Mih Radiator buss!!!
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 9:33 am
by boom
well the top head in the wingroad crack and leaking right now, last night I realise that when the temperature gauge was reading more than the fuel.. I went this morn to see wats the cost to chnage it out and the man calling $1500 for a brass radiator, this is $$ low and I was wondering if I could put epoxy seal on the crak for the while? Would this work and for how long? Any risk in doing this?
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 9:37 am
by Dave
nope, replace rad or replace engine, your decision
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 9:39 am
by boom
cant hold out till the weekend dave? I cant just park up the car and $$ low
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 9:44 am
by bcozier
u can change the top tank, should cost around $400 by Kelvin Radiator's on Union Rd in Marabela
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 10:06 am
by boom
aight...but wouldnt changeing the top alone cause a problem in regulation? Jus asking..
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 10:53 am
by bcozier
i did that on a few cars already....worked like normal
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 3:11 pm
by boom
aight man thanks,, guess Im gonna be traveling to go places this week
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 3:21 pm
by RBphoto
It's 1500 for a brand new two core brass rad, why not replace it insetead of paying 400 for replacing the top tank alone and the bottom is still plastic?
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 4:45 pm
by boom
well thats the plan to change out the whole thing, I guess it would save me down time and prevent the plastic bottom from craking in future...
Where you getting it done for 1500? Where you recogmend?
Posted: January 15th, 2008, 7:32 am
by Dave
breds change both top and bottom, chances are the bottom's life is slowly ticking away
Posted: January 15th, 2008, 9:50 am
by RBphoto
I will tell you where I do not recommend. I agreed to get a new two row brass rad built by the man next to Glen's in Debe, he show me a unit that looking nice and neat (about 1350, a lil more I think after I bought hose clips) . When I call him, he say the thing finish build so I gone by him. When I reached, he said he giving me a pre assembled unit, with the same warranty everything, made in Puertorico, just with a round top instead of a flat top. No scene, it looking nice enough. He hooked up everything, everything looking like it installed properly, But when I reach home and looked carefully, it really looking like it force to fit and the top brackets were bent to accomodate the rad. Now, I doh have a scene with it because I tell the man I accepting the job and I pay him, but I am a stickler for OEM fit, and I doh like anything looking hang up and slapdash. He promise me one thing, I agree to a replacement and the replacement aint fit as good as what he originally promised and I paid the same for it. I find it working good, so I not going to make no scene, but he not getting no repeat business.
Posted: January 15th, 2008, 10:14 pm
by boom
next to glens? Das on the main road opposite rishi speaker works?
Posted: January 16th, 2008, 3:10 am
by joker
yup boysie....... your radiator may be double core and might cost you $650
or go by the foreign used place before lalls.... you can call my name in both places ....... .
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 8:54 am
by RBphoto
boom wrote:next to glens? Das on the main road opposite rishi speaker works?
Yuh done know. like I say, I accepted the substitution, so I aint have nutting against the man, and I aint inspect it propperly (it was nearly 6 in the evening we finish and I ride out). You might have a better experience with this in mind. I cannot claim anything against his workmanship because he show me some reall boss radiator me make, the brass shining. I jus saying, I should have been more careful, and he should have let me know that it was not going to fit nice.
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 5:14 pm
by boom
na he does do a lot of work for us, when we need it on our vans... I guess I gotta tell my padna the hard news and let him save up some $$
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 7:43 pm
by cobo
I pay 1500 installed for mine by ah man in 3 roads Freeport right by d savannah. D fit was perfect buh d only ting is it had ah small leak and ah had to take it back to fix .....working rell good now.
Posted: January 18th, 2008, 3:41 pm
by joker
1500 installed for mine by ah man in 3 roads
that hadda be 3 core cross flow.......