WTK b14 adjustable suspension

ruff neck chicken

WTK b14 adjustable suspension

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 13th, 2009, 8:46 am

i know you can lower a b14 with adjustables but i want to know if i want to bring them in my self will this part be under nissan sunny or will i have to search for another vehicle.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 13th, 2009, 10:09 am

USDM Sentra 1995-99.. 200sx or SER B14...

Are you looking for adjsutable struts and spring combo or coilovers?

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 13th, 2009, 5:40 pm

havent made up my mind yet.
how do each one of those perform/ride?

Postby X_Factor » May 13th, 2009, 7:17 pm

coilovers are crappy unless its a high end brand u buying
best bet is adjustables and springs

tein and kyb agx is the flick but dammn costly

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 13th, 2009, 8:35 pm

so i can ask for USDM Sentra 1998 adjsutable struts and spring combo.

im looking at having them brought in once its cheaper than buying it locally.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 13th, 2009, 8:42 pm

if you give us an idea of your budget in TTD we can tell you what you can get.
What is the car being set up for?

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 13th, 2009, 9:14 pm

dont have a budget really, but im looking for the most economical way in price for performance/ride.

so far everyone told me coilovers are a waste in respect with the ride you get.

found some KYB AGX ADJUSTABLE STRUTS/SHOCKS for approx 3500TT. wont mind if i can get something just as good for a lower price since im not really going all out in this car.

nothing to beastly yet.basically street car with a bit more.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 13th, 2009, 9:55 pm

thats for jsut the shocks eh? hmm you should see about bringing it in yourself then.. a complete set of AGX will be less than 400 USD and 50-70 shipping.
I bought mine from this guy.

I have the AGX and Teins and they are good for everyday.No bouncing and i run thm on 1 for daily use.

This is on the other end of the spectrumm very high end but awesome. called STD. Riworx installed on his B14 last week.

Tein basics are pretty good but they will runn you 1000 USD.

V2NR 3.0

suspension

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 13th, 2009, 10:07 pm

Prozac

I have been looking at suspension upgrades on my b-14 as well. Was talking to tuner imports (nick) and he highly recommended the combination of KYB and Tein. He was saying that the KYB's have several dampering levels which could help with rigidity of the suspension.

The price quote was close to $6100 (subject to correction).

Is this a worthwhile venture?

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 13th, 2009, 10:12 pm

so with those "KYB AGX Shocks Struts Nissan Sentra 200SX 95-99 B14" any particular springs should be used on them?

just being curious, how low can you get before the bouncing around starts on your ride?

Postby X_Factor » May 13th, 2009, 10:17 pm

^^some stainless steel braided lines would look sweet in that pic !! :mrgreen:

so yeah, basically the 4 agx adjustables would cost approx 400US, shipping ?
duties and vat will be a killer

so for 3500TT locally i think that would be a steal of a deal

KYB also has the GR2's which are also worth looking into depending on ur goals and its about half the cost of the agx
if u want higher, u can look into bilstein

but whats ur goal?...solodex, drags?

when u lookin for ur springs, take into consideration the spring rates and dont just purchase any set just so, i cant remember exactly what i was told when i was looking for them, but u'd wanna get one to suit our roads as its pretty bumpy

btw, i know someone who should have a set of s-tech's for a b14 for sale at a good price..if u interested hit me a pm

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 13th, 2009, 10:29 pm

The tein + agx shock spring combo is really good. Eibach ang B&G also ahve really good springs for the B14.
Foir 6100 though its pretty high. Try to renegotiate that number. Guys I'm jut like you guys driving it everyday and trying to get the best bang for buck. It has worked very well and even in -35 it was smooth.
I haven't totally abused it ina dex though. My P11 also runs the same combination.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 13th, 2009, 10:33 pm

yea the 3500TT is good when u add shippin etc.

i heard about the gr2 but if im not mistaken those arent adjustable and i would like to have that option so i can try out driving at different heights.

i dont have any straight set goals right now.the car is driven a bit spirited tho :D .
so i'd like to have a bit more handling and from there depends on how that goes i will decide what i want to continue my build for.

Postby X_Factor » May 13th, 2009, 10:55 pm

but the spring is fixed in height, the only way u can experiment is by cutting and once u cut, obviously u cant mend it back, the adjustables adjust the dampening rate

if u want to adjust the height of ur vehicle i think its coilovers u need, check yakuza on the form...he running tein coilovers and may change them..im not sure..u can pm him for info

u should also look into poly bushings as u drop the car the rubber ones mayburst quickly

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » May 14th, 2009, 12:05 am

dred, fuh a b14...good gas shocks and decent lowering springs will make a world of difference. I have tokico blue gas shocks and skunk2 lowering springs on the 240sx and they make a helluva diff. when compared to a stock suspensionn setup. Thats the most bang for your buck IMHO...(for a daily driver anyway....racing is a whole different ballgame)

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 14th, 2009, 12:11 am

hey I jsut put the blue and eibachs on the S14 but car has not been driven sicne in teh shop.. is it really that good?

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » May 14th, 2009, 12:30 am

lemme put it this way, you'll feel sooooo much less roll and a much firmer ride compared to the stock setup. wayyyy tighter around corners. I think it has more to do with center of gravity but I might be wrong...
*not to mention how much more aggressive the car will look ;)

CarzStuff

Postby CarzStuff » May 17th, 2009, 2:11 am

keep the advice going, i also have a b14 and was thinking of running some tein s tech drop springs.
does anyone have pics of the drop with these springs?

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 17th, 2009, 10:40 am

so when you use drop springs/struts or what ever, the height u go to, how do you know if that is the best height to be for what ever use your car is set up for.do you just take the height and leave it at that?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 17th, 2009, 10:46 am

found some KYB AGX ADJUSTABLE STRUTS/SHOCKS for approx 3500TT. wont mind if i can get something just as good for a lower price since im not really going all out in this car

i heard about the gr2 but if im not mistaken those arent adjustable and i would like to have that option so i can try out driving at different heights

If you don't want the adjustability of the strut stiffness (i.e. if you don't plan on using that), then go with the GR-2's.

Similar internal design to the AGX's, and their stiffness is normally equivalent to a setting # 2 on a 4way adjustable AGX, or setting # 3 on a 8 way adjustable AGX...

A good rule of thumb is that the KYB struts (both) handle about a 1.5" (+/- 0.1) drop comfortably.

i heard about the gr2 but if im not mistaken those arent adjustable and i would like to have that option so i can try out driving at different heights.

Not sure if you're referring to the AGX at different heights....but remember that the AGX can ONLY adjust STIFFNESS.

NOT HEIGHT. With teins and an AGX setup, your height CANNOT be adjusted. Only the stiffness of the strut.

If you want to adjust height on a shock/spring combo, you'd need a sleeve mounted setup w/ spring, like what Ground Control offers (a "pseudo-coilover"). GC makes good stuff though.....and they can tailor make/provide springs (they use Eibachs) to the struts that you have / intend to use.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » May 17th, 2009, 12:39 pm

.:PROZAC:.., a quick question, you say you have the TEIN lowering springs on your P11 and B14, do your cars have that raked look (front lower than rear)?

sss

Postby sss » May 19th, 2009, 6:43 am

did some reading up on suspension for both b13, b14 on the sr20forums and the guys who tested differant setups basically said when using kyb agx the best springs for them are the hyperco gen2 or gc sleeves but the ride height should not be lower than 1.5 u risk the chace of damaging shock if u go any lower

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » May 19th, 2009, 11:29 am

sss wrote:did some reading up on suspension for both b13, b14 on the sr20forums and the guys who tested differant setups basically said when using kyb agx the best springs for them are the hyperco gen2 or gc sleeves but the ride height should not be lower than 1.5 u risk the chace of damaging shock if u go any lower

Both the Hyperco and Roadmagnet springs are exclusive to http://www.sr20forum.com and you can only get them on their group buys or used on their forums. They say the Hypercos and Roadmagnets are suppose to be the best engineered spring for the b-chassis.
Any other spring is rubbish :twisted:

Also when using the lowering springs, to regain the lost suspension travel, they usually use Custom Shortened Koni shock inserts.

From what I've read on those forums, the best handling strut setup is the Hyperco/Roadmagnet springs on the C.S.K struts.

There's a very informative thread here
http://www.sr20-forum.com/suspension/1801-b13-b14-b15-suspension-information.html

sss

Postby sss » May 19th, 2009, 1:26 pm

i read the whole post very good read am still not sure what i am going with but i want to run 225/50/15 tyres so am leaning to full coilover setup

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 19th, 2009, 3:26 pm

i was told that those full coilover setup the ride is really rough.
does this happen at regular height also or just when lowered?

Postby X_Factor » May 19th, 2009, 4:59 pm

^^ brand specific

the high end brands dont ride as bad...but its to source them and the cost

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 19th, 2009, 8:28 pm

was told that those full coilover setup the ride is really rough.
does this happen at regular height also or just when lowered?

Depends mostly on the spring rates that are used in the coilover.

Honestly, just get some Ground COntrol (GC) sleeved Eibachs like I said with some GR-2's or AGX's, and you should be good to go.

Pretty simple :shock: :twisted:

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » August 16th, 2009, 4:30 am

somebody gimme info on where to source these parts plz looking to upgrade suspension and breaks. i'm on 17's so a 1.5 drop is enough

V2NR 3.0

Re: WTK b14 adjustable suspension

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 16th, 2010, 8:14 am

good read... any updates on this

Anil_Sooknanan

Re: WTK b14 adjustable suspension

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » December 16th, 2010, 10:24 am

I have a pair of a japanses drop springs on a set of good shocks , buffer rubber everything perfect. I'm not going to put them on my car again so $700 installed. (b13/b14/y10)