SR20DE and QG18DE Transmission

QG

SR20DE and QG18DE Transmission

Postby QG » August 23rd, 2008, 12:46 pm

I just pulled this off a Nissan Sentra page...

"The 2000-2001 Sentra SE with the SR20DE"

"The 2000-2006 2.0L and 1.8L automatics use the RE4F03B transmission"

The 2.0 and 1.8 are the SR20DE and QG18DE respectfully.

Can any of you tech heads verify if the transmission code above is the same as the ones we use in the JDM?
The code given above is from a USDM.

Out Of Sight

Postby Out Of Sight » August 26th, 2008, 12:15 pm

I believe it is.
RE4F03B is also found on P12 QG18DE, QR20DE engine is using RE4F04B

QG

Postby QG » August 26th, 2008, 9:47 pm

I am going to do a crazy Turbo project...I will keep u posted on your PM ok.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 27th, 2008, 6:53 am

^^^ :twisted:

*nissan all the way*

Out Of Sight

Postby Out Of Sight » October 5th, 2008, 10:07 am

Maybe it's better to place a MT QG18DE tranny for this purpose.
Autos are kind of weak and won't be fun to drive.

QG

Postby QG » October 5th, 2008, 3:24 pm

Out Of Sight wrote:Maybe it's better to place a MT QG18DE tranny for this purpose.
Autos are kind of weak and won't be fun to drive.

Yup it's manual I will be going :D . But I want LSD :( so I was hoping that since the SR and QG shared the same type of auto tranny...maybe the the LSD gearbox may work with the QG18DE 8-) .

Or I might even go with a GA16DE LSD Gearbox instead if the SR gearbox is a hasle.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 5th, 2008, 4:35 pm

To use an SR gearbox on a QG15DE or a QG18DE you will have to fabricate a plate that will mate the SR gearbox Bell housing to the QG engine. This is expensive to do buddy. It will cost you. You have to take into consideration how the starter will bolt along with that also you will have to get the input shaft on the SR gearbox to fit the QG crank. Trust me saying it is easy but doing it is another thing. It will cost you less if you bought a QG18DE engine from an AD wagon or some other Nissan vehicle and buy a QG13DE manual swap which for some reason come most of the time with a lsd gearbox ( I'm sure you didn't know that huh :!: :wink: ) Sell the QG13 engine whole or in parts to make back some money and your good to go. :mrgreen:

Out Of Sight

Postby Out Of Sight » October 5th, 2008, 4:43 pm

Yes you can not use the SR gearbox but you can certainly use the same gearbox RS5F70A meant for the QG18DE. It's said that you can place the Nismo lsd in there from the RS5F32A boxes. The GA16DE is not as strong gearbox for the use you are planning.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 5th, 2008, 4:50 pm

If I ever had the chance again to do a new school project I would have gone with the QR25 engine with a basic turbo setup. That car would be very responsive with that kind of swap. The torque is sweet once everything electricaly wise is on point. If you are thinking of running alot of races on the track when we get a permanent home a QG turbo project will not net you what you are looking to achieve. Most you can do with out going standalone and some nice forged pistons and rods will be in the mid 14's at best. Along with that there is the reliability issue once the vehicle is a daily driver. To me your just giving away free money. If that's your objective you can pay me to do it for you :lol: :lol:

QG

Postby QG » October 6th, 2008, 1:08 pm

I always wanted to turbo those QR25 motors, especially those USDM 2007 200HP engine. But in Trinidad its kinda hard to get yuh hands on a QR25 motor :( .

I want a bring out a QG turbo in this country so bad, that is one of my set goals.
I already spoke with GT Racing and a few others on tuner for help and advices, by next year in God's name I will bring it out :D . This will be safe Picasso,...I am getting the AFC NEO (Apex-i) from GT Racing and I will be running a boost controller so that the engine don't run on high boosts on a daily basis.

It's costing some money, but say what...rather be safe than sorry. I did not know that LSD game with QG motors :shock: ...I will have to look into that :lol: .

Thanks for the advice :wink:

kai4576

Re: SR20DE and QG18DE Transmission

Postby kai4576 » June 19th, 2015, 5:21 pm

Can a qg18 gearbox work originally on an sr20. I heard so, I also heard that he ratios are better. On posts I've heard that the gear sets are the same. Is any of that true?

samos

Re: SR20DE and QG18DE Transmission

Postby samos » July 18th, 2015, 8:40 am

Rs5f70a (manual)non lsd gearbox which is found on the qg18,16,15 can work but u will have to obviously change the bellhousing