P12 PRIMERA NEEDS ASSISTANCE!!!!!!!

centralized(m)

P12 PRIMERA NEEDS ASSISTANCE!!!!!!!

Postby centralized(m) » May 10th, 2008, 8:12 pm

YEA PPL HAVE A P12 PRIMERA HERE WELL ITS MY DAD OWN AND I FIND SUMTING WRONG WITH IT...........QG20 engine,i dont think its CVT!!!

1. ANYTIME THE CAR STARTS THE RPM SHOOTS UP DEN LIKE DROPS SHARPLY SO SHARPLY DAT THE CAR SHUUDER LIKES IT WANNA CUT OFF FOR A FEW SECONDS....( AND ACTUALLY IT DOES CUT OFF AT TIMES. HAPPENS USUALLY IF THE AIR IS NOT ON AS THE CAR STARTS)

2. NOW WHILE DRIVING (COMAPRED TO B4 NO NOISE AS SUCH) NOW IM HEARING A DEEP WHIRRING OR HUMMING SOUND AS THE X IS MASHED AND CAR ACCELRATING....ITS MORE LIKE DAT SOUND AND A GRINDING NOISE 2GETHER )SEEMS TO COME FROM ENGINE AREA OR UNDER CAR)

3. WHILE CHANGING GEARS ESPECAILLY THE 2ND GEAR AND 3RD GEAR THE CAR CHANGES IT VERY ROUGH...U ACTUALLY GET LIKE A SHARP JERK WHILE CHANGING GEARS COMPARED TO B4!

4. NOTICEABLE DROP IN RPM DAT HIGH SPEEDS SUCH AS 100-120 KMPH (CAR FEELS LIKE IT FIGHTING TO KEEP THE SPEED. RPM DROPS FAST WEN X IS UN-MASHED)

I LOVE THIS CAR TOO BAD AND WANNA SEE IT IN GOOD ORDER AS I LIKE TO BUN PPL UP WITH THE QUICK 0-60/100 TIME DIS CAR HAS!!!!!!(I WONDER IF DAT FELLA WITH THE RX-8 SEEIN DIS) LOL.OTHERWISE THE CAR IS TUNE UP REGUALRLY AND ALL FUILDS E.T.C CHANGED ON TIME BUT PROBLEM STILL PERSIST...SO CAN ANY1 SHED LIGHT ON THE PROBLEM AND IF ITS SERIOUS....AS I KNOW DESE CARS ARE VERY SENSITIVE AND NEED GOOD CARE. THANKS!!!!!

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » May 10th, 2008, 8:18 pm

lol...srry qr20de engine

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 10th, 2008, 8:29 pm

if the gears are changing rough it could be electrical
any way go get it scanned

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » May 10th, 2008, 8:50 pm

how much for them scanning and where can i get a good scan for a good price?????

and scanning looks at everything rite from engine to electrical???

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 10th, 2008, 9:38 pm

centralized(m) wrote: scanning looks at everything rite from engine to electrical???
well its a start

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 11th, 2008, 9:21 am

all diagnostics can be performed using the in car DVD screen

download the FSM

The CVT doesnt change gears like a normal tranny, is it tiptronic?

rmspower

Postby rmspower » May 11th, 2008, 11:18 am

Check this link

http://www.mediafire.com/?dyzhbsdg9dc

if the link does not work, i have the manual, you can PM me and we can organize to get it burn.

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » May 11th, 2008, 11:34 am

nah nah dis model dont have the dvd player!!! so i think i will have to use the normal scanning procedure!!!

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » May 11th, 2008, 11:35 am

thanks by the way rmspower,

QG

Postby QG » May 11th, 2008, 9:20 pm

Jerking of gears, check yuh Transmission and Engine mounts. And the tranny dont comes CVT for the QR20 P12 version.
Run a computer scan for the RPM trouble, let us know your progress.

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » May 12th, 2008, 12:21 pm

P12 Primera with QR20 DOES come with the CVT transmission. Either that or my P12 is special. With regard to the problem centralized(m) is having, I had something similar, RPM running high or instantly dropping and not accelerating at times. It turned out to be a sensor on the transmission. Diagnostic cost $200, sensor: $900. Hope this helps.

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » May 12th, 2008, 3:06 pm

ok ok cool man thanks....yea yea some p12 QR20 have CVT also it have a 2.5 version called SSS i think....

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » May 16th, 2008, 9:21 pm

P12 Primera with QR20 DOES come with the CVT transmission.

yeah it does..

i think CVT is reallll trouble..
my mom's p12 no problems yet

but my padna P12 and our last p11 gave REAL trouble..
CVT tranny is de worst..

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » May 16th, 2008, 10:25 pm

lol....is not d worst is once u take care of it!!!! cvt is d ting self u can get serious acceleration from that tranny compared to a normal one! smoother too....(lol except ours)

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 17th, 2008, 7:58 am

sounds like tranny problems

Re: P12 PRIMERA NEEDS ASSISTANCE!!!!!!!

Postby Cjruckus » May 17th, 2008, 10:05 pm

centralized(m) wrote:2. NOW WHILE DRIVING (COMAPRED TO B4 NO NOISE AS SUCH) NOW IM HEARING A DEEP WHIRRING OR HUMMING SOUND AS THE X IS MASHED AND CAR ACCELRATING....ITS MORE LIKE DAT SOUND AND A GRINDING NOISE 2GETHER )SEEMS TO COME FROM ENGINE AREA OR UNDER CAR)

The Rough Grating noise could be a worn and busted front bearing. Front wheel bearings are relatively cheap and pretty easy to replace. The P12 carries a fairly big sealed single piece bearing, however, like most Nissans, usually needs to be replaced fairly quickly.

Have your mechanic check the spindles and front hubs. Damage could be caused by something as simple as water getting into the bearing. Usually when the bearings are dying you hear a humming noise and feel the roughness as you accelerate.

A good bearing for the P12 would run about 150 -250 depending on where you buy.

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » May 18th, 2008, 1:23 am

not so sure bout the grinding sound, sounds like something mechanical..Cjruckus gave you some food for thought there

Have you changed any parts recently?

With RPM dropping it can be a sensor problem,

I changed a power steering hose and the sensor pin was damaged by a mechanic and forced the car to stall in safe mode with it at times sending the engine fault light and the car shutting down at low RPM's ,I changed the sensor and never had any issues

A proper scan can determin this

also the TPS sensor is a problem that alot of the newer nissans have with the electronic trottle
I so far never experienced that but it is something to look at from what I researched

With regards to the p12 not being CVT..mine is and all that I know of with the exception of the GT is CVT...I can be wrong

Shane_qr20

Postby Shane_qr20 » May 18th, 2008, 9:28 am

Hey guys i need some help. Going crazy, bought a Primera wagong rollon rolloff in February 2008. Qr20 engine. TV, CD, DVD rom. Everything is in chinese on the display. Is there anyway to change the language?

Also, I downloaded that manual and now i am scared to carry my ride by any garage to do work on the car. eg. Oil change etc. Do you guys know where i can have these things done?

Ps. I am a newby to trinituner. But you guys are really doing great stuff. Keep up the good work.

Shane.

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » July 26th, 2008, 8:03 pm

hey still aint finding time to go do the scan and stuff but with more problems adding im guessing the problems can be sorted out better! LOL the only thing that was fixed is the bearing,strut rod bushing and stuff now no noise and it running fairly smoother....now with respect to the engine now which have gotten a little worse

1. wen starting the car it just revs and cutt off only like if the a/c on or if i mash the gas the idle stays up and the car idling normal. (normally happens wen the car jus warmed up or reaching operating temp)

2. well i dunno but is this suppose to happen but if the car idling and u open the cap where u put in the engine oil does the engine den run like if wants to cutt off den start to idle normal. (also i notice that once the car warm the oil level reading is not where it suppose to be but reading oil levels past the hot mark on the stick)...mind u im using castrol synthetic

SO ANY HELP WILL BE APPRECIATED!!!! just wanna know so i can accurately tell the mechanic wat goin on and at least i kno b4 hand wat going on!

oohhhh and also does k&n fliters mark their logo on their filters as i open the primera air box and saw a red square filter but is like the same red as the k&n but it didnt mark dat on it so just wondering!!!!

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » July 29th, 2008, 8:16 am

anyone??????????

vodka

Postby vodka » July 29th, 2008, 8:04 pm

yo anyone have an english manual for cd player..and dislplay setting on the console???

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » July 30th, 2008, 10:30 am

anyone plz offer some advice from my last post

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » July 30th, 2008, 10:58 am

yea my model is hyper CVT ......lol i beleive is he cvt tranny and a mount that giving trouble as i also notice that the tranny level is low...lower than the grilled looking part (cold i think) on the dipstick..also since it is cvt what is he known issues of this tranny in the primera and how is is solved.

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » September 27th, 2008, 11:04 am

yea now what can be the additional reasons for this "new problem"
When the car is put into reverse and its moving you are now hearing a kinda grinding/ whining noise and its loud!! Also you hear the noise wen the car is in drive but not all the time and is slightly lower than wen in reverse! What can be the problem?

Also in a primera the tranny dipstick has 2 markings line 1 set is lower, other is a little higher then a little gridlined box on top. Where on the dipstick should be the tranny fluid? Cause mine is inbetween the two lines but i have a feeling it should be by the grided box tingy as maximum wen engine is warm? where is the marking normally be primera fellas!

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » September 29th, 2008, 1:55 pm

well i went to the mech. and he say is the tranny going tru due to the noise while reversing and the noise while driving!!! Also today i notice my 3rd gear is sticking wen i was going to the mech. so i believe that is it for the life of the cvt tranny!! wat alluh tink? Which is better???
--->> a repair job for $5000 or a foreign used one for $9000?? Wat can be done to prolong the life of the new cvt tranny?? and can anyone get one cheaper than dat??

kingabdullah

Postby kingabdullah » December 31st, 2008, 11:37 am

centralized(m) wrote:4. NOTICEABLE DROP IN RPM DAT HIGH SPEEDS SUCH AS 100-120 KMPH (CAR FEELS LIKE IT FIGHTING TO KEEP THE SPEED. RPM DROPS FAST WEN X IS UN-MASHED)

I dont find das that fast

vodka

Postby vodka » May 19th, 2010, 8:52 am

looking for a QR20 4WD to buy!!!!for p12 primera

centralized(m)

Postby centralized(m) » May 19th, 2010, 9:00 am

I have a QG18DE for sale Sliver P12... it dont have 4wd p12 primera but it has those with the qr20 engine.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 19th, 2010, 11:07 am

that CVT tranny isnt 9000 !! WTF !!

my co worker got one from the bamboo for 4000 dread for his p12 primera

and all of the p12s with the qr20de comes with CVT

Mayaroman

Postby Mayaroman » May 19th, 2010, 11:34 am

centralized sorry for bumming of ya tread but .... i have a P12 primera.. QG18... not CVT... and i have the same problem of the car stalling and wanting to cut off and actually cutting of when i start.... the same happens when i decellerate rapidly...it stalls.... i thinking it could be some kinda sensor.. i dont know... help needed... thanks..