wtk about coil overs

the khan

wtk about coil overs

Postby the khan » February 1st, 2008, 5:36 pm

hey tuners i am really in the dark about dropping my wingroad and a friend of mine told me he got some coilovers in trinituners used for $300 for his civic. his car looks sweet. would i b able to do the same? :?

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » February 1st, 2008, 7:46 pm

just cut the springs

:twisted:

cobo

Postby cobo » February 2nd, 2008, 1:06 pm

yuh could get ah whole kit installed from TSC for about 1300 no cutting or heating and ah 6 month warranty too!

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » February 2nd, 2008, 5:09 pm

cutting the springs is free

:twisted:

Zwill

Postby Zwill » February 2nd, 2008, 9:41 pm

IMHO you should get a spare set of springs and cut those and see how the car rides and how you like it. If you change your mind then you can revert to your original springs. Cutting springs is not recommended, especially when you don't know the characteristics of the manufacturer's design. You may very well end up making a mess of your steering and suspension geometry. If you still decide to cut, make sure you get someone who is experienced and totally knows what he is doing. Just offering my 0.02c

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 2nd, 2008, 9:59 pm

^^^^anybody who cuts springs doesnt know what they are doing......... :|

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » February 2nd, 2008, 11:33 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^^anybody who cuts springs doesnt know what they are doing......... :|

troof!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 3rd, 2008, 11:38 am

The "real" or true coilovers are quite expensive and aren't worth the money if you're not going for handling or if you still wish to retain comfort in your ride. The type your friend most likely got is the sleeve type coilovers which aren't recommended due to possible instability issues under strenuous circumstances. As is always said, if you want your car lowered, purchase a set of lowering springs from a reputable manufacturer that is manufactured for your relevant model of car. Research, reasearch and reasearch some more, it'll save you more money in the long run and you'll be safe at mind. Cheap thing no good and good thing no cheap, I prefer to take the safe side with suspension and brakes.

A good read below and next time use the search feature at the top.

http://www.trinituner.com/shop/coilover.php

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 3rd, 2008, 1:15 pm

i know tokico makes shock and spring kits for lowering a car.......its about $4KTT for a set of non adjustables.......
other manufacturers have combo's as well.......check around for your cars application :idea:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 6th, 2008, 8:11 am

[quote="Conrad"]The "real" or true coilovers are quite expensive and aren't worth the money if you're not going for handling or if you still wish to retain comfort in your ride. The type your friend most likely got is the sleeve type coilovers which aren't recommended due to possible instability issues under strenuous circumstances. As is always said, if you want your car lowered, purchase a set of lowering springs from a reputable manufacturer that is manufactured for your relevant model of car. Research, reasearch and reasearch some more, it'll save you more money in the long run and you'll be safe at mind. Cheap thing no good and good thing no cheap, I prefer to take the safe side with suspension and brakes.

X2 8-)

Nick_2NR

Postby Nick_2NR » February 7th, 2008, 12:57 am

Conrad, well said, yuh spoke like a bicycle wheel

:mrgreen:

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » February 9th, 2008, 4:53 pm

dude call me will drop this car for u really sweet 796-7419

CarzStuff

Postby CarzStuff » February 9th, 2008, 10:22 pm

buy some drop springs

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » February 10th, 2008, 10:54 am

:shock: nismown3d .. well said @ Conrad .. and as for Khan .. check out suspex in gasparillo.. they are the best in south.... they basically took over the market in south from those other garage's, like drop shop and the others... they have an unbeatable rep.!... check them out.. oh!! they also have a post in the forum... :arrow:

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » February 10th, 2008, 2:44 pm

fallout460 wrote::shock: nismown3d .. well said @ Conrad .. and as for Khan .. check out suspex in gasparillo.. they are the best in south.... they basically took over the market in south from those other garage's, like drop shop and the others... they have an unbeatable rep.!... check them out.. oh!! they also have a post in the forum... :arrow:

:ROFL: You cyah be serious.

the khan, As said by the others do some research first and see what options there are available for your vehicle. If you just the lowered look then a set of drop springs would be the cheapest and safest way to lower the car.

The other options available locally are highly questionable to say the least and may just cause you more headache in the long run.

My 2 cents.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » February 11th, 2008, 10:36 am

fallout460 wrote: check out suspex in gasparillo.. they are the best in south.... they basically took over the market in south from those other garage's, like drop shop and the others... they have an unbeatable rep.!...

:wink: SUSPEX...."suspension experts"

DF1_2nR, Try getting a ride in a car suspex dropped !!