secret to getting 550kms from 3/4 tank in my almera.ACETONE!

kimolal

secret to getting 550kms from 3/4 tank in my almera.ACETONE!

Postby kimolal » September 29th, 2008, 10:38 am

yes fellas it is true. i get 550 kms from 3/4 tank of premium in my almera and all i did was put 2 ounces of pure 100% acetone in my gas. the car also starts alot faster especially when cold, increased throttle response and an all round better working car. check out this url fellahs if alyuh feel i lying
http://www.pureenergysystems.com/news/2005/03/17/6900069_Acetone/
i does normally get bout 350-400kms from that same amout of gas. i have the qg16de. I tried it and it worked 4 me. nothing to loose fellas extensive research was done into this.

QG

Postby QG » September 29th, 2008, 12:21 pm

Interesting! Great research there...but I am a bit cautious though :| .

Postby Dave » September 29th, 2008, 12:37 pm

was it nail polish u used? (high acetone base)

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » September 29th, 2008, 1:21 pm

Dave,
kimolal wrote: 2 ounces of pure 100% acetone
http://www.pureenergysystems.com/news/2005/03/17/6900069_Acetone/

i goin and try this

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 29th, 2008, 3:35 pm

goes to bamboo to buy back a QG15DE :x

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » September 29th, 2008, 4:45 pm

Dread.......i going and try this too!!!!!!

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » September 29th, 2008, 4:45 pm

sounds interesting i think ah go try(btw what is acetone?)

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » September 29th, 2008, 4:53 pm

a chemical found in nail polish remover ........something like alcohol but different ......it in the link in the first post!!!

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » September 29th, 2008, 5:11 pm

u serious?! unreal...I would think that would cause problems internally :?: :|

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » September 29th, 2008, 9:58 pm

When one of allyuh finish all test project over few couple of months with no issues maybe I'll consider trying it too. Not!!! :skurred:
Its safer to consult with the manufacturer before throwing any chemicals in your fuel tank.

kimolal

Postby kimolal » September 30th, 2008, 8:08 am

fellas DONT USE NAIL POLISH. nail polish is only about 6 to 10% acetone. u need to use pure 100% acetone. u will get it in any hardware store. the research was done fellahs. if alyuh read it also increases ur octane level. Acetone is the main ingredient in paint thinner so dont let it touch ur paint. if u fellas so scared just throw in one ounce. i was supposed to use 4 ounces and i only use 2 and i get that kinda milage. i have 4 ounces in the tank right now and i use less than quarter tank and i do 120kms already. i real excited to see how far i go. RESEARCH was done fellahs they cut injectors in half and soaked it with 20 times the amount of acetone that u putting in ur tank for a month and more and no noticable changes were noted. try a small amt first. click on the url in my first message and take a read. U HAVE NOTHING TO LOOSE. IT IS WORKING 4 MEEEEEEE!!!!!!

EG_vtec

Postby EG_vtec » October 1st, 2008, 2:29 pm

i fraid yes :(

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 1st, 2008, 6:37 pm

^^me tooo.....

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 1st, 2008, 8:11 pm

I did some reading up on this ... seems it has some effect varies car by car engine to engine.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/van5VmJ1yno&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="349"></embed>

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » October 1st, 2008, 11:40 pm

Acetone has been around longer than nail polish. How come since the 2009 budget there is this revelation that it is this great octane booster ?
It is a very powerful solvent of types of plastic, and one must be wary of fuel system damage in the shorter than long term.

Cleaning fluid
Acetone is often the primary (or only) component in nail polish remover. Ethyl acetate, another organic solvent, is sometimes used as well. Acetone is also used as a superglue remover. It can be used for thinning and cleaning fiberglass resins and epoxies. It is a strong solvent for most plastics and synthetic fibres.
It is ideal for thinning fiberglass resin, cleaning fiberglass tools and dissolving two-part epoxies and superglue before hardening. A heavy-duty degreaser, it is useful in the preparation of metal prior to painting; it also thins polyester resins, vinyl and adhesives. It easily removes residues from glass and porcelain. In biological research contexts, buffers that contain acetone (such as citrate-buffered formalin) use the acetone to lyse cells for further experimentation.
Additionally, acetone is extremely effective when used as a cleaning agent when dealing with permanent markers.

Solvent
Acetone can also dissolve many plastics, including those used in Nalgene bottles made of polystyrene, polycarbonate and some types of polypropylene.
In the laboratory, acetone is used as a polar aprotic solvent in a variety of organic reactions, such as SN2 reactions. The use of acetone solvent is also critical for the successful Jones oxidation. Technical grade acetone is inexpensive. Because of acetone's medium polarity, it dissolves a wide range of compounds. Thus, it is commonly loaded into squeeze bottles and used as a general solvent in rinsing laboratory glassware.
Though flammable itself, acetone is also used extensively for the safe transporting and storing of acetylene in the mining industry. Vessels containing a porous material are first filled with acetone followed by acetylene, which dissolves into the acetone. One liter of acetone can dissolve around 250 liters of acetylene.

Automotive fuel additive
Some automotive enthusiasts add acetone at around 1 part in 500 to their fuel, following claims of dramatic improvement in fuel economy and engine life. This practice is controversial as the body of systematic testing shows that acetone has no measurable effect or may in fact reduce engine life by adversely affecting fuel system parts.
Debates on this subject and the perrenial claims of a "Big Oil" cover-up intensified when the practice was addressed on the popular American TV show MythBusters in 2006, and shown to have negative effect in the televised fuel economy test..

Toxicology

Acetone is an irritant and inhalation may lead to hepatotoxic effects (causing liver damage).[citation needed] The vapors should be avoided. In no circumstance should it be consumed directly or indirectly. Always use goggles when handling acetone; it can cause permanent eye damage (corneal clouding).[citation needed]
Small amounts of acetone are metabolically produced in the body, mainly from fat. In humans, fasting significantly increases its endogenous production (see ketosis). Acetone can be elevated in diabetes. Contamination of water, food (e.g. milk), or the air (acetone is volatile) can lead to chronic exposure to acetone. A number of acute poisoning cases have been described. Relatively speaking, acetone is not a very toxic compound; it can, however, damage the mucosa of the mouth and can irritate and damage skin. Accidental intake of large amounts of acetone may lead to unconsciousness and death.[citation needed]
The effects of long-term exposure to acetone are known mostly from animal studies. Kidney, liver, and nerve damage, increased birth defects, and lowered reproduction ability of males (only) occurred in animals exposed long-term. It is not known if these same effects would be exhibited in humans. Pregnant women should avoid contact with acetone and acetone fumes in order to avoid the possibility of birth defects, including brain damage.[citation needed]
Interestingly, acetone has been shown to have anticonvulsant effects in animal models of epilepsy, in the absence of toxicity, when administered in millimolar concentrations. It has been hypothesized that the high fat low carbohydrate ketogenic diet used clinically to control drug-resistant epilepsy in children works by elevating acetone in the brain.

kimolal

Postby kimolal » October 2nd, 2008, 10:41 am

forget that video!!!!!!!! i saw it already too. he added too much acetone. if u read the article on my first message the graph suggests that anything more than four ouces will increase fuel consumption. look at the video carefully. look at what he used to measure the actetone. WASTE OF TIME.

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 12:29 pm

ramishrrr wrote:Acetone has been around longer than nail polish. How come since the 2009 budget there is this revelation that it is this great octane booster ?
It is a very powerful solvent of types of plastic, and one must be wary of fuel system damage in the shorter than long term.

Toxicology

Acetone is an irritant and inhalation may lead to hepatotoxic effects (causing liver damage).[citation needed] The vapors should be avoided. In no circumstance should it be consumed directly or indirectly. Always use goggles when handling acetone; it can cause permanent eye damage (corneal clouding).[citation needed]

So basically if he burning it... Whoever driving behind him getting liver damage fuh sure... and if he encourage enough people all ah we go dead... U on the main road or highway?

Fella its not a conspiracy its why they took the lead out of fuels... Harmful effects to health from inhalation... as a secondary issue it will dissolve all your polymer plastics between your tank and engine that comes into contact with it.

Please don't kill me... I only scratch my records... not my car...

kimolal

Postby kimolal » October 2nd, 2008, 12:53 pm

stueps!!!!!!!!!!! i done yes. i show u all the proof. well alyuh full alyuh tank everyday nah man and i will fill mine once a week if so much. i use gloves and a covered measuring cylinder when using acetone. they did tests, they cut injectors in half and soaked them in acetone for months with no changes also in different types of rubber and still nothing. screw alyuh. how do u delete a post now!!!!!!!

Postby nervewrecker » October 2nd, 2008, 1:54 pm

kimolal, hoss, calm yuhself. go through with the experiment, lets see how it goes over the next few months, keep us updated.

but jus so you kno, these adds & vids you saw with injectors cut in half etc, they can be misleading. I suggest you do them yourself & see, soak a piece of hose in the liquid as well, see what happens.

call up a lab technician in uwi or something, get some advice.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » October 2nd, 2008, 2:54 pm

yeah keep us updated

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » October 2nd, 2008, 4:05 pm

i spoke to lab techs at utt .... like him i was very excited to hear about the gains ..but they said that substance is very harmfull to your engine with regards to rubber components such as hoses, valve seals, etc and the theory has been around a while..but go at your own expense......jus my 2cents....proceed :fist:

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » October 2nd, 2008, 4:54 pm

ramishrrr wrote:Acetone has been around longer than nail polish. How come since the 2009 budget there is this revelation that it is this great octane booster ?

Cleaning fluid
Acetone is often the primary (or only) component in nail polish remover. Ethyl acetate, another organic solvent, is sometimes used as well. Acetone is also used as a superglue remover. It can be used for thinning and cleaning fiberglass resins and epoxies. It is a strong solvent for most plastics and synthetic fibres.
It is ideal for thinning fiberglass resin, cleaning fiberglass tools and dissolving two-part epoxies and superglue before hardening. A heavy-duty degreaser, it is useful in the preparation of metal prior to painting; it also thins polyester resins, vinyl and adhesives. It easily removes residues from glass and porcelain. In biological research contexts, buffers that contain acetone (such as citrate-buffered formalin) use the acetone to lyse cells for further experimentation.
Additionally, acetone is extremely effective when used as a cleaning agent when dealing with permanent markers.

Solvent
Acetone can also dissolve many plastics, including those used in Nalgene bottles made of polystyrene, polycarbonate and some types of polypropylene.
In the laboratory, acetone is used as a polar aprotic solvent in a variety of organic reactions, such as SN2 reactions. The use of acetone solvent is also critical for the successful Jones oxidation. Technical grade acetone is inexpensive. Because of acetone's medium polarity, it dissolves a wide range of compounds. Thus, it is commonly loaded into squeeze bottles and used as a general solvent in rinsing laboratory glassware.
Though flammable itself, acetone is also used extensively for the safe transporting and storing of acetylene in the mining industry. Vessels containing a porous material are first filled with acetone followed by acetylene, which dissolves into the acetone. One liter of acetone can dissolve around 250 liters of acetylene.

Automotive fuel additive
Some automotive enthusiasts add acetone at around 1 part in 500 to their fuel, following claims of dramatic improvement in fuel economy and engine life. This practice is controversial as the body of systematic testing shows that acetone has no measurable effect or may in fact reduce engine life by adversely affecting fuel system parts.
Debates on this subject and the perrenial claims of a "Big Oil" cover-up intensified when the practice was addressed on the popular American TV show MythBusters in 2006, and shown to have negative effect in the televised fuel economy test..

Toxicology

Small amounts of acetone are metabolically produced in the body, mainly from fat. In humans, fasting significantly increases its endogenous production (see ketosis). Acetone can be elevated in diabetes. Contamination of water, food (e.g. milk), or the air (acetone is volatile) can lead to chronic exposure to acetone. A number of acute poisoning cases have been described. Relatively speaking, acetone is not a very toxic compound; it can, however, damage the mucosa of the mouth and can irritate and damage skin. Accidental intake of large amounts of acetone may lead to unconsciousness and death.[citation needed]
The effects of long-term exposure to acetone are known mostly from animal studies. Kidney, liver, and nerve damage, increased birth defects, and lowered reproduction ability of males (only) occurred in animals exposed long-term. It is not known if these same effects would be exhibited in humans. Pregnant women should avoid contact with acetone and acetone fumes in order to avoid the possibility of birth defects, including brain damage.[citation needed]
Interestingly, acetone has been shown to have anticonvulsant effects in animal models of epilepsy, in the absence of toxicity, when administered in millimolar concentrations. It has been hypothesized that the high fat low carbohydrate ketogenic diet used clinically to control drug-resistant epilepsy in children works by elevating acetone in the brain.

thank good for wikipedia and the idiots that run it

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 3rd, 2008, 7:41 am

kimolal wrote:stueps!!!!!!!!!!! i done yes. i show u all the proof. well alyuh full alyuh tank everyday nah man and i will fill mine once a week if so much. i use gloves and a covered measuring cylinder when using acetone. they did tests, they cut injectors in half and soaked them in acetone for months with no changes also in different types of rubber and still nothing. screw alyuh. how do u delete a post now!!!!!!!

Trinidrift and crew I agreeing with you that it works. The question is why isn't it used... Does it have anything to do with its toxicity? I keep asking and like kimolal its a head strong response of f##k allyuh it wukking! If everybody started using it and everybody's liver's began to fail sup with that? At the end of the day I'm sure that when you burn tires and rubber they take up less space than to store and burning them cheaper than recycling but we don't burn them because of the toxins/carcinogens that are released...

kimolal

Postby kimolal » October 3rd, 2008, 9:19 am

djcarbon i have a few choice words 4 u but i will keep it clean. please keep quiet if u dont know what u talking bout. read the link on my first message please if u can read. acetone actually helps to lower emissions eh padner. and it is proven i saw it 4 my self. i put some in my padner l200 mitusbishi diesel. i just put in two ounces for him and he is real happy. he said his van smoking alot less and starting quicker. it is in fact time to tune up his van. i did alot of research. it was used in brazil gas stations i think but it was blamed for causing damage to a lot of motorcycles. it is used in some injector cleaners in small amts cant remember which ones, i will have to get back to u all with that one. the danger comes when handling it, the process of putting it in ur gas tank. so be carefull fellas. anyhow alyuh doh have the balls to try it. i just paid 60k for my almera. it is my baby and i dont want anything to happen to it. i dont plan to use it everytime i fill up more like once a month n thing.UPDATE I AM AT A LITTLE OVER HALF TANK AND MY MILAGE IS 375. and that is with 4 ounces of acetone. i am sure i will get over six hundred this time. let me tell alyuh my route. ps... doh try to rub me i am poor hence why i try this to save gas. everyday i go from piarco to cunupia to pick up my girl then i join that traffic on the highway from cunupia and i go straight to pos, once my girl with me ac on as soon as she leave glass down. in the afternoon more or less the same thing. and i does drive hard eh. my foot heavy. i like to floor x when i overtaking. what more alyuh want!!!!!!!!!!!!

kevo

Postby kevo » October 3rd, 2008, 10:37 am

The acetone does work - but you really have to be careful with how much you're adding to your fuel - i have seen this stuff crystallize rubber hoses and seals already (the hoses become brittle and crack) ACETONE CAN DAMAGE RUBBER - However acetone is the main ingredient in some fuel treatments/ injector cleaners, and can be useful if used in the right concentration.

If you are going to use 100% acetone:

1stly find out the size of your fuel tank, and add suggested percentages accordingly - a cefiro and a yaris will not require the same ammount of additive.

2ndly ALWAYS add acetone (or any other fuel additive/treatment) to a FULL tank of gas.

As for daily drivers, who prefer to use "premium unleaded" because they question the octane content of "super" - I would be more concerned with the cleanliness of our "super unleaded" rather than the octane content (93 is fine for the average commuter), consult your manufacturer specs before you decide 93 octane is too low for your car.

Personally, I would use the acetone more as an injector cleaner - probably once every 2-3 fill ups.

Keep in mind - too low octane levels in high performance engines and turbocharged vehicles could lead to engine knock and premature detonation! again - CHECK YOUR MANUFACTURER'S SPECIFICATIONS!!!

As to acetone's toxicity and pollution:

Adding acetone decreases surface tension in your fuel, which leads to better fuel vaporization. Better fuel vaporization, gives rise to more complete combustion. This means less wasted fuel, more power, better gas mileage and LESS hydrocarbon emissions. Acetone actually reduces hydrocarbon emissions from your exhaust.

acetone combustion:
C3H6O(l) + 4O2(g) -> 3CO2(g) + 3H2O(g)

the only real health hazard of using acetone, is while you are actually adding it to your fuel tank.

Keep in mind the OSHA permissible exposure limit is 1000ppm :
"http://www.osha.gov/dts/chemicalsampling/data/CH_216600.html"

SO.............acetone does improve gas mileage and power and also reduces hydrocarbon emissions, BUT if used too often it can damage rubber components (hoses, seals etc.) in your engine. The questions are - how often is "too often" and how much is "too much" ???

Not enough reliable research and testing has been done on using 100% acetone as a fuel booster/additive - not enough for my comfort anyway.
So I feel safer to continue using the redline SI-1 every 2-3 fill ups.

my $0.02

:wink:

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 3rd, 2008, 10:44 am

Oooh choice words. Sorry jack I'll tell you like it is... School is really cool and reading is fundamental... The question son is not whether there is a lowering of carbon emissions... Its whether the burning acetone releases toxins... You did all this research like a Republican supporting the cause and I still am not saying anything about effects on your car I am asking about probable effects on health.

After inhaling acetone fumes or ingesting acetone, it enters the blood, which then carries it to all the organs in the body. If it is a small amount, the liver breaks it down to chemicals that are not harmful and uses these chemicals to make energy for normal body functions. Breathing moderate- to-high levels of acetone for short periods of time, however, can cause nose, throat, lung, and eye irritation; headaches; light-headedness; confusion; increased pulse rate; effects on blood; nausea; vomiting; unconsciousness and possibly coma; and shortening of the menstrual cycle in women.

http://www.worldofmolecules.com/solvents/acetone.htm

Have you come across any information about the health effects of inhaling burnt/combusted acetone? Nada mas... If possible could we have this exchange w/o toting feelings? I mean I maintain I do understand that acetone works. I have read the data as well. I just not feeling like poisining people so that I could save a few $$$. That's why in the US people get sued. I guess thank God this is Trini where EMA, Police, etc, wouldn't give a fcuk...

Blessings bro.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2008, 11:21 am

pple, allyuh turning the thread into an argument ched, stop gettin emo up in here, plz keep the info comming though......

kevo

Postby kevo » October 3rd, 2008, 11:40 am

again.............................

"acetone combustion:
C3H6O(l) + 4O2(g) -> 3CO2(g) + 3H2O(g)"

that is: acetone(liquid) plus oxygen(gaseous) under heat of combustion will give you carbon dioxide (gaseous) plus water (gaseous)

so to once more clarify for djcarbon, combusted acetone yields carbon dioxide and water, not that carbon dioxide is not a pollutant (it is) - but it is already contained in normal car exhaust, and i dont think that either carbon dixide or water in this application will poison anybody.

thanx for the blessing bro.

QG

Postby QG » October 3rd, 2008, 12:16 pm

Nice info ppl...i am really learning alot.

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 3rd, 2008, 2:51 pm

Thanks alot kevo now I will try it out... Information nah... Is a wonderful thing... I wasn't trying to be difficult but I not looking to save money at the greater cost of poisoning ppl... So now that that is over with its just the issue of possibly dissolving cheap plastics...

Good info though thanks.