WTK: how does the a/c system work on a ga15??

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 7:55 pm
by katastrophic
can anyone tell me how does the a/c system work on a ga15 (fuel injected)
WRT the idle up... what controls the idle up part?? is it controlled by vacuum, or is it controlled by the ecu, or both??

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 9:47 pm
by megadoc1
hmmm lets see
it is controlled by the ecu but if its a swap and u want it to be independent
there is a unit on the throttle body with a Grey cap
check those wires see if they match up to this
http://www.genis-x.com/index.php?id=6198e6
then u just need a signal to the L/R=blue/red stripe directly from the compressor

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 9:50 pm
by .:PROZAC:..
IACV on the throttle body / AFM combo unit on the GA15 if I remember correctly.

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 9:51 pm
by katastrophic
so it's on the throttle body??

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 10:27 pm
by katastrophic
megadoc1,I'm guessing that this is it?? all the wires match up...

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 10:52 pm
by megadoc1
yes thats it
hook the the blue/red stripe wire to the compressor's power supply

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 10:58 pm
by katastrophic
^^ok so the same 12v that coming from the thermostat (which is what engages the compressor clutch) (correct me if i am wrong)... i am taking that same 12v signal an running it to the blue/red stripe wire??

so in other words i would be tapping off from the compressor clutch an feeding the blue/red stripe wire?

also... am i cutting off the blue/red stripe wire off of the connector? an then running the compressor wire to it?? or am i simply just splicing the compressor wire to it an leaving it intact (still connected to the connector)??

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 11:12 pm
by megadoc1
u just need to tap it with 12v from the compressor clutch

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 11:27 pm
by katastrophic
^^nice... ok seeing that i don't have the compressor clutch wire connected at the moment..... for the sake of testing, if i just run a wire from the battery to the blue/red stripe wire, then the engine should increase idle???

Posted: February 25th, 2009, 11:38 pm
by megadoc1
yes it will have no fear
if you look at the link above you will see the FIDLE connection in green blocks B=ground so the blue/red (L/R)= B+

Posted: February 26th, 2009, 12:00 am
by katastrophic
megadoc1, thank u very much for your help.. i shall try it in the morning...

Posted: February 26th, 2009, 6:21 am
by Anil_Sooknanan
^^^ correct :wink:

Posted: February 26th, 2009, 6:11 pm
by katastrophic
ok so i tried it... an it worked :D :D ... BTW... how much rpm does the idle speed increase the original idle by??? gots no tach... :(

Posted: February 26th, 2009, 7:55 pm
by megadoc1
cant remember but it would be high without the compressor runing
glad u got tru

Posted: February 26th, 2009, 8:55 pm
by Anil_Sooknanan
when you put on the AC the car should only drop 100 - 150 from the 850 idle. No tach yuh say well Megadoc1 i feel yuh have ah next doctoring to do day... tacho,easy install pin#3

Posted: February 26th, 2009, 9:00 pm
by katastrophic
pin#3 on the the ecu.. what colour wire is this??

Posted: February 26th, 2009, 10:12 pm
by katastrophic
Ok many thanks megadoc1, &Anil_Sooknanan, Tacho is now working... it's alive once again...yay.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Re: WTK: how does the a/c system work on a ga15??

Posted: November 26th, 2015, 12:07 pm
by dani22
yo, i am so glad i found and read this thread :D