Page 1 of 2

Project GTiR 14: The Brakes (sneak peak)

Posted: July 6th, 2009, 3:17 pm
by GTiR 14
After almost two years of collecting parts, my project car finally gets the green light.

THE PLATFORM:
Basically stock B14 EX Saloon. The car came originally 4WD with a GA15DE engine and automatic transmission.

THE PLAN:
To transplant the engine and drive trane from the GTiR Pulsar into the b14 frame. Plans for the suspension and brakes have not yet been finalised but at a bare minimum the GTiR set would be installed.

THE GOAL:
'Wolf in sheep's clothing' comes to mind but it's realy to build a fun project that's both safe and reliable.

More updates soon.

UPDATE: 8th July 2009
The original engine has been removed and the engine bay cleaned to prepare for painting.

Because of the automatic to manual conversion, we had to cut a hole in the firewall for the clutch cylinder. The test fit up was perfect.

UPDATE: 30th September 2009
In order to transform the 'soft natured' B14 into the Monster we're tring to create, we'll start with a heart transplant. See pics of the donor :twisted: . Pics of the install to follow

UPDATE: 7th October 2009
The Installation was a straight foward transplant. The engine bolts into the 4WD B14 in exactly the same way it came out of the Pulsar. We basically transferred the engine, mounts, brackets & harness into the B14. Even the cradles & shocks fit.
One problem we had was to connect the drive shaft. The front end of the pulsar driveshaft was too short and the B14 front piece (from the GA15 transmission) had a different bolt pattern. We eventually found the correct replacement piece from the N15 4WD driveshaft.
Electricals are basically complete and the engine was started and seems to run perfect (won't know until the car actually moves).
Next up 'brakes & suspension'.
The inside was scrapped out to replace the harness. It still looks like it was attacked by Gremlins.

UPDATE: 12th October 2009
Only got the test fit up of the front done this weekend. Just to give you guys an idea of what's on the drawing board.

Posted: July 6th, 2009, 3:51 pm
by FugiTECH
we have almost everything for Gtir

Posted: July 7th, 2009, 5:59 am
by sss
nice good luck with the project

Posted: July 7th, 2009, 7:26 am
by THE SYNDICATE
nice......

Posted: July 7th, 2009, 10:05 am
by fallout460
would be interesting :roll:

Posted: July 7th, 2009, 11:34 am
by legoRB
gud luck partna

Posted: July 7th, 2009, 7:42 pm
by 7143
lard.....another 4wd beast.....horse yuh better doh stick with dem brakes an suspension eh....wen yuh engine start to pull so yuh guh wish u had it....anyways dis soundin real bess....gud luck wid d project man...

Posted: July 8th, 2009, 8:12 am
by GTiR 14
7143 wrote:lard.....another 4wd beast.....horse yuh better doh stick with dem brakes an suspension eh....wen yuh engine start to pull so yuh guh wish u had it....anyways dis soundin real bess....gud luck wid d project man...

True words. The orginal GTiR set up is my back up plan only if all else fails. I intend to have way more stopping power than that. I will post updates on the brakes and suspension when its being installed.

Posted: July 8th, 2009, 8:14 am
by yakuza
GTiR 14, was now goin an tell him doh worry bout your brakes, BTW u get thru wit the rear set up?

Posted: July 8th, 2009, 8:28 am
by GTiR 14
^^^Not yet, still fiddling with some ideas. Hopefully that should be finalised over the weekend.

Posted: July 9th, 2009, 7:16 am
by yakuza
Post some pics of your rear spindle nah, and I'll see wat we could substitute.

Posted: July 10th, 2009, 10:52 am
by GTiR 14
^^^Check PM

Posted: July 10th, 2009, 12:08 pm
by V2NR 3.0
keep us updated

Posted: July 10th, 2009, 11:35 pm
by legoRB
keep us updated......
:mrgreen:

Posted: September 30th, 2009, 3:12 pm
by GTiR 14
The install is almost complete, pics next week. Still ironing out the kinks in the braking system. Updates made in the original post.

Posted: September 30th, 2009, 3:52 pm
by 7143
waiting on the pics?what braking system you decided on?

Posted: September 30th, 2009, 9:36 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
:pics:

:P

Posted: October 1st, 2009, 6:38 am
by sss
niceeee

Posted: October 1st, 2009, 8:44 am
by Chiney
PICS MAN!!!

Re: Project GTiR 14: The Donor

Posted: October 1st, 2009, 12:48 pm
by demented
GTiR 14 wrote:Image

How much this donor cost? Where can I get one?

Posted: October 1st, 2009, 12:56 pm
by Bacon
Waits patiently for next update................................

Posted: October 1st, 2009, 3:17 pm
by V2NR 3.0
bump

Posted: October 2nd, 2009, 11:48 am
by GTiR 14
demented, A front cut ususally goes for about 20-25k. I've seen more expensive ones but they were modified. I saw one a couple weeks ago in the bamboo, place next to Seenath on the main road.

7143, Lets just say that I borrowed 'big brothers' shoes :twisted:

Posted: October 2nd, 2009, 12:01 pm
by Conrad
GTiR 14 wrote:demented, A front cut ususally goes for about 20-25k. I've seen more expensive ones but they were modified. I saw one a couple weeks ago in the bamboo, place next to Seenath on the main road.

Mahadeos?

Posted: October 2nd, 2009, 1:16 pm
by GTiR 14
Conrad wrote:
GTiR 14 wrote:demented, A front cut ususally goes for about 20-25k. I've seen more expensive ones but they were modified. I saw one a couple weeks ago in the bamboo, place next to Seenath on the main road.

Mahadeos?

I don't know the name of the place but they sell subaru parts also. The front cut had some HKS upgrades but the guy said that someone stole with the guages.

Posted: October 5th, 2009, 7:24 am
by THE SYNDICATE
GTiR 14,do u have the diagnostic port from the front u bought or a spare one?

i'm looking for one....

Posted: October 5th, 2009, 10:13 am
by Boost Junkies TT
sweet project awaiting updates

Posted: October 5th, 2009, 10:15 am
by Monk BANzai
looks solid. Keep the masses updated with pics, but pics of the process. Sounds like a cracking project!!

Posted: October 6th, 2009, 1:53 pm
by JoeBama
Nice cant wait to see the finished beast! Any problems with the drive train?

Posted: October 7th, 2009, 11:18 am
by GTiR 14
Updated