Page 1 of 2

To the NA Stage for QG16 and QG18

Posted: March 22nd, 2008, 10:31 pm
by Leech
Hello Folks around the globe, a newbie just logged on. Its my honor to start a topic of NA tuning for our QG engines. Hope can find more useful informations from the experts around.

First of all i introduce myself. Name is Leech... haha. Currently owning a N16 with QG16DE, auto. I already installed a full set of exhaust system (including extractor), drop in filter element, VS and Ignition system. I get a better acceleration after all the modifies. I'm currently stick to NA until the engine clocked at 80k km on odo. So any1 can share his NA tuning ?

Posted: March 22nd, 2008, 11:01 pm
by cacasplat3
got a QG15 in a B15, never did anything to it except change oil, it has e-throttle and that has lots and lots of lag, the engine performs well for a 1.5 and the economy is great.......no problems with the engine so far..........hope to keep it stock, but i might boost and tune it if i still have it in the next couple of years :lol:

Posted: March 23rd, 2008, 3:01 am
by Leech
hey man, Wat is E-throtle u mentioned back there ?

Posted: March 23rd, 2008, 1:50 pm
by Alpha_2nr
I get a better acceleration after all the modifies. I'm currently stick to NA until the engine clocked at 80k km on odo. So any1 can share his NA tuning ?

Quantified HP gains on a dyno?

hey man, Wat is E-throtle u mentioned back there ?

The E-throttle feature is part of the new QG series engine (2003+).

These engines carry a Drive-by-wire setup for the accelerator/throttle...which doesn't use an accelerator cable like the older engines....but rather a purely electrical setup. These engines also feature CVTC (Valve timing control) for a better low end response.

Posted: March 25th, 2008, 3:50 pm
by ArabKing2
Leech, What ignition system and VS you used on your QG1.6?

Posted: March 25th, 2008, 4:08 pm
by Rodn3y
^^ what is VS?

Posted: March 27th, 2008, 11:23 am
by Leech
Yo folks , regarding the question , i'm using Pivot (blue) Volt Stablizier , Imperial Concept Power Discharged ignition system ... Well these 2 items does give me a little more pickup speed from standstill :)

By the way i'm from Southeast Asia , Malaysia ...

Posted: April 16th, 2008, 9:00 am
by Leech
Knight1 wrote:
I get a better acceleration after all the modifies. I'm currently stick to NA until the engine clocked at 80k km on odo. So any1 can share his NA tuning ?

Quantified HP gains on a dyno?

Dude ... I don really go dyno out ... i don't think i need to go for dyno cause the gain from these mods aren't really big comparing to stock ...

Posted: April 16th, 2008, 9:03 am
by Leech
Hey guys , just wan a second opinion ... How would it be if i replaced the QG16DE ECU with a QG18DE ECU and Emanage it ?? Will it be better than just Emanaging QG16DE ECU ... Coz i found out some1 in this forum mentioned that this modification is possible ... Thanks :)

Posted: April 28th, 2008, 8:13 pm
by ArabKing2
Hey Leech What extrators size piping you have on? and did you see any power gain when you installed them? Thinking about getting some for my QG1.6

Posted: April 28th, 2008, 10:11 pm
by Leech
Its 1.5" Internal Diameter nad 1.75" External ... Yeah just install the extractor alone definitely there's performance gain ... Don worry can just head down in exhaust shop then they have ready products for u to choose ... I think overseas exhaust shop do a better job then in Malaysia ... :?

Posted: April 29th, 2008, 6:54 am
by ArabKing2
I saw 2.5" extractors for sale on tuner here. So i was wondering if to buy those. But someone told me that they are for the QG1.8 Engines so i am a little skeptical in getting those.

Posted: April 29th, 2008, 9:27 am
by Rodn3y
Leech, did u have your extractors made or did you buy it from an aftermarket company?

Posted: May 3rd, 2008, 4:38 am
by Leech
I bought it ... Its not stainless steel made but we have stainless steel extractor for QG engines in Malaysia ... :D

Posted: July 7th, 2008, 9:57 am
by Leech
FOLKS ... Can a QG18DE ECU match with a QG16DE ENGINE in an N16 ???????? :mrgreen:

Posted: July 7th, 2008, 11:38 am
by LedZep
guy doh mean to burst allyuh bubble but NA is the expensive way to go slow>>>>> :lol:

Posted: July 10th, 2008, 2:13 pm
by QG
Leech wrote:FOLKS ... Can a QG18DE ECU match with a QG16DE ENGINE in an N16 ???????? :mrgreen:

Yes it can. I know someone who who used a QG18DE ECU in their QG15DE engine. I think the minor set back was the QG18 has VTC wiring and the QG15DE engine came with no VTC (99' model).

The QG16 already has VTC, so there should be no problem.

Posted: July 10th, 2008, 6:40 pm
by Alpha_2nr
^That's all nice and fine...but.....WHAT'S the POINT of putting a QG18 ecu in a QG16????

Adds rice hp?

Posted: July 10th, 2008, 11:24 pm
by QG
If Leech already has a QG18 ECU and is thinking of putting it in a QG16 there is no problem in that.

Posted: July 12th, 2008, 12:36 pm
by Leech
Yo folks , the point i am putting a QG18DE ECU because i have modified on the Intake and Exhaust , right now i am thinking of putting a bigger throttle body and port the intake manifold ... So i think i need a QG18DE ECU which mapS is different from QG16DE ECU to manage the new mods ... Don know if this would work or not ...

Just hope to get some infos , and yes my car has VTC ... Not CVTC !! Mine is driven by cable not E-throttle. :oops:

Posted: July 12th, 2008, 2:07 pm
by QG
How about if you get an Apex safc onto your ECU to manage the new amount of airflow that you will receive. This will save you the trouble, or you can try the QG18 ECU and tell us what happens.

Posted: July 13th, 2008, 6:53 pm
by mazda machine
hey folks.i got a qg16 in a N16.at present i use shell helix 20W 50.
wats the best motor oil to use?

Posted: July 13th, 2008, 7:00 pm
by FullStop
E throttle response time can be improved by a grounding mod. Check it up online, i think u either need to bypass a ground on the throttle body or something like that, i saw it on a mazda forum where they had electronic throttle bodies, check it out, it might help

Posted: July 14th, 2008, 1:29 am
by QG
mazda machine wrote:hey folks.i got a qg16 in a N16.at present i use shell helix 20W 50.
wats the best motor oil to use?

This is good, if u looking for better kick use 5W 50 Castrol Synthec Oil.
Recommended oil for the QG is 10W 30 or 15W 40.

Posted: July 14th, 2008, 7:52 pm
by mazda machine
so i guess i cud stick with the shell helix

Posted: July 15th, 2008, 4:31 am
by Leech
Yo i am back ... Well i heard from my colleges at work if i am going to use a larger throttle body and bore the intake manifold , i could use APEXI electroics for good ... What throttle body i should use ?? Got another car's throttle body suites my QG ??

Posted: July 23rd, 2008, 9:19 am
by normality78
leech,
ever thought change to QG18DE engine?

Posted: July 24th, 2008, 1:10 am
by Leech
normality78 wrote:leech,
ever thought change to QG18DE engine?

Bro ... If i wanna change an engine ... Why not a SR16VE :)

My fun of modding can be truly enjoyed if i were to see my puny puff no flames QG16DE can be developed into a different kinds of engines. The cost might be a issue, but the fun is still there ... For now i can make my car from 0-100 in between 10 - 11 secs ... Note that i am running on auto with simple bolt on mods (Exhaust , Air Intake , Plugs , Pulley) ... A stock QG16DE auto in MY land is clocked at 13.4 seconds after several test !!

Its fun to see my QG16 that can match up with a 1.8cc class car ... For the time being i plan to make power on QG16 more than QG18 (stock) ... I hope experts can notice this thread and would help me out to chunk out some ideas ...

Lets say ... If i were to port and polish my intake manifold and throttle body plus remap my ECU with either Emanage or AFC neo ... What figure that can be expected to gain on horsepower ??

Posted: July 24th, 2008, 1:33 am
by normality78
leech,
what i mean is hybird to 1.8 block which is QG18DE. AFAIK, from the spec QG18 having bigger bore then QG16. Stroke was same hence i assume the block shld be almost identical with QG16.

If its able to, i doubt LTA / TP able to detect frm visual checking coz its almost if not identical to stock engine. Even go for yearly inspection i doubt they know about it. This is what i did to my corolla. Using 1.8l block on my 1.6 and yearly inspection as per normal.

As for that mod, 10hp gain MAX if everything works

Posted: July 24th, 2008, 1:44 am
by Leech
I supposed u menat hybrid motor right ? We have plenty of boys in Malaysia doing that in their Mitsubishis ... AFAIK, QG18DE produce additional 10hp more than QG16 ... Its likely impossible to gain 10hp from the block alone ... FYI :

QG18DE = 128 PS at 5600 RPM 17.6 Kgm torque <---- (I think this is its peak hp)
QG16DE = 118 PS at 6400 RPM 14.4 Kgm torque :evil: (DAMN)

Heck the torque difference between these is so far ! I seen a stock QG16DE manual dyno on 106hp at the crank , 150 nm of torque ... My plans is to make it 130 hp at the crank and 160 nm of torque ... COULD it be possible ... ?