
by wagonrunner
BlueIce wrote:

so whe you are split into peices on the side of the highway ...can i tell ur loved ones "he was harden so" :?:

should be stenciled on the tombstone / Urn

Posted: December 12th, 2009, 7:53 am
by madcoolieboy
Ice.......they know i harden so already no need to tell 'em....... relax fellas i go slow it down...

Posted: December 15th, 2009, 7:47 pm
by KrAzYBoY
BlueIce wrote:i get the same max speed ...manual as well.

dont recommend getting a speed cut simply for the fact that obviously the center of gravity of the vehicle is already so high the slightest dip/bump at those speeds will send you flying off the road

Actually the centre of gravity would be low, not high, the higher the object, the LOWER the C.O.G. And the Lower the object, the HIGHER the C.O.G. Especially around corners, G-forces tend to play a big part too 8-)

Re: Navara Speed Cut??

Posted: December 26th, 2013, 7:11 pm
by Totes
Hi Guys not looking for ole talk, but I have an auto Trans, Navara LE 4x4 (neal & Massy) and i have already run it up to about 190 (and a little over) cant tell cause at that speed have my eyes on the road. My van sits on the road and does not bump and dance so i have tested top speeds on it. The time when the highway is clear and not many cars on it ...
So i cannot say i have ever experienced this power cut business bought new in 2010.

Posted: December 26th, 2013, 7:41 pm
by Richard Marshall
My friend's Navara does 200kmph + Doesn't feel like if it's gonna lose control. Although, it is rather scary.

Posted: January 1st, 2014, 4:27 pm
by Ted_v2
I did 150 in a vigo recently with 22" rims. Took long to reach there and extremely long to slow down due to the rims. Very scary

Vans shouldn't be driven fast. Be safe