problem: idle issues with vvl primera

firehead..

problem: idle issues with vvl primera

Postby firehead.. » May 30th, 2008, 12:42 am

yeah the car has been doin this since i changed the head....at idle the rpm keeps bouncing....it had went away for a while and the car was runnin like ah beast but jus so it start bk and car lazy to pull off an ting now again..my a/f guage sayin at idle i burning rich and also when driving..even though i eh mash d X to the floor....cleaned trottle body & adjusted voltage, injectors,aac etc already....

any ideas?

Whey krack korn dey?....

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » May 30th, 2008, 9:00 am

bump

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » May 30th, 2008, 10:13 am

was the head shaved and is the timing set properly?

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » May 30th, 2008, 12:40 pm

nope the head wasnt shaved....the timing good...

a padnah was sying if the egr not working properly it could cause this...is that tru?....

where is the egr located on the ve?

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » June 2nd, 2008, 8:11 am

bump

pug306

Postby pug306 » June 2nd, 2008, 8:36 am

i'm pretty sure the SR20VE doesn't do egr and doesn't have an egr valve.

check your MAF sensor though

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 2nd, 2008, 1:13 pm

or o2 sensor...

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » June 2nd, 2008, 4:03 pm

thanx fellas..i'll take a look at those and let u know what happens

Furlz

Postby Furlz » June 2nd, 2008, 8:31 pm

It sounding like the vvl has stuck.
Easy way to find out, unplug the harness it and and just connect and unconnect it directly to a power source.
If it's NOT stuck you will hear a clicking noise when you power it on/off i.e. the vvl coming on and off.

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » June 3rd, 2008, 11:41 pm

Furlz, i can do that with the car off rite?....seeing how im using an idependant power source....i guess i can jus use two wires off the car battery rite?....which wire is the positve and negitive on the solenoids?

i tried to check the MAF sensor today.....well i checked to see which one is ground, by doin a continuity check on each pin to ground.(WITH CAR OFF)....So the ground was the middle wire.....then i checked between the wire on the right and a ground on the block and got no reading....then i checked the one on the left and was getting about 2mV according to my cheap meter....but here's the thing....When i got the 2mV on the meter...each time i would get that reading, the car's idle would drop lower until eventually it would cut off....

sumone plzz explain if i did sumtin wrong...

and well the oxygen sensor iz ah new one...installed bout 3 months now, when the blasted muffler ppl damaged the original one :( :( ......According to meh lil pro-sport guage dey it seems to be working good....cycling as usual.....but ah gettin a reading the car bunnin rich at any speed no matter how soft ah mash the x-pedel......but i doubt its the sensor goin bad....when the car workin good it doesnt be goin in the rich part of the scale jus so....

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 4th, 2008, 12:47 am

problem is air if you are readin rich right through...check the wires to the maf plug..take out the orange clip on the plug an check an maek sure each wire is in contact..sometimes from reverse 2 drive the car bucks an pulls one of the wires loose..its worth a shot.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 4th, 2008, 6:37 am

Have you checked the distributor timing, plugs for signs of leaning or being in a rich state. Check simple things first, then check things like the TPS, MAF voltages after. When you swapped the head did you also remove your old TPS and put it on the new head? I suggest you do that if you can along with whatever like solenoids and whatnot. Let me know how the search goes.

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » June 4th, 2008, 5:18 pm

kool...i will keep u all informed....but i still at work, so i will have to check those things tomorrow....

and no i didnt swap the throttle body off the old head wth the new head.....i will definitly do that tomorrow....

as for later i will check, the plugs etc.

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » June 4th, 2008, 11:07 pm

spark plugs checked..the irradiums seem to be in good condition....ah jus hit them sum crc and ah put dem bk in.....

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » June 9th, 2008, 8:03 am

ok, well ah tink iz time ah go get a diagnostic...i officially frustrated wid this ting....swapped out the parts as u said TriniGT { throttle body, aac valve, distributer etc. from the old head} and im still having the same problem...What else can i check on my own?....When the car is workin sheity like dis it tends to be real noiser than usual when drivinjg also....

anymore ideas fellas?....