B14 with SR swap, speed cutting early.
Posted: April 21st, 2009, 10:48 pm
by Omaritech2
Have any of you guys ever had a problem with your car speed cutting before 180km? My b14 does it, car would pull strong 1st, 2nd, when 3rd gear gets to about 140km, car just looses all power. just like how you would speed cut at 180km. Once speed falls below 140km, car goes strong again.
1) Changed Fuel pump
2) Changed Speed Sensor.
Any help guys would be great.
Posted: April 21st, 2009, 10:56 pm
by wagonrunner
what rpm is the engine at when 3rd gets to 140?
do you cross that rpm in 1st and 2nd?
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 7:19 am
by Omaritech2
About 6500-7000RPM
By the way it is a Roller Rocker SR20.
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 8:33 am
by wagonrunner
Sounding like you're hitting rev limiter in 3rd.
<a href="http://www.g20.net/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16498">SR20 Overview</a> wrote:The P10 G20 (91-96) came with a 7450rpm redline. The redline on the roller rocker p11's is slightly lower. The 1999-2000 model s are 7000rpms and the 2001-02 is 6750rpms
also, you didn't say if you were meeting / exceeding that rpm in your lower gears?
did you ever dyno the engine, easy way to 1) know at what rpm you stop making power, so you don't waste time trying to build revs in the higher gears (3rd +), and 2)learn your engine's rpm-limit.
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 10:33 am
by Picasso
Now you gonna make the man make a thread about removing the rev limit just to hit 180
Go on the dyno and walk with your auto electritian and another SR20 brain. Give more details on your swap eg. If the swap was SR20 auto then you dropped in a gearbox after.. etc etc..
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 11:10 am
by BlueIce
i know some sr20's have a BAD rev cut in 3rd which makes it feel like a speed cut...
ever tried not limiting 3rd? what happens if you are in 5th and press out? do you reach the 180 or still get a cut?
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 1:10 pm
by turbohead
das yuh speed cut, fella came in with same problem an installed a greddy speed cut defender an works great now. speed cut is a beyotch jus give me a pm...
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 3:08 pm
by Omaritech2
Going try a different brain and see what happens.
Engine was originally automatic, swap engine into car with SR18 gearbox and automatic harness. 1st Gear pulls strong to limiter, 2nd pulls strong to limiter (115km est), 3rd would go to 140 and just shut down.
By the way 3rd gear is no where near the limiter at 140km.
But as i said going try a different ECU and try accelerating 4th or 5th gear and see what happens. Thanks for your help guys.
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 3:25 pm
by Dave
ecu is your issue
Posted: April 22nd, 2009, 4:30 pm
by dbesson
as usual Dave is right on the money... make sure the next ecu you try is from a manual P11 (roller rocker) sr20.
Posted: April 24th, 2009, 1:24 pm
by rboy
guys could it be the wiring of the harness also
Posted: April 27th, 2009, 12:26 pm
by Idle_Torque
Is there a wire that you can cut of the brain any it would stop???
Posted: April 28th, 2009, 10:28 am
by demented
I experienced this with my SR20 in my B14. At 140 I get a first speed cut/dip and then release the gas and press again...and I reach up to 175 and then speed limitter activates. This is an automatic SR20 from the U13.
Posted: May 1st, 2009, 7:42 am
by Pinky
Foreign used JDM engines will give you the speed cut @ 180 kms
You need a pivot speed cut and you good to go
http://www.pivotracing.com/product/SML
Posted: May 1st, 2009, 7:58 am
by THE SYNDICATE
At 140 I get a first speed cut/dip and then release the gas and press again...and I reach up to 175 and then speed limitter activates. This is an automatic SR20
happens to me as well but the second for me is 180
Re: B14 with SR swap, speed cutting early.
Posted: March 16th, 2011, 11:37 am
by someone904
any one solved this??
Posted: March 16th, 2011, 8:47 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
fuel!
Re:
Posted: March 18th, 2011, 9:53 am
by NXTREME
THE SYNDICATE wrote:At 140 I get a first speed cut/dip and then release the gas and press again...and I reach up to 175 and then speed limitter activates. This is an automatic SR20
happens to me as well but the second for me is 180

Posted: April 9th, 2011, 9:40 pm
by GA15DE-T
hahahah speeed cut on 140km blow pass you toooooo

Posted: April 11th, 2011, 8:13 am
by NXTREME
well u have a bess b14 tranny what u expect^
Posted: April 11th, 2011, 5:20 pm
by GA15DE-T
ROFLLLLLL it slowwww
Posted: April 11th, 2011, 6:46 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
Posted: April 12th, 2011, 7:45 am
by NXTREME
converse2010 wrote:ROFLLLLLL it slowwww
bring it back, will exchange it for a sr20det fwd.
Posted: April 12th, 2011, 4:57 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
i'll take the engine if u don't mind!

jus for some parts!

Posted: April 13th, 2011, 7:24 am
by NXTREME
i see ga15de+t pullin level with sr20det...lol
Posted: April 13th, 2011, 8:40 pm
by THE SYNDICATE
^^^no way!!!
Posted: April 14th, 2011, 6:44 am
by NXTREME
ah tellin yuh, yuh wuh see for yourself? pm me

Posted: April 20th, 2011, 7:35 am
by THE SYNDICATE
^^*hmmmmmm*