P12 Wagon - To buy or not to buy?
Posted: November 14th, 2009, 9:29 am
by Hotshot
I am in the market for a family wagon and daily driver. I am considering options between the P12 Primera, Y12 Wingroad or NZE121 fielder. My budget is about $120K.
My current vehicle is a U13 Bluebird and I would like its replacement to have comparable cabin space and handling.
Intended use:
-Daily driver
-Grocery / Hardware Shopping
-Space for 2 car seats and probably one adult in the back
-Airport pickup drop offs, luggage, stroller etc.
Looking at RORO vehicles, I became interested in the Primera P12 wagon. I liked the cabin space and design and 4 wheel disk brakes. The QR20 should have enough power to meet my needs.
My concerns with this vehicle is the availability of parts and a number of complaints I have read from folks on this forum and in the UK. This range from a recall with a handbrake issue and CAS problem which can cause the engine not to start, to the car having a pull to one side while driving.
I know you tuners would have good advice to share. I would like advice primarily from current P12 owners or persons who know some with a P12 on whether this vehicle is a good buy or not. Thanks.
BTW. I have also heard many horror stories with the CVT setup on the QR20. Anyone knows if this model comes with a standard transmission or CVT?
Posted: November 14th, 2009, 9:34 am
by kwasos
i had the sedan and my issue was 1. burns fuel 2. sluggish on hills
Posted: November 14th, 2009, 12:43 pm
by swift gti funatic
brudda once that p12 comes with a Sr20ve mated to a 6wd box.. go strong

Posted: November 14th, 2009, 3:39 pm
by Hotshot
swift gti funatic wrote:brudda once that p12 comes with a Sr20ve mated to a 6wd box.. go strong

The 2 I looked at had the QR20 and were auto. Not sure if transmission was CVT or regular, one thing I forgot to ask..
Posted: November 14th, 2009, 3:42 pm
by Hotshot
kwasos wrote:i had the sedan and my issue was 1. burns fuel 2. sluggish on hills
Question kwasos, burns more fuel and lazier than the SR20? I know it is a heavier vehicle but I just wanted a benchmark for comparison.

Posted: November 14th, 2009, 6:48 pm
by praise
You can buy which ever vehicle you like. There are pro and con for each of them.
The P12 has CVT transmission and poor suspension. The fuel econmy is a bit high as well. Part are not too difficult. The handling is good and the vehicle spacious.
The Y12 is a Nissan design by Renault. It is not too bad on fuel and does not have suspension issue like it predesessor the Y11. Part are not readily available but being Nissan, that should not be a problem in the too distant future. The look without body kit is not too pleasant.
The NZE 121 Fielder have a problem with engine slush. This can however be overcome with regular oil changes and an entire engine flush. The suspension is good as well as fuel econmy. Power is also good. Part for this model is readily available. Resale price of this car is not too bad.
Personally, I would go for the Fielder 1.8 or Local Use NZE Corolla wagon. Given your budget, this would be the better buy.
Posted: November 14th, 2009, 7:15 pm
by yakuza
praise wrote:
Personally, I would go for the Fielder 1.8 or Local Use NZE Corolla wagon. Given your budget, this would be the better buy.
Posted: November 15th, 2009, 10:34 am
by i2smart4u
at 120 you can look for a local 4 yr old xtrail
it should meet all your needs
Posted: November 15th, 2009, 11:04 am
by Hotshot
Thanks guys, you suggestions have been very helpful!

I have a few more weeks to make a decision so feel free to post more information if you have any.
Will definitely look into the fielder and local used x-trails. Don't remember seeing X-trails under 4yr for that price though, guess I'll have to spend more time in the classifieds.
Actually most of the dealers I visited also did not have fielders, don't know if they were being sold out or in short supply. Any suggested dealers, good quality, good price?
Posted: November 15th, 2009, 9:05 pm
by praise
Don't like to be the one to busrt a man bubble, but boss the X-Trail does burn real gas, trust me I know what I talking bout. PM Clean Tech, he has a few Fielders and he could aslo bring in one for you, since you have a few more weeks. He is located on Omeara Road, Arima.
Posted: November 16th, 2009, 9:08 am
by i2smart4u
i get 360-400km on a tank of super which cost $140
once its not the foreign used full 4wd drive xtrail ur safe....the locals with the 2wd option burns gas just like the primera.
Posted: November 16th, 2009, 10:26 am
by praise
Doing the maths base on your figures that is approx 223 to 248 miles and $140 gas is approximately 11 and a half gallon of gas. That gives around 19 and 21.5 miles per gallon. That is not great mileage my friend. The Fielder gives around 33 to 41 miles per gallon. When you look at fuel being the main operational cost for day to day use, that is almost twice as much in fuel alone.
Posted: November 16th, 2009, 5:51 pm
by Hotshot
21 MPG. Man I doh have shares in NP

..even though the X-trail I expect to burn more than the P12 due to its height / aerodynamics.
Dem figures still real heavy at the pump...
Interesting discussion, will continue exploring... all 2 cents welcome ...