Sr20 tranny issues!!!
Posted: October 25th, 2009, 7:18 am
by dtopshottas
I have an automatic transmission controlling a red top sr20 but lately i realized going from 1st to 2nd there is a "thump". Can anyone explain what i am experiencing. Do i have to get a new tranny?
Posted: October 25th, 2009, 11:09 am
by swift gti funatic
drop in a gear box

there problem fixed...
Posted: October 25th, 2009, 2:10 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
oil level is at the correct mark?
Posted: October 25th, 2009, 2:30 pm
by Idle_Torque
THE SYNDICATE wrote:oil level is at the correct mark?
if ya down shifting and using it like a maunal you porbally suffering from burn clutches in the tranny, drop ah tranny fluid...
Posted: October 25th, 2009, 5:01 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
broken spring in the valvebody
Posted: October 26th, 2009, 10:16 pm
by dtopshottas
Fluid levels good so its not that. So its the broken spring in the valvebady. What is the best fluids for a SR20 engine (oil, AT fuid and coolant)?
Posted: October 26th, 2009, 10:45 pm
by buickpower
yes Anil_Sooknanan if a accumulator has a broken spring it could cause a hard shift
Posted: October 27th, 2009, 5:22 pm
by thatguy3832
AT Fluid yuh cyah go wrong with Castrol. Engine oil right now i trying to figure that out myself
Posted: October 27th, 2009, 7:06 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
i use castrol dextron 3 for tranny(spelling)
mobil 1 10w 30 engine
dtopshottas,redline water wetter + distilled water FTW!

Posted: October 27th, 2009, 8:05 pm
by +Mello+
tranny/engine mount...

Posted: October 27th, 2009, 8:26 pm
by swift gti funatic
THE SYNDICATE, red line water wetter!!

good stuff good stuff
10W 30 on the other hand? don't you think thats a little to light? unless your engine is freshly rebuilt?
Posted: October 28th, 2009, 7:23 am
by THE SYNDICATE
+Mello+ wrote:tranny/engine mount...

polyurethane(spelling)
Posted: October 28th, 2009, 7:25 am
by THE SYNDICATE
[quote="swift gti funatic"]
THE SYNDICATE, red line water wetter!!

good stuff good stuff
10W 30 on the other hand? don't you think thats a little to light? unless your engine is freshly rebuilt?[quote]
engine not rebuilt,stock,and have been using the10w 30 ever since the swap.it's a 20 highport and no probs !
Posted: November 26th, 2009, 10:22 pm
by kripplerz
i using the dextron 3 in the tranny workin good and the same mobil 1 in the engine workin good too but i feel i'll try the 20w next time. i''ll try the redline water wetter.
Posted: December 1st, 2009, 2:26 pm
by drlancer
check ur engine mounts
Posted: December 1st, 2009, 2:27 pm
by drlancer
check ur engine mounts
Posted: December 2nd, 2009, 12:15 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
kripplerz,scene