B14 with SR swap, speed cutting early.

Omaritech2

B14 with SR swap, speed cutting early.

Postby Omaritech2 » April 21st, 2009, 10:48 pm

Have any of you guys ever had a problem with your car speed cutting before 180km? My b14 does it, car would pull strong 1st, 2nd, when 3rd gear gets to about 140km, car just looses all power. just like how you would speed cut at 180km. Once speed falls below 140km, car goes strong again.

1) Changed Fuel pump
2) Changed Speed Sensor.

Any help guys would be great.

Postby wagonrunner » April 21st, 2009, 10:56 pm

what rpm is the engine at when 3rd gets to 140?
do you cross that rpm in 1st and 2nd?

Omaritech2

Postby Omaritech2 » April 22nd, 2009, 7:19 am

About 6500-7000RPM
By the way it is a Roller Rocker SR20.

Postby wagonrunner » April 22nd, 2009, 8:33 am

Sounding like you're hitting rev limiter in 3rd.
<a href="http://www.g20.net/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16498">SR20 Overview</a> wrote:The P10 G20 (91-96) came with a 7450rpm redline. The redline on the roller rocker p11's is slightly lower. The 1999-2000 model s are 7000rpms and the 2001-02 is 6750rpms

also, you didn't say if you were meeting / exceeding that rpm in your lower gears?

did you ever dyno the engine, easy way to 1) know at what rpm you stop making power, so you don't waste time trying to build revs in the higher gears (3rd +), and 2)learn your engine's rpm-limit.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 22nd, 2009, 10:33 am

Now you gonna make the man make a thread about removing the rev limit just to hit 180 :lol: :lol:

Go on the dyno and walk with your auto electritian and another SR20 brain. Give more details on your swap eg. If the swap was SR20 auto then you dropped in a gearbox after.. etc etc..

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 22nd, 2009, 11:10 am

i know some sr20's have a BAD rev cut in 3rd which makes it feel like a speed cut...

ever tried not limiting 3rd? what happens if you are in 5th and press out? do you reach the 180 or still get a cut?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 22nd, 2009, 1:10 pm

das yuh speed cut, fella came in with same problem an installed a greddy speed cut defender an works great now. speed cut is a beyotch jus give me a pm...

Omaritech2

Postby Omaritech2 » April 22nd, 2009, 3:08 pm

Going try a different brain and see what happens.

Engine was originally automatic, swap engine into car with SR18 gearbox and automatic harness. 1st Gear pulls strong to limiter, 2nd pulls strong to limiter (115km est), 3rd would go to 140 and just shut down.

By the way 3rd gear is no where near the limiter at 140km.

But as i said going try a different ECU and try accelerating 4th or 5th gear and see what happens. Thanks for your help guys.

Postby Dave » April 22nd, 2009, 3:25 pm

ecu is your issue

dbesson

Postby dbesson » April 22nd, 2009, 4:30 pm

as usual Dave is right on the money... make sure the next ecu you try is from a manual P11 (roller rocker) sr20.

rboy

Postby rboy » April 24th, 2009, 1:24 pm

guys could it be the wiring of the harness also

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » April 27th, 2009, 12:26 pm

Is there a wire that you can cut of the brain any it would stop???

demented

Postby demented » April 28th, 2009, 10:28 am

I experienced this with my SR20 in my B14. At 140 I get a first speed cut/dip and then release the gas and press again...and I reach up to 175 and then speed limitter activates. This is an automatic SR20 from the U13.

Pinky

Postby Pinky » May 1st, 2009, 7:42 am

Foreign used JDM engines will give you the speed cut @ 180 kms
You need a pivot speed cut and you good to go
http://www.pivotracing.com/product/SML

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 1st, 2009, 7:58 am

At 140 I get a first speed cut/dip and then release the gas and press again...and I reach up to 175 and then speed limitter activates. This is an automatic SR20

happens to me as well but the second for me is 180

someone904

Re: B14 with SR swap, speed cutting early.

Postby someone904 » March 16th, 2011, 11:37 am

any one solved this??

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 16th, 2011, 8:47 pm

fuel!

NXTREME

Re:

Postby NXTREME » March 18th, 2011, 9:53 am

THE SYNDICATE wrote:
At 140 I get a first speed cut/dip and then release the gas and press again...and I reach up to 175 and then speed limitter activates. This is an automatic SR20

happens to me as well but the second for me is 180

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » April 9th, 2011, 9:40 pm

hahahah speeed cut on 140km blow pass you toooooo :D

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 11th, 2011, 8:13 am

well u have a bess b14 tranny what u expect^

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » April 11th, 2011, 5:20 pm

ROFLLLLLL it slowwww

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 11th, 2011, 6:46 pm

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 12th, 2011, 7:45 am

converse2010 wrote:ROFLLLLLL it slowwww

bring it back, will exchange it for a sr20det fwd.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 12th, 2011, 4:57 pm

i'll take the engine if u don't mind! :D jus for some parts! :D

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 13th, 2011, 7:24 am

i see ga15de+t pullin level with sr20det...lol

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 13th, 2011, 8:40 pm

^^^no way!!!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » April 14th, 2011, 6:44 am

ah tellin yuh, yuh wuh see for yourself? pm me :lol:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 20th, 2011, 7:35 am

^^*hmmmmmm* :drinking: