Nissan HP ratings

ek4ever

Nissan HP ratings

Postby ek4ever » March 26th, 2008, 3:29 pm

Read this somewhere before and wanted to know if there was any truth to it......apparently Nissan understates the performance of their engines.

What say you?

QG

Postby QG » March 30th, 2008, 3:41 pm

Not too sure what you're talking about, but Japanese Domestic Market (JDM) are not supposed to advertise vehicles hp exceeding 276hp (206kw) due to Gentleman's Agreement.
Example: Skyline has been tested on a dyno to reach 325hp factory stock and Nissan advertised it as 276hp...same goes for Toyota, Mistsubishi etc.

Hope this is what u meant :| .

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 30th, 2008, 8:20 pm

^^^ That's what I know as well. But isn't that a thing of the past or am I mixing it up with the European vehicles more specifically the Germans?

Postby honda hoe » March 31st, 2008, 10:57 am

ek4ever, they don't. they just don't perform :lol:

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » March 31st, 2008, 8:46 pm

hoe.... somebody go cuss u out so bad 1 ah deez days...... but what yuh said is true.....Honda4eva

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 31st, 2008, 10:20 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:Not too sure what you're talking about, but Japanese Domestic Market (JDM) are not supposed to advertise vehicles hp exceeding 276hp (206kw) due to Gentleman's Agreement.
Example: Skyline has been tested on a dyno to reach 325hp factory stock and Nissan advertised it as 276hp...same goes for Toyota, Mistsubishi etc.

Hope this is what u meant :| .

actually I meant that for example Nissan would say 115hp but the motor really was stronger than that....the reason I ask is that Nissan engines always feel stronger than what's written on the spec chart.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 31st, 2008, 10:30 pm

Conrad wrote:^^^ That's what I know as well. But isn't that a thing of the past or am I mixing it up with the European vehicles more specifically the Germans?

Well don't know about the Europeans but it often seems that way . I remember Mike Kojima saying something to this effect on Nissanperformancemag.

QG

Postby QG » April 3rd, 2008, 7:22 pm

Hmm, i wonder why Nissan would do that? I have to investigate this matter, thanks for posting it up ek4ever,.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 3rd, 2008, 8:49 pm

i know about the gentleman's agreement....but thats over now though.......
other than that cant say about the power of other vehicles......

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 3rd, 2008, 10:06 pm

some are under rated and some are actually overrated, the qg series were grossly overrated and nissan actually got into trouble for that in america, especially the qg18.

Postby wagonrunner » April 4th, 2008, 7:29 am

ek4ever wrote:the reason I ask is that Nissan engines always feel stronger than what's written on the spec chart.

your ass dyno wukking fadda!!!

what does 87HP feel like as opposed to 90hp?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 4th, 2008, 9:11 pm

HA HA ass dyno, lol good one

Postby honda hoe » April 5th, 2008, 11:10 am

wagonrunner, :lol: :lol: :lol: oh gorm

QG

Postby QG » April 12th, 2008, 2:28 pm

Nissan playing dead to catch Honda alive :D :lol: :lol:

kevin@3ne_tuner

Postby kevin@3ne_tuner » April 18th, 2008, 3:25 pm

Nissan rule 0X :fist: :lol:

Postby honda hoe » April 19th, 2008, 11:28 am

:roll: :roll: :roll:

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » April 19th, 2008, 4:15 pm

ek4ever wrote:the reason I ask is that Nissan engines always feel stronger than what's written on the spec chart.

your ass dyno wukking fadda!!!

what does 87HP feel like as opposed to 90hp?

SEAT OF THE PANTS DYNO....the more ass hair you have the better! they pickup up horsepower in 0.1 increments!

Only reason I could see for doing it was to avoid taxes in Japan... for eg Nissan often doesn't make the new model of a car any longer than the old one to stay within one tax bracket.....but remember how Americans think bigger is better if Nissan was really doing this when the engines came over to America they would have defintely advertised the true power to appeal to that market but the SR20 AND VQ35 AND VG30DETT etc make the same power as they do in the JDM....