Nissan HP ratings
Posted: March 26th, 2008, 3:29 pm
by ek4ever
Read this somewhere before and wanted to know if there was any truth to it......apparently Nissan understates the performance of their engines.
What say you?
Posted: March 30th, 2008, 3:41 pm
by QG
Not too sure what you're talking about, but Japanese Domestic Market (JDM) are not supposed to advertise vehicles hp exceeding 276hp (206kw) due to Gentleman's Agreement.
Example: Skyline has been tested on a dyno to reach 325hp factory stock and Nissan advertised it as 276hp...same goes for Toyota, Mistsubishi etc.
Hope this is what u meant

Posted: March 30th, 2008, 8:20 pm
by Conrad
^^^ That's what I know as well. But isn't that a thing of the past or am I mixing it up with the European vehicles more specifically the Germans?
Posted: March 31st, 2008, 10:57 am
by honda hoe
ek4ever, they don't. they just don't perform

Posted: March 31st, 2008, 8:46 pm
by Racers Edge
hoe.... somebody go cuss u out so bad 1 ah deez days...... but what yuh said is true.....Honda4eva
Posted: March 31st, 2008, 10:20 pm
by ek4ever
Nissan QG15DE wrote:Not too sure what you're talking about, but Japanese Domestic Market (JDM) are not supposed to advertise vehicles hp exceeding 276hp (206kw) due to Gentleman's Agreement.
Example: Skyline has been tested on a dyno to reach 325hp factory stock and Nissan advertised it as 276hp...same goes for Toyota, Mistsubishi etc.
Hope this is what u meant

actually I meant that for example Nissan would say 115hp but the motor really was stronger than that....the reason I ask is that Nissan engines always feel stronger than what's written on the spec chart.
Posted: March 31st, 2008, 10:30 pm
by ek4ever
Conrad wrote:^^^ That's what I know as well. But isn't that a thing of the past or am I mixing it up with the European vehicles more specifically the Germans?
Well don't know about the Europeans but it often seems that way . I remember Mike Kojima saying something to this effect on Nissanperformancemag.
Posted: April 3rd, 2008, 7:22 pm
by QG
Hmm, i wonder why Nissan would do that? I have to investigate this matter, thanks for posting it up ek4ever,.
Posted: April 3rd, 2008, 8:49 pm
by cacasplat3
i know about the gentleman's agreement....but thats over now though.......
other than that cant say about the power of other vehicles......
Posted: April 3rd, 2008, 10:06 pm
by FullStop
some are under rated and some are actually overrated, the qg series were grossly overrated and nissan actually got into trouble for that in america, especially the qg18.
Posted: April 4th, 2008, 7:29 am
by wagonrunner
ek4ever wrote:the reason I ask is that Nissan engines always feel stronger than what's written on the spec chart.
your ass dyno wukking fadda!!!
what does 87HP feel like as opposed to 90hp?
Posted: April 4th, 2008, 9:11 pm
by FullStop
HA HA ass dyno, lol good one
Posted: April 5th, 2008, 11:10 am
by honda hoe
Posted: April 12th, 2008, 2:28 pm
by QG
Posted: April 18th, 2008, 3:25 pm
by kevin@3ne_tuner
Posted: April 19th, 2008, 11:28 am
by honda hoe
Posted: April 19th, 2008, 4:15 pm
by NiSmO-R
wagonrunner wrote:ek4ever wrote:the reason I ask is that Nissan engines always feel stronger than what's written on the spec chart.
your ass dyno wukking fadda!!!
what does 87HP feel like as opposed to 90hp?
SEAT OF THE PANTS DYNO....the more ass hair you have the better! they pickup up horsepower in 0.1 increments!
Only reason I could see for doing it was to avoid taxes in Japan... for eg Nissan often doesn't make the new model of a car any longer than the old one to stay within one tax bracket.....but remember how Americans think bigger is better if Nissan was really doing this when the engines came over to America they would have defintely advertised the true power to appeal to that market but the SR20 AND VQ35 AND VG30DETT etc make the same power as they do in the JDM....