Page 1 of 2
Need better brake pads
Posted: February 2nd, 2009, 9:01 pm
by §ephiroth
I get brake fade really quickly on my b12......The car hs a Sr20 front and rear disc brakes.........the front is b13 beast model. Which holds pretty good........until the brake fade. Any recommendations on a good set of pads.........i think right now the car has wagner. Car is also a Daily driver
Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 am
by THE SYNDICATE
national or
gic!
*as quoted from the guru
Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 4:36 pm
by §ephiroth
Thanks anyone have prices?
Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 4:41 pm
by wagonrunner
i use the titantium brand pads.
some fade between repeated stops from 140+ but the first five or six will be great.
let it cool a bit, and its good again.
horrible when cold, emergency stopping from the 1st engine tumble and mashout is a no no. yuh hadda wait till they warm up wtih a few low speed stops.
Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 5:59 pm
by eitech
wah kinda drivin and speeds allyuh does be doin to get brake fade jed?
Posted: February 3rd, 2009, 6:49 pm
by flatline
ebc greens have good gripping power from cold to hot. They a bit aggressive on rotors though, due to the metallic strands in them, and a bit noisy during the break-in period
Posted: February 4th, 2009, 7:16 pm
by §ephiroth
Ok thanks alot people. Wagonrunner not looking for pads like that at all. And flat line...i'm tryin to avoid potential rotor damage. And eitech.....well no comment

Posted: February 4th, 2009, 7:17 pm
by §ephiroth
Any other recommendations
Posted: February 4th, 2009, 7:34 pm
by yakuza
OF COURSE YOU KNOW YOUR ROTORS WON'T LAST AS LONG USING THESE PADS, AS OPPOSED TO ORGANIC, BUT YOU CAN'T HAVE THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS.
Posted: February 4th, 2009, 7:52 pm
by §ephiroth
OK........so do they have rotors for pads like these?? And by damage to the rotor.....what actually happens to it?
Posted: February 4th, 2009, 7:59 pm
by yakuza
It get thinner or sometimes grooves on the rotor braking surface
Posted: February 4th, 2009, 8:01 pm
by yakuza
§ephiroth wrote:OK........so do they have rotors for pads like these?? And by damage to the rotor.....what actually happens to it?
check dis out
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=20
Posted: February 4th, 2009, 8:29 pm
by §ephiroth
^^ Thanks for the link.....I just realized i may have phrased the question wrong......What i want is a set of brake pads that have a higher heat point b4 you get brake fade(If you understand what i mean). Not more powerful brakes.
To my knowing brake pads operate by friction and are designed to take up to a certain temperature b4 they peak.......and at this peak and after is where you experience the brake fade.
Correct me if i'm wrong here
Posted: February 4th, 2009, 8:32 pm
by §ephiroth
But i guess by having more powerful brakes or more agressive pads, you will stop faster therefore not having to reach this "heat point"(Sorry don't know the correct term) and avoiding brake fade. But there is conversion/ rotor damage risk. hmmmm interesting
Posted: February 5th, 2009, 7:16 am
by THE SYNDICATE
the front is b13 beast model.
i have the same setup and i use NATIONAL!
* i understand what ur trying to say none the less bro........*
Posted: February 5th, 2009, 6:50 pm
by §ephiroth
NATIONAL.... never heard of that. where and price
Posted: February 5th, 2009, 7:31 pm
by X_Factor
national works pretty good im using that in some ad18's
100.00 for the set, i got it in a parts shop on pasea main road... directly before the bus route heading north on ur right hand side
its on the same compound with a supermarket
Posted: February 5th, 2009, 9:55 pm
by yakuza
[quote="X_Factor"]national works pretty good im using that in some ad18's
^second dat, I use them on my AD22VF, $80 by TJ's (troy) on eastern main rd. next to andy mahabir tyre shop.
Posted: February 5th, 2009, 10:10 pm
by §ephiroth
ok just to get an idea.....can they handle maracas without gettin brake fade fast or at all?
Posted: February 5th, 2009, 10:12 pm
by §ephiroth
driving style for the maracas run.....um let's say at a fairly quick pace. yuh eh cruisin and the road clear. Better yet yuh have a bess ting in the front seat and she want it on the beach NOW!

Posted: February 5th, 2009, 10:13 pm
by §ephiroth
so right now it's between national and someone told me about mintex. Anyone ever had experience with mintex
Posted: February 5th, 2009, 10:15 pm
by X_Factor
yes they can!!! on reaching maracas the pedal was a bit low/soft but i could still stop the car pretty easily when i needed 2
Posted: February 6th, 2009, 11:42 am
by flatline
soft pedal? What brake fluid are you using? The castrol dot 4 works well
Posted: February 12th, 2009, 10:09 am
by THE SYNDICATE
delphi dot 4?

Posted: February 14th, 2009, 7:04 pm
by Dj_Bee
The oem brake pads from nissan are the best bet....they last reallly long..........
Posted: February 21st, 2009, 1:35 pm
by eitech
Can you use brake pads indefinitely, once there is enough material on them, and they work fine? Or after over two years of service, should you change them?
Posted: February 24th, 2009, 9:03 pm
by kobe
what exactly, is brake fade, me and my padner both have nissan prairies,mine is faster. anyways i changed the front rotors cause it was bent and put ohk brakeshoesi find it not holding good an the rotors not shiney in colour, they have a kinda greyish dull appearance, could this be because i breakout the rotors @ reall speed.
Posted: February 27th, 2009, 9:28 am
by Mad Antz
use hawk pads they a lil more expensive but worth every penny.. if they could stop over 350hp anything less than that should be reel good!
teknet will bring them for any application...
Posted: February 27th, 2009, 11:50 am
by A172
kobe wrote:what exactly, is brake fade, me and my padner both have nissan prairies,mine is faster. anyways i changed the front rotors cause it was bent and put ohk brakeshoesi find it not holding good an the rotors not shiney in colour, they have a kinda greyish dull appearance, could this be because i breakout the rotors @ reall speed.

Posted: February 27th, 2009, 11:52 am
by Mad Antz
hmmmmm.....
real speed you say????????