Almera Buring Rich

Posted: May 16th, 2008, 7:55 am
by V2NR 3.0
Good Day,

One of my partners is having a problem with his car. The car is a manual amlera 2003. There is a problem of heavy gas consumption as well as burning rich.

Anything can be done to adjust this problem ?

Posted: May 16th, 2008, 8:12 am
by Dave
most likely air flow meter

Posted: May 16th, 2008, 11:25 am
by turbohead
an doa general service also. lack or air or fuel cud cause a rich problem....but wait there is something i learnt bout these cars, well the b15 atleast, wen yuh changin fr reverse 2 drive the engine rocks an that causes the wires in the air flow sensor to release fr the contacts, it dont have to be air flow meter you cud also check dat

Posted: May 18th, 2008, 9:24 am
by Rx
Dave wrote:most likely air flow meter

yup 8-)

have it serviced asap

Posted: May 24th, 2008, 10:40 pm
by RadDogJr
Anyone think of checking the fuel filter assembly under the back seat? Take the car in for a service. Check air filter also.

Posted: May 24th, 2008, 10:41 pm
by RadDogJr
Anyone think of checking the fuel filter assembly under the back seat? Take the car in for a service. Check air filter also.

Posted: May 25th, 2008, 7:42 am
by LedZep
how u know its running rich?

Posted: May 25th, 2008, 8:30 am
by Snyper
the gas filter in the tank should be changed every 70,000 km

Posted: May 25th, 2008, 8:23 pm
by EG_vtec
is the gas filter easy to change

Almera problem

Posted: May 25th, 2008, 9:12 pm
by RadDogJr
The filter is easy to change. There is a fuse that prevents the engine from tumbling in the fuse box just under your dash on the driver's side. I can't remember if its a 10A or 15A. Once you remove it and try tumbling a few times it will depressure your fuel lines. Once you've don that remove your back seat, disconnect hoses from fuel filter assembly, remove cover, pull out filter, replace with new, re-assemble assembly, re-insert fuse and you're on your way. I own a 1600 manual Almera and tried it once already. If you encounter problems try checking a mechanic or service shop.

Re: Almera problem

Posted: May 25th, 2008, 10:03 pm
by Cjruckus
RadDogJr wrote:The filter is easy to change. There is a fuse that prevents the engine from tumbling in the fuse box just under your dash on the driver's side. I can't remember if its a 10A or 15A. Once you remove it and try tumbling a few times it will depressure your fuel lines. Once you've don that remove your back seat, disconnect hoses from fuel filter assembly, remove cover, pull out filter, replace with new, re-assemble assembly, re-insert fuse and you're on your way. I own a 1600 manual Almera and tried it once already. If you encounter problems try checking a mechanic or service shop.

or you could do it the easy way and take the Negative Terminal off of the battery.

But oncce the 4 Pin jack from ontop of the Float Assembly is taken off, there is no power running to the fuel pump, so tumbling won't be a problem.

Posted: May 26th, 2008, 12:28 am
by RadDogJr
Yep you can also take the negative terminaloff of the battery. That's one of the steps I forgot there Cjruckus but how's he going to depressure the fuel line to prevent him from spilling gasoline all over the back of his car :?: :?

Posted: May 31st, 2008, 12:28 am
by Cjruckus
The line doesn't even need to be removed from the float assembly to change the fuel filter. You can take it off if you want.

Or you can relieve the pressure from removing the hose on the fuel rail, and catch the gas in a container. Thats what I do when I'm cleaning my injectors anyway. Which is usually done when i'm changing my fuel filter.