Need better brake pads

§ephiroth

Need better brake pads

Postby §ephiroth » February 2nd, 2009, 9:01 pm

I get brake fade really quickly on my b12......The car hs a Sr20 front and rear disc brakes.........the front is b13 beast model. Which holds pretty good........until the brake fade. Any recommendations on a good set of pads.........i think right now the car has wagner. Car is also a Daily driver

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 am

national or gic!

*as quoted from the guru Dave :oops: *

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 3rd, 2009, 4:36 pm

Thanks anyone have prices?

Postby wagonrunner » February 3rd, 2009, 4:41 pm

i use the titantium brand pads.
some fade between repeated stops from 140+ but the first five or six will be great.
let it cool a bit, and its good again.
horrible when cold, emergency stopping from the 1st engine tumble and mashout is a no no. yuh hadda wait till they warm up wtih a few low speed stops.
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 5th, 2009, 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eitech

Postby eitech » February 3rd, 2009, 5:59 pm

wah kinda drivin and speeds allyuh does be doin to get brake fade jed?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 3rd, 2009, 6:49 pm

ebc greens have good gripping power from cold to hot. They a bit aggressive on rotors though, due to the metallic strands in them, and a bit noisy during the break-in period

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 4th, 2009, 7:16 pm

Ok thanks alot people. Wagonrunner not looking for pads like that at all. And flat line...i'm tryin to avoid potential rotor damage. And eitech.....well no comment :lol:

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 4th, 2009, 7:17 pm

Any other recommendations

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 4th, 2009, 7:34 pm

OF COURSE YOU KNOW YOUR ROTORS WON'T LAST AS LONG USING THESE PADS, AS OPPOSED TO ORGANIC, BUT YOU CAN'T HAVE THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS.

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 4th, 2009, 7:52 pm

OK........so do they have rotors for pads like these?? And by damage to the rotor.....what actually happens to it?

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 4th, 2009, 7:59 pm

It get thinner or sometimes grooves on the rotor braking surface

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 4th, 2009, 8:01 pm

§ephiroth wrote:OK........so do they have rotors for pads like these?? And by damage to the rotor.....what actually happens to it?

check dis out
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=20

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 4th, 2009, 8:29 pm

^^ Thanks for the link.....I just realized i may have phrased the question wrong......What i want is a set of brake pads that have a higher heat point b4 you get brake fade(If you understand what i mean). Not more powerful brakes.

To my knowing brake pads operate by friction and are designed to take up to a certain temperature b4 they peak.......and at this peak and after is where you experience the brake fade.

Correct me if i'm wrong here

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 4th, 2009, 8:32 pm

But i guess by having more powerful brakes or more agressive pads, you will stop faster therefore not having to reach this "heat point"(Sorry don't know the correct term) and avoiding brake fade. But there is conversion/ rotor damage risk. hmmmm interesting

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 5th, 2009, 7:16 am

the front is b13 beast model.

i have the same setup and i use NATIONAL!

* i understand what ur trying to say none the less bro........*

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 5th, 2009, 6:50 pm

NATIONAL.... never heard of that. where and price

Postby X_Factor » February 5th, 2009, 7:31 pm

national works pretty good im using that in some ad18's
100.00 for the set, i got it in a parts shop on pasea main road... directly before the bus route heading north on ur right hand side
its on the same compound with a supermarket

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 5th, 2009, 9:55 pm

[quote="X_Factor"]national works pretty good im using that in some ad18's
^second dat, I use them on my AD22VF, $80 by TJ's (troy) on eastern main rd. next to andy mahabir tyre shop.

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 5th, 2009, 10:10 pm

ok just to get an idea.....can they handle maracas without gettin brake fade fast or at all?

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 5th, 2009, 10:12 pm

driving style for the maracas run.....um let's say at a fairly quick pace. yuh eh cruisin and the road clear. Better yet yuh have a bess ting in the front seat and she want it on the beach NOW! :lol:

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » February 5th, 2009, 10:13 pm

so right now it's between national and someone told me about mintex. Anyone ever had experience with mintex

Postby X_Factor » February 5th, 2009, 10:15 pm

yes they can!!! on reaching maracas the pedal was a bit low/soft but i could still stop the car pretty easily when i needed 2

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 6th, 2009, 11:42 am

soft pedal? What brake fluid are you using? The castrol dot 4 works well

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 12th, 2009, 10:09 am

delphi dot 4? :|

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » February 14th, 2009, 7:04 pm

The oem brake pads from nissan are the best bet....they last reallly long..........

eitech

Postby eitech » February 21st, 2009, 1:35 pm

Can you use brake pads indefinitely, once there is enough material on them, and they work fine? Or after over two years of service, should you change them?

kobe

Postby kobe » February 24th, 2009, 9:03 pm

what exactly, is brake fade, me and my padner both have nissan prairies,mine is faster. anyways i changed the front rotors cause it was bent and put ohk brakeshoesi find it not holding good an the rotors not shiney in colour, they have a kinda greyish dull appearance, could this be because i breakout the rotors @ reall speed.

Mad Antz

Postby Mad Antz » February 27th, 2009, 9:28 am

use hawk pads they a lil more expensive but worth every penny.. if they could stop over 350hp anything less than that should be reel good!

teknet will bring them for any application...

Postby A172 » February 27th, 2009, 11:50 am

kobe wrote:what exactly, is brake fade, me and my padner both have nissan prairies,mine is faster. anyways i changed the front rotors cause it was bent and put ohk brakeshoesi find it not holding good an the rotors not shiney in colour, they have a kinda greyish dull appearance, could this be because i breakout the rotors @ reall speed.

Mad Antz

Postby Mad Antz » February 27th, 2009, 11:52 am

hmmmmm.....

real speed you say????????