QG15de Timing belt or chain

cobo

QG15de Timing belt or chain

Postby cobo » January 9th, 2008, 6:56 pm

Does a QG15de have a timing belt or a timing chain? If it is a belt how often does it have to be changed?

someone904

Postby someone904 » January 9th, 2008, 8:23 pm

chain

cobo

Postby cobo » January 10th, 2008, 5:48 pm

thanks hoss buh I hear people talking bout d chain stretching... any truth to that?

someone904

Postby someone904 » January 10th, 2008, 5:57 pm

wat causing it to stretch??i l kno if the upper tensioner locks out,then this might happen,mines did this but the chain was ok,i was looking for another problem and this came up, the tensioner is there to keep tension in the chain so it wont play around in d engine,i guess if it stretches a bit the tensioner would compensate tension...up to a point at least...things have to be real bad for the chain to stretch beyond what the tensioner can compensate for...but then again it might burst befor that....keep in mind the chain always has some slack in it

Postby Dave » January 11th, 2008, 7:58 am

chains do stretch over long periods