B12 vs B14

jusme

B12 vs B14

Postby jusme » November 11th, 2009, 9:09 pm

Yo tuners, i'm in the process of acquiring my 1st car. but i'm wondering
1. should i buy a b12 cash or
2. should i borrow an extra 15k to get d 14.
- the car not going to get much "licks" (san juan to petit valley almost daily)
- not trying to be cheap, but i want know which is easier to maintain
- etc etc etc
basically i'm asking what are the advantages and disadvantages of both?
and honestly, is the b14 really worth the extra 15-20k???
any advice would be greatly appreciated...

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 11th, 2009, 9:33 pm

As a first car for relaiility and maintenance you'll want to get a B14. However you mentioned you'll need to borrow 15k to purchase this so that in itself may pose a problem.If you can make the payment comfortbaly then get the B14.
B12s are great little cars but parts have become very hard to come by and more than likely you're going to get one with the original 12 valve engine.

I think you can get a 96 Ex saloon b15 for 35 maybe less even.I've seen b12s and 13 go for 28.What is your budget like. Keep in mind because parts are hard to get for 12s, they have become targets for thieves.

jusme

Postby jusme » November 11th, 2009, 11:11 pm

Thanks man prozac...
I dont want to borrow more than 15k, so my budget is 35k.
90% has recommended the B14..... So i'm leaning towards that.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 12th, 2009, 6:56 am

Had a b14 for 6 yrs that car could take licks the forth year had to changed the head & block cost me $1000 just saying the b14 easy on your pocket, alots parts my friend bought a b12 and is by the mech,putting in a b14 engine :D
good supension,looks good with 17 inch rims (dont go bigger),if u pet this car u can have only 2 service for the whole year. castrol 20w 50 gtx is the oil for this car

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 12th, 2009, 7:01 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:As a first car for relaiility and maintenance you'll want to get a B14. However you mentioned you'll need to borrow 15k to purchase this so that in itself may pose a problem.If you can make the payment comfortbaly then get the B14.
B12s are great little cars but parts have become very hard to come by and more than likely you're going to get one with the original 12 valve engine.

I think you can get a 96 Ex saloon b15 for 35 maybe less even.I've seen b12s and 13 go for 28.What is your budget like. Keep in mind because parts are hard to get for 12s, they have become targets for thieves.

parts are a bit difficult to come by,but it can be sourced.(legally eh)lol

i've seen b12's in excellent condition go for 40k already :shock: (but that's with SR,etc.)

once u have one in real bess condition,you'll never b comfortable parking it out of sight!(trust me i know) :wink:

Postby turbosingh » November 12th, 2009, 7:38 am

The truth is the B12 is the better car in terms of performance due 2its independant suspension for handling.But parts are a little harder 2get an more expensive.But on the other hand the B14 parts are common an very cheap,despite for the crappy suspension.It is your descion,i wud of chosen the B12 2do a future project! :lol:

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 12th, 2009, 12:16 pm

call me a lil biased cuz i own a b14 but i have 2 go with .:PROZAC:..,cuz i hav drive both of dem (fully mod n stock) n i found dat on d b14 handles great once ur suspension is tuned rite while the b12 is a lil more roomy on d inside(get a gyul n i show u wat i mean).parts wise body,suspension n engine parts r cheap n plentiful 4 d 14 but the 12 engine once modded correctly can give a 14 a run 4 its money(ga15 vs ga15/ga16 vs ga16).projectwise ill go with the 14 cuz although the are more aftermarket bolt ons being sold dan for the 12.

although personally i would of gone with the b13 preferibly the SE-R model.

my0.01c

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 12th, 2009, 2:59 pm

^^^that 2 dr looking really nice

like every1 say go with d newer 14 since 12 parts r harder to get

like .:PROZAC:.., said too : u can get a 15 for that price in good condition ...

Goolie

Postby Goolie » November 12th, 2009, 4:33 pm

again, not to be biased cuz i own one, b14 is very reliable.. parts readily available and cheap.. b12 parts lil difficult to find at foreign used places... u cant go wrong with a 14 pallie... be sure to look for a good one though,, some men does beat their cars.... :mrgreen:

jusme

Postby jusme » November 12th, 2009, 6:48 pm

Thanks for the info people.
And yeah, that 2door looking real fresh. B14 it is.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 12th, 2009, 7:34 pm

buh is 2 2dr i put up
a b13 se-r n a b14 se-r/200sx.
so which 1 allyuh talkin bout?

jjcp

Postby jjcp » November 12th, 2009, 11:38 pm

b14 all the way yes, parts easier to get

turbonator

Postby turbonator » November 13th, 2009, 12:32 am

The B14 is the real thing but keep yuh eyes open for ah B15.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » November 13th, 2009, 3:19 pm

trinidrift wrote:call me a lil biased cuz i own a b14 but i have 2 go with .:PROZAC:..,cuz i hav drive both of dem (fully mod n stock) n i found dat on d b14 handles great once ur suspension is tuned rite while the b12 is a lil more roomy on d inside(get a gyul n i show u wat i mean).parts wise body,suspension n engine parts r cheap n plentiful 4 d 14 but the 12 engine once modded correctly can give a 14 a run 4 its money(ga15 vs ga15/ga16 vs ga16).projectwise ill go with the 14 cuz although the are more aftermarket bolt ons being sold dan for the 12.

although personally i would of gone with the b13 preferibly the SE-R model.

my0.01c
:shock: :shock: :shock: Whoa!!!!!!!!

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 13th, 2009, 9:13 pm

wat rongSeeker,

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 16th, 2009, 7:42 am

trinidrift,lovin the last pic bro! :P

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 16th, 2009, 2:08 pm

trinidrift wrote:buh is 2 2dr i put up
a b13 se-r n a b14 se-r/200sx.
so which 1 allyuh talkin bout?

i think i cud safely say is d 14 all of us talking bout ..... 8-)

jusme

Postby jusme » November 16th, 2009, 8:42 pm

Yea drift, is d 14 i liking

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 17th, 2009, 10:07 am

oooooooo well here is some more.

mashjumbie

Postby mashjumbie » January 8th, 2010, 11:11 am

i will go with the b12 we have a b12 pay and b14 pbk both is good condition i drive them alot and kinda hard, the b12 sits on the road better and and i find it easier 2 average with!!!when i have a choice i always take d b12 i dont knw why.the b14 is faster but the b12 have a nasty kick down which helps overtake faster!!!!

jusme

Postby jusme » January 8th, 2010, 1:23 pm

what a coincidence. i actually just came back from getting my insurance from "motor one".... and decided to open tuner to update post.... i chose d b14.... thanks for all d information and opinions tuners.... my neighbour bought a b12 so i'll check it out too....

5forward

Postby 5forward » January 8th, 2010, 6:25 pm

You won't regret it,especially if you plan to uprgade :twisted:

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » January 8th, 2010, 8:23 pm

X10000000
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

spoogy

Postby spoogy » January 9th, 2010, 1:08 pm

congrats

kerwyn721

Postby kerwyn721 » January 9th, 2010, 6:53 pm

any one have b12 lights 4 sale?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 12th, 2010, 7:44 am

^^^what u looking for? front,back,park,etc?

kerwyn721

Re: B12 vs B14

Postby kerwyn721 » November 5th, 2011, 2:50 pm

i looking to buy a b13
spending like 22k. you all kno anybody???

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 5th, 2011, 4:11 pm

ill check around but i tink i can locate 1

kerwyn721

Postby kerwyn721 » November 5th, 2011, 4:21 pm

tnx.....i need this

Back2Studio