Mih Radiator buss!!!

boom

Mih Radiator buss!!!

Postby boom » January 14th, 2008, 9:33 am

well the top head in the wingroad crack and leaking right now, last night I realise that when the temperature gauge was reading more than the fuel.. I went this morn to see wats the cost to chnage it out and the man calling $1500 for a brass radiator, this is $$ low and I was wondering if I could put epoxy seal on the crak for the while? Would this work and for how long? Any risk in doing this?

Postby Dave » January 14th, 2008, 9:37 am

nope, replace rad or replace engine, your decision

boom

Postby boom » January 14th, 2008, 9:39 am

cant hold out till the weekend dave? I cant just park up the car and $$ low

bcozier

Postby bcozier » January 14th, 2008, 9:44 am

u can change the top tank, should cost around $400 by Kelvin Radiator's on Union Rd in Marabela

boom

Postby boom » January 14th, 2008, 10:06 am

aight...but wouldnt changeing the top alone cause a problem in regulation? Jus asking..

bcozier

Postby bcozier » January 14th, 2008, 10:53 am

i did that on a few cars already....worked like normal

boom

Postby boom » January 14th, 2008, 3:11 pm

aight man thanks,, guess Im gonna be traveling to go places this week

Postby RBphoto » January 14th, 2008, 3:21 pm

It's 1500 for a brand new two core brass rad, why not replace it insetead of paying 400 for replacing the top tank alone and the bottom is still plastic?

boom

Postby boom » January 14th, 2008, 4:45 pm

well thats the plan to change out the whole thing, I guess it would save me down time and prevent the plastic bottom from craking in future...

Where you getting it done for 1500? Where you recogmend?

Postby Dave » January 15th, 2008, 7:32 am

breds change both top and bottom, chances are the bottom's life is slowly ticking away

Postby RBphoto » January 15th, 2008, 9:50 am

I will tell you where I do not recommend. I agreed to get a new two row brass rad built by the man next to Glen's in Debe, he show me a unit that looking nice and neat (about 1350, a lil more I think after I bought hose clips) . When I call him, he say the thing finish build so I gone by him. When I reached, he said he giving me a pre assembled unit, with the same warranty everything, made in Puertorico, just with a round top instead of a flat top. No scene, it looking nice enough. He hooked up everything, everything looking like it installed properly, But when I reach home and looked carefully, it really looking like it force to fit and the top brackets were bent to accomodate the rad. Now, I doh have a scene with it because I tell the man I accepting the job and I pay him, but I am a stickler for OEM fit, and I doh like anything looking hang up and slapdash. He promise me one thing, I agree to a replacement and the replacement aint fit as good as what he originally promised and I paid the same for it. I find it working good, so I not going to make no scene, but he not getting no repeat business.

boom

Postby boom » January 15th, 2008, 10:14 pm

next to glens? Das on the main road opposite rishi speaker works?

Postby joker » January 16th, 2008, 3:10 am

yup boysie....... your radiator may be double core and might cost you $650
or go by the foreign used place before lalls.... you can call my name in both places ....... .

Postby RBphoto » January 17th, 2008, 8:54 am

boom wrote:next to glens? Das on the main road opposite rishi speaker works?

Yuh done know. like I say, I accepted the substitution, so I aint have nutting against the man, and I aint inspect it propperly (it was nearly 6 in the evening we finish and I ride out). You might have a better experience with this in mind. I cannot claim anything against his workmanship because he show me some reall boss radiator me make, the brass shining. I jus saying, I should have been more careful, and he should have let me know that it was not going to fit nice.

boom

Postby boom » January 17th, 2008, 5:14 pm

na he does do a lot of work for us, when we need it on our vans... I guess I gotta tell my padna the hard news and let him save up some $$

cobo

Postby cobo » January 17th, 2008, 7:43 pm

I pay 1500 installed for mine by ah man in 3 roads Freeport right by d savannah. D fit was perfect buh d only ting is it had ah small leak and ah had to take it back to fix .....working rell good now.

Postby joker » January 18th, 2008, 3:41 pm

1500 installed for mine by ah man in 3 roads

that hadda be 3 core cross flow....... :?: