want to instl either rb25det or rb26twn trbo in a c33 medal

Crazi4Car

want to instl either rb25det or rb26twn trbo in a c33 medal

Postby Crazi4Car » August 17th, 2009, 7:01 am

How diffifult are these swaps??????

QG

Postby QG » August 17th, 2009, 11:45 am

The RB26 is AWD, so your best bet is to stick with the RB25 (neo perhaps).

Those C33 medalist comes with RB20DET, so there is no doubt that it can handle a RB25 turbo man.

Mounts and lining up should not be a problem.

Go for it.

Make sure to get the turbo engine's ECU.

gucci05

Postby gucci05 » August 17th, 2009, 5:48 pm

and get good suspension....go rb25

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 17th, 2009, 9:21 pm

WTF

Crazi4Car

Postby Crazi4Car » August 18th, 2009, 6:00 pm

Mind is a rb20SOHC. Would that be a prob???

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » August 18th, 2009, 6:32 pm

Crazi4Car wrote:Mind is a rb20SOHC. Would that be a prob???

No senor... perfect swap... preferably a rb25 NEO....and you orn! :lol:

sinistersam

Postby sinistersam » August 18th, 2009, 8:34 pm

the only problems you would encounter is

the gearbox brackets would have to be adjusted
the driveshaft would have to be lengthened
and some minor electrical work would have to be done

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 8:36 pm

Why 25DET over 26DETT people?

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » August 18th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Conrad wrote:Why 25DET over 26DETT people?

price.. :lol: and most of all a 25det neo is just as good as a 26dett

Postby 7143 » August 18th, 2009, 10:43 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:

yea boi the price ah dem 26.......

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 11:03 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:

If price was an issue I don't see why he'll still ask.

Since when was a NEO25DET "as good as a RB26DETT" :?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 11:06 pm

Crazi4Car ask your mechanic which swap he's more comfortable doing.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 18th, 2009, 11:16 pm

what are your power expectations? would need a 25 gearbox to make the 26 work rwd. the 25 is very capable of big things with ease.

also, dont forget brakes upgrades

i would say go with the 25det and some minor upgrades, a tune and yuh baddd :lol:

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » August 18th, 2009, 11:24 pm

Conrad, a 25neo is one helll of a engine... seen one with mere bolt ons.. and WOW that thing moves

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 11:25 pm

Have you seen a RB26 with mere bolt-ons?

The RB26 is way outta the league of a NEORB25.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 18th, 2009, 11:28 pm

Conrad,a rb26dett is a beast of a engine but its according to the goals the person wants to get. if he is aiming at 1200HP, 26 it is but ive seen 25s in the GTT etc rating at 600HP do it badly to GTRs.

all in all, they both great engines, just thought it would be easier to do the 25 instead of getting the 26 and lookin for 26gb etc.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 11:31 pm

Granted but the pleb asked about the RB26, doubt he would ask if he couldn't afford it.

It's like asking which is better to buy? A Ferrari 550 Maranello or a Caterham?

Sure the Caterham may be cheaper and can eat it in a tight circuit if tuned right but WTF?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 18th, 2009, 11:35 pm

Conrad,another things is age, if he gets a neo 25 from a r34, the engine wouldnt be as old, might not have taken as much beating as a r32 rb26dett.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 18th, 2009, 11:36 pm

not tryin to say the 26 is not as good as the 25. just in this application i might have gone with the 25 but the 26 is a beast. endless possibilities. if he has the cash and his goals support it, why not.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 11:38 pm

I wouldn't buy a RB26 because of the price but a man was willing to go as far as to say that the NEO RB25DET is as good as the RB26DETT...that's ridiculous when putting it in a mild manner.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 18th, 2009, 11:43 pm

nah, i wont say that. the 26 is a different ball game. a world of performance parts available also.

if it was the same/better than the 26, godzilla wouldnt have a 26 in he belly, woulda be a 25 :lol:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 11:43 pm

Death-Row wrote:Conrad,another things is age, if he gets a neo 25 from a r34, the engine wouldnt be as old, might not have taken as much beating as a r32 rb26dett.

True...

But read what the OP asked in his initial post and see where price and engine condition comes into play.

Simply put

A 25DET is a straight drop in with mods to the driveshaft and wiring as mentioned.

A 26DETT will require more attention in wiring, a modded/diff sump (due to driveshafts coming through the stock unit) and modded driveshaft. RB25 gearbox is recommended in a RWD installation.

[/ched]

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » August 18th, 2009, 11:54 pm

Conrad, ask TriniGT about the 25neo... :lol: drop in a tomei stroker kit n tadaaa you have urself a 2.8 or even 3.0 :twisted:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2009, 11:56 pm

How much for a Tomei stroker :lol:

You can buy 2 RB26's if you know the right people with that money. In fact you can begin to talk about bringing in a RB30 with that money you would spend on engine and kit. Not to mention you'll have to purchase management and other supporting mods to have those extra CCs under control.

...and yes I've seen his car move.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 19th, 2009, 12:07 am

yea conrad, i wont take a 25 to stroke etc. 26 can make maddddd power with stock internals.

Mad Antz

Postby Mad Antz » August 19th, 2009, 8:57 am

like everyone running down the neo 25s..... :lol:

Obviously no one has ever felt a 4wd 25det on a rwd box under 15psi of boost? 8-) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wa u say de Doose??? :wink:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 19th, 2009, 9:11 am

Mad Antz wrote:like everyone running down the neo 25s..... :lol:

Obviously no one has ever felt a 4wd 25det on a rwd box under 15psi of boost? 8-) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Does grin like a fool everytime I see prospects of me getting a ride in your A31. :lol:

Mad Antz

Postby Mad Antz » August 19th, 2009, 9:15 am

:oops: (blushing)

Postby 7143 » August 19th, 2009, 9:36 am

Mad Antz wrote:like everyone running down the neo 25s..... :lol:

4wd 25det running 15lbs :lol: ........

Islandboy.7

Postby Islandboy.7 » August 20th, 2009, 9:11 am

I don't think a 4wd 25det is much different than the regular rwd.....
And as for the installation in the C33 from experience a RB25 0r RB20 is alot easier to install and be upgraded rather than the RB26DETT unless cost is not a factor.