When and how to full gas

booz

When and how to full gas

Postby booz » June 18th, 2008, 10:39 am

does it make a difference when u full gas for instance fulling back up when d tank reaches half or waiting until u have quarter tank then to full up

i got this email jus now does it make any sense???

Only buy or fill up your car or truck in the early morning when the ground temperature is still cold.
Remember that all service stations have their storage tanks buried below ground. The colder the ground the more dense the gasoline, when it gets warmer gasoline expands, so buying in the afternoon or in the evening....your gallon is not exactly a gallon. In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and the temperature of the gasoline, diesel and jet fuel, ethanol and other petroleum products plays an important role. A 1-degree rise in temperature is a big deal for this business. But the service stations do not have temperature compensation at the pumps.

When you're filling up do not squeeze the trigger of the nozzle to a fast mode.
If you look you will see that the trigger has three (3) stages: low, middle, and high. You should be pumping on low mode, thereby minimizing the vapors that are created while you are pumping. All hoses at the pump have a vapor return. If you are pumping on the fast rate, some of the liquid that goes to your tank becomes vapor. Those vapors are being sucked up and back into the underground storage tank so you're getting less worth for your money.

One of the most important tips is to fill up when your gas tank is HALF FULL.
The reason for this is the more gas you have in your tank the less air occupying its empty space. Gasoline evaporates faster than you can imagine. Gasoline storage tanks have an internal floating roof. This roof serves as zero clearance between the gas and the atmosphere, so it minimizes the evaporation. Unlike service stations, here where I work,
every truck that we load is temperature compensated so that every gallon is actually the exact amount.

Another reminder, if there is a gasoline truck pumping into the storage tanks when you stop to buy gas, DO NOT fill up; most likely the gasoline is being stirred up as the gas is being delivered, and you might pick up some of the dirt that normally settles on the bottom.

IDRC

Postby IDRC » June 18th, 2008, 8:22 pm

am pal this real old. this is an old internet forward
:repost:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 18th, 2008, 8:45 pm

good info nevertheless

RNN14

Postby RNN14 » June 19th, 2008, 1:55 pm

Thanks man never seen it before!

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 19th, 2008, 3:10 pm

Technically i have to agree with the findings

GANESH

Postby GANESH » June 19th, 2008, 9:01 pm

cool!! i didn't know this!! thanks for the heads up!! :mrgreen:

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » June 20th, 2008, 6:03 am

Good info son!

smoha'd2674

Postby smoha'd2674 » June 20th, 2008, 7:58 am

good info thanks

monstas23

Postby monstas23 » June 22nd, 2008, 10:51 am

they say never too young to learn..... thanx cuz

achillies

Postby achillies » June 23rd, 2008, 6:10 pm

thanks for this
hope i see the difference

NST

Postby NST » June 24th, 2008, 9:50 am

^^ you probably won't....but as the guy said this ais an old FW mail with very little substance

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » June 25th, 2008, 11:40 pm

doh believe every piece of crap u get in an email forward...
how are the vapors sucked back into the underground tank when the tank have a floating surface thing to prevent the gas from evaporating..nex thing is how they gonna convert the vapors back into liquid unless the tank have some kinda refrigeration system...
the contraction and expansion on your 100 dollars of gas mean what..how much value in gas u really saving? two drops? a cup that worth a dollar?

most likely some doofus got a little bit of info or two and fabricate something fantastic sounding..and i emphasize the SOUNDING part

NST

Postby NST » June 26th, 2008, 9:30 am

sham1984, yuh have the idea sorta...but in a gas stataion, the tank does not have an open floating roof. It is however very well insulated...so the gas does remain a t a farily constant temperature. To "unflash" (vapour --> liquid) a small temperature drop would be sufficient.

At the end of the day its about how you drive...so what if the gas station system robs you a $2....driving like a BUGWAAANAAA to show the chic in the car you bad like that going to cost a whole lot more

Racegod

Postby Racegod » June 26th, 2008, 11:09 am

physics 101....

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » July 7th, 2008, 10:42 pm

my point is that the article while it has a little sense, that is all it is...a LITTLE sense... the rest is fabricated crap

which brings into perspective another stupid thing people commonly say
"If you full the tank to the top, the gas does run out slower"

people ever conside that the fuel meter down inside the tank? and if you full the tank right up the cap, all that fuel in the tube have to burn out before the fuel level reach the top level mark of the fuel meter?

brian_h

Postby brian_h » July 9th, 2008, 10:25 pm

technicaly early morning fillup has to do with the property of the fuel itself so that is cooler less mass more volume more fuel

brian_h

Postby brian_h » July 9th, 2008, 10:27 pm

also risk of more condensation from tank in station