RB25DE installing in a C32 (Local Laurel)

DJ Nexxus

RB25DE installing in a C32 (Local Laurel)

Postby DJ Nexxus » December 13th, 2007, 8:19 am

I am installing a RB25DE in my laurel, now I have made a few posts regarding this install, and with the suggestion of a fellow tuner, I've decided to keep the project update and questions here. suggestions comments and CONSTRUCTIVE Criticism welcomed and encouraged.

"I recently bought a RB25DE with TXmission, ECU and harness.....question is....does the RB transmission come with a seperate controll unit?....or can the TXmission work without using the connectors I see going to it....are those connectors just for things like reverse indication etc...?"
Last edited by DJ Nexxus on December 13th, 2007, 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

shinaka

Postby shinaka » December 13th, 2007, 9:12 am

I think you should create just one thread for your rb25de install?....

the transmission does have a separate brain which need to be wired properly to function properly....those connect to the Main ECU. trans and ground

you need an experienced electrician because if you wire this wrong it can damage the TCU and transmision and ECU....its not worth the risk.....

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » December 13th, 2007, 10:53 am

shinaka

Thanks for all the help, I really think it should be put in one thread, didn't really think of it before (head hot from the install)....

you need an experienced electrician because if you wire this wrong it can damage the TCU and transmision and ECU....its not worth the risk.....

Though I want to get this car back on the road ASAP, I really want to learn about the engine, you cannot use something properly without first understanding how it works!...I'm looking at the educational value too, I've already wired most of the ECU, and I seem to be doing ok, I'll put the harness under a scope to make sure I am on the right track, but like I said, right now I just want to turn over the engine!.

A31DET

Postby A31DET » December 13th, 2007, 1:51 pm

ok hoss well hope you get it done, them 25 does run ok

nyo

Postby nyo » December 21st, 2007, 7:55 am

Dj nexxus
You still trying to sort this RB25de>>buoy sell the thing and the laurel and buy a car with everything in it already::i meet a guy yesterday who has 3 skyline>> i could probably hook you up.

LOLLOLLOLOL

Take yuh time and do it right...if you want you can always talk to my mech advisor

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » December 24th, 2007, 8:13 am

Dj nexxus
You still trying to sort this RB25de>>buoy sell the thing and the laurel and buy a car with everything in it already::i meet a guy yesterday who has 3 skyline>> i could probably hook you up.

LOLLOLLOLOL

Take yuh time and do it right...if you want you can always talk to my mech advisor

Go ahead hit mih when a dong!!!...:).....Ah feel ricing out woulda be cheaper yes! :)

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 31st, 2007, 9:23 am

i lookin for a good mech to install a rb25 also...... east west corridor

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » December 31st, 2007, 9:32 am

i lookin for a good mech to install a rb25 also...... east west corridor

Randolph - 750-8197 (aka Labtoy) Only heard good reviews about him

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 2nd, 2008, 2:16 pm

rb25 n/a and automatic......

what the hell is the point of dropping that in?

rb20det > rb25de

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 2nd, 2008, 3:56 pm

nismown3d wrote:rb25 n/a and automatic......

rb20det > rb25de

a workin rb25 de will give a rb20det a hard time to beat it. and if u turbo the 25 which is very simple bolt on bizness no way in hell you making out the rb20det in your rearview mirror...

a supercharged rb25 de will launch and leave any rb det at teh line...but will get tipped at teh last 1/4 of teh strip..

its a great engine with lots of potential

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 3rd, 2008, 3:45 am

yeah but whats the point of putting all that work and effort in, to do a swap, then doing it half assed?

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 3rd, 2008, 6:24 am

then doing it half assed?

Seeing that you have such a positive contribution to this topic, tell me where I did it half assed, and what you reccomend that I should have done instead!....other than that I reccomend you keep quiet when you have nothing good to say Especially in the tech section!

Wizard

Postby Wizard » January 6th, 2008, 6:37 pm

pics ?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 7th, 2008, 12:28 am

nismown3d wrote:yeah but whats the point of putting all that work and effort in, to do a swap, then doing it half assed?

the man should call you out when he done and let his halfassed swap cut yuh tail :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 7th, 2008, 3:09 am

DJ Nexxus wrote:
then doing it half assed?

Seeing that you have such a positive contribution to this topic, tell me where I did it half assed, and what you reccomend that I should have done instead!....other than that I reccomend you keep quiet when you have nothing good to say Especially in the tech section!

i don't know what your experiences are with rb motors... but n/a rb25's really suck, they need some sort of forced induction to have any sort of kick to them. i don't mean to be negative, in my perspective, if you're putting any effort into a swap, you should either go big or go home.

either way, i wish you the best of luck with your project and hopefully you're satisfied with your swap.

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 7th, 2008, 6:16 am

i don't know what your experiences are with rb motors

Minimal at best....that is why I am also looking at the EDUCATIONAL aspect of the swap......yes I know it does not make that "much" power, but leeme see? `130Hp for a L28 in a Laurel....compared to ~190 for the 25DE.....I dunno eh but ah think that is what you call a upgrade!

i don't mean to be negative, in my perspective, if you're putting any effort into a swap, you should either go big or go home.

You sounding like one of them fellas that does give they MECHANIC the cash to do an install for them, and when we link up on the cross...errr.... when we link up yuh does want to call yourself a tuner....Just because you have a big engine in your ride doesn't mean you are the best thing out here!.....
Just in case you lost the whole purpose of this site and tuning on a whole, it is not about WHAT you have in your car it is about what you LEARN about your car!

either way, i wish you the best of luck with your project and hopefully you're satisfied with your swap.

Thanks, the DE install was scrapped (for reasons I wish not to get into), I am in the process of getting my hands on a 25DET in the next month or two.
But anyhow you take it, I've learned ALOT about the RB series engines since the start of this project, even though I did not go through with the DE I would have loved to feel the lowend on the DE so I would know what is the added benifit when the DET goes in, but oh well! :wink:

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 7th, 2008, 1:09 pm

DJ Nexxus wrote:
You sounding like one of them fellas that does give they MECHANIC the cash to do an install for them, and when we link up on the cross...errr.... when we link up yuh does want to call yourself a tuner....Just because you have a big engine in your ride doesn't mean you are the best thing out here!.....
Just in case you lost the whole purpose of this site and tuning on a whole, it is not about WHAT you have in your car it is about what you LEARN about your car!

hahahahaha

i am a mechanic, i do huge builds, i work for a company that builds not only high hp street cars, but cars for the track.....so in all honesty i could really care less if you consider me a tuner or not, because at the end of the day, it's my job to know what i am talking about.

i never once insulted you, i just voiced my opinion. instead of feeling insulted why didn't you try to see where i am coming from? how much more is an RB25det over a de? i'm almost certain that doing a det swap would be more cost effective than doing a de, then later on doing a det on a de motor.

if you really want to learn, take this into consideration;
slapping a turbo on an rb25de is a BAD IDEA. rb25de is a high compression motor, by putting a turbo on it you're going to cut that motors life in half...maybe even more if you're bagging your car daily. that motor is not built for forced induction. the bottom end is also weaker, so you're not going to be able to run very much boost if you do end up with a turbo on it. guess what happens if you run too much boost? KABBBOOOOMM.

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 7th, 2008, 1:11 pm

DJ Nexxus wrote:
Thanks, the DE install was scrapped (for reasons I wish not to get into), I am in the process of getting my hands on a 25DET in the next month or two.
But anyhow you take it, I've learned ALOT about the RB series engines since the start of this project, even though I did not go through with the DE I would have loved to feel the lowend on the DE so I would know what is the added benifit when the DET goes in, but oh well! :wink:

good choice. trust me, you saved yourself a ton of hassle by going with the DET instead.

a Neo would be fun to play with as well :idea:

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » January 7th, 2008, 1:45 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:
nismown3d wrote:rb25 n/a and automatic......

rb20det > rb25de

a workin rb25 de will give a rb20det a hard time to beat it. and if u turbo the 25 which is very simple bolt on bizness no way in hell you making out the rb20det in your rearview mirror...

a supercharged rb25 de will launch and leave any rb det at teh line...but will get tipped at teh last 1/4 of teh strip..

its a great engine with lots of potential

BAHAHAHAHHAHA thsi is hilarious i would love to see a na rb25 beat my 20det and i say this simply because a 25det has a hard time running down my car so try and come again.. oh and i speak from experience not hersay

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 7th, 2008, 1:52 pm

i never once insulted you, i just voiced my opinion

I head ya bro, forget the harsh tones and what not, and let's just focus on the info, you seem to know alot so here are some questions I pose to you.

1: Local Builder?...who is that?
2:I totally agree that dropping a turbo setup on a DE would lower the life of the engine, but as I was thinking, swapping an engine is not as involved for me so it was not a big deal, my original intention anyway was to put in a 25DET or if costs permit a 26DETT (yes I know sump pan and gearbox and other things have to be looked at)!
3: doesn't the DE and DET carry the same block?...I was under the impression that the only difference was the pistons and probably head configuration.
4: in my view the DE is a VERY strong engine, and there are ways to make reliable forced induction HP from it, certain things just need to be taken into consideration.

and 5: i apologise if I came across as defensive, but you must admit! VVV

yeah but whats the point of putting all that work and effort in, to do a swap, then doing it half assed?

So again forget about the bickering, I like the discussion. and where it is heading

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 7th, 2008, 1:58 pm

BAHAHAHAHHAHA thsi is hilarious i would love to see a na rb25 beat my 20det and i say this simply because a 25det has a hard time running down my car so try and come again.. oh and i speak from experience not hersay

so you trying to tell me that "little" extra .5Liters doing next to nothing for a 25 next to you super space enhanced 20DET?

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 7th, 2008, 2:21 pm

yeah no worries man, i like this discussion as well.

i don't work for a local builder, i am located in canada.

as far as the gearbox goes, you can use an RB20 gearbox which is lighter and not as wide (you won't have to pound out the wells). the only disadvantage is the most hp you can put through that gearbox and expect reliability is 350. considering that an RB25det pushing 16psi of boost on the stock GT28 puts down 280hp, it should not create a huge problem. using an RB20 gearbox would save you a lot of money, therefore making your project more cost effective.

the DE and DET carry the same block, but they use different internals (hence higher compression on the DE).

the DE is a strong motor, but if you want to build a DE, it's best to stay n/a. a full build on a RB25de might be pricey, but in the end you'll have a more responsive, more reliable motor with a better powerband than a det.

in your application, i would go with a DET. it's cheap hp, and it's not like you're beating up your car on the track everyday where you need a fully built motor. RB25DET with FMIC,boost controller, walbro 255, and full exhaust puts nice power reliably, i'm sure you'd be happy with a setup like that.

i understand, it was the wrong choice of words, i apologize as well.

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 7th, 2008, 2:27 pm

fafrumlosin wrote:BAHAHAHAHHAHA thsi is hilarious i would love to see a na rb25 beat my 20det and i say this simply because a 25det has a hard time running down my car so try and come again.. oh and i speak from experience not hersay

the only reason a 25det would have trouble running down your car is if it was bone stock....or had a bad driver.

are you running a stock turbo, or did you upgrade to an rb25 turbo?

with the same modifications an rb25det would eat up an rb20det anyday.

i walk over modded rb20det's daily with my lightly modded sr20det.

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » January 7th, 2008, 2:50 pm

^and i hear what your saying i know that and evenly matched 25 with the same mods should eat me but personally i have never been impressed by the extra 500cc i have a complete r33 25det on the ground and im still beating my 20 lump..my car is no super enhanced 20 i just changed to the vg30 turbo and use a feild simple fuel controler and at 18psi another pal with a ceffie with a neo25 on 12-13psi can bearly see his way im always 1-1.1/2 cars in front.

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 7th, 2008, 2:56 pm

Now that sounding a little more believeable.......

Ok so here is another question nismow....what's the most amount of power you all ever got from a 25det and what kind of mods are we looking at?

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 7th, 2008, 2:58 pm

So yuh sellin the 25DET or wha? :lol:

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » January 7th, 2008, 3:08 pm

nope.. i figured i would try my hand at the 25 should go in sometime month end :twisted: but i plan to buy the greddy intake mani and prob upgrade the ehaust mani with a external wastegate and a t3-t4

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 7th, 2008, 3:40 pm

DJ Nexxus wrote:

Now that sounding a little more believeable.......

Ok so here is another question nismow....what's the most amount of power you all ever got from a 25det and what kind of mods are we looking at?

with stock internals, you can probably get away with 500HP.

95% of customers will do a full build if they want a high hp RB, there have only been 2 customers that are still running stock internals with over 400hp, and their cars are still running perfectly. the most power we've generated from a stockblock 25det is around 450 at the wheels.. we did GT4088, injectors / fuel pump, cams, ignition, intake manifold, and full standalone. a big thing was doing custom piping that didn't pass overtop of the rad, hence less heatsoak. RB's also have a big problem with running lean on 5th and 6th cylinders....it's just the dynamics of the motor, the intake manifold helped with that.

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 8th, 2008, 6:22 am

Correct I was really told you will get away with 450HP anything after that would be unreliable for stock internals, but what I really wanted to know was what was the most amount of HP you all ever got from an RB25.....single or twin turbo, rebuilt or stock...etc....

now seeing that the stock RB25DET pushes about 250 hp

I was looking at these mods to get me up to about 280

mesh air filter
3" exhaust
FMIC
walbro pump

and later on

boost controller set at about 0.80bar
apexi power fc
splitfire coils
idruim plugs .........

They say could get me up to 330bhp ish
What are your views on this?

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 8th, 2008, 6:50 am

with the exhaust, fmic and walbro pump, you'll sit up near 260, add a boost controller and you'll sit at 280 on 16psi. here is a little trick, there is a vacuum line that goes from the intake manifold to the stock FPR, zip tie it or cut it and plug it, it will raise your fuel pressure. that should be enough fuel to handle 16psi, especially if you have the walbro.

don't waste your money with power fc, it's bad to tune with, and it's too expensive for RB25. Autronic SM4 isn't much more money, and you'll get a ton more features with that. you don't need spitfire coils unless you start pushing over 350hp.

these mods with a really aggressive tune would get you up to maybe 300whp. to push anything over that you'll need a bigger turbo and injectors. if you can afford it, try to find some cams.

if i were you, i would get a koyo rad and elec fans the same time i got an fmic. the cold pipe for most fmic pipes passes overtop of the rad and gets heatsoaked.