Page 1 of 3

B14 Upgrade and Problems Ched

Posted: November 19th, 2007, 7:20 am
by NST
Hey everyone, so i sure these questions have been answered on the forum already, I just cant find where! I looking to make some changes to my B14 (1997). Would anyone mind telling me if these moves are sensible and what problems I may encounter

1) Megan Coilovers on stock shocks
2) Rear disc brakes (considering SR 20 eventually can B14 front and rear non ABS work?)
3) Front and Rear Sway Bars I was looking for the Nissan but i just can't find it is the Megan Racing a good substitute?

Thanks Alot

Posted: November 22nd, 2007, 9:09 am
by Alpha_2nr
1) Megan Coilovers on stock shocks
2) Rear disc brakes (considering SR 20 eventually can B14 front and rear non ABS work?)
3) Front and Rear Sway Bars I was looking for the Nissan but i just can't find it is the Megan Racing a good substitute?

Gowith a sway bar upgradefirst then decide if you still want to sitffen up the car with a suspension upgrade.

Posted: November 22nd, 2007, 9:27 am
by NST
cool..thanks

Posted: November 22nd, 2007, 10:59 am
by Rebelb14
Another b14 question - what is the best front half to invest in to upgrade yuh b14?

I feel we cud make this a b14 upgrade thread. :mrgreen:

Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 8:53 am
by NST
^^ cool rebel??...lol

So i have another problem guys...the B14 as a "standard?" hard starting problem??my mech says it happens to all of them but its not something to lose sleep over...my problem has gotten significantly worse however so i guess i'll have to change the flywheel spretty soon question is do i buy another nissan or go for an after market..anyone have an idea of the price differential or even if there are GA16 aftermarket flywheels?? thanks

Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 11:25 am
by Alpha_2nr
Never had a hard start issue on the one at home (when we had one anyways).

Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 8:26 pm
by belalegosi
hard start prob could be your distributor leaking
if so change it to a coil pack

also for the sway bars question
u could get them off of a b14 ser. they come stock with it.
unless you're mis-interpreting the sway bars for the strut bars
strut bars are the ones in the engine bar and in the trunk. If thats what you're talking about, megan racing would be a good cheap alternative. Bamboo might bus price on u if u want the ones off a ser.

for the rear disc conversion
if your car dont have abs and the rear conversion u have DOES have abs, it should still work. Just dont hook up the abs since u dont have it.
If your car does have abs equipped and the rear conversion doesnt. Well you might have a problem if your want abs in the rear

Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 9:03 pm
by X_Factor
if u could get ur hands on the B13 GTS front brakes would be a nice upgrade

as for the top strut bar...the megan racing is a decent bar but dont spend alot of $ on one
you have a bottom sway bar?...if not u should get one i paid 150 for mines in bamboo(boss motors i think)

what sorta mod u did to the ga15?

Posted: November 25th, 2007, 10:56 pm
by NST
i took a look this evening and it seems the distributor is leaking....i kind of took it for granted it was the flywheel...i was told that the teeth tend to wear a bit easily so i'll see about the disributor this wknd...thanks

i was looking for a bottom sway bar...i tht the megan was a bottom sway bar but it is teally the top strut when i looked at the pics i found out...TSC has the top bars for like 2 something to 480 but can anyone give me an idea how how much improvement a top strut will bring??

X_Factor, right now i looking to bring the GA to the standard..manual/spark plugs/K&N position...lol...i really don't know where the future will take me but i does run the hi way kinda regular and i fine the care really not as stable as our other B14 (singapore)...it does feel too unsteady so i wanna sure up teh suspension before i go any further

Posted: November 27th, 2007, 1:24 am
by belalegosi
it'll be hard to find a replacement distributor... rewire and get a msd coil pack instead. Its better, it'll improve your gas mileage and give u more power

concerning the strut bars they dont really give u that much noticable difference.. its mostly cosmetic. If u're on a budget you're better off going with the sway bars and spring/strut combo. Especially since u said the other b14 handling better... prob u struts are shot.

off topic ques, is it a local b14 or roro?

Posted: November 27th, 2007, 7:36 am
by Reyos
i am thinking about doing the coil pack upgrade since i am keeping the GA15 for dex 2k8....
but i have some questions about the suspension.....
I want to put in a proper suspension before the first dex in January....but the thing is, i know nothing about shocks an springs other than how to install them....
what is a good brand to buy???
I experience alot of body roll while going through the course......i know that the shocks in my car really bad, but i did not change it cause i just drove for the experience....
I know that a stiffer shock and spring will help me get the power to the ground and prevent the excess spinning but i have no idea on how to go about deciding what spring or shock to use...or how to rate a spring.
The car is my daily ride...so i dont want it to be soo stiff that it is uncomfortable to drive.. i want it to be able to take the corner without me losing to much power... power....
Any suggestions??

Posted: November 27th, 2007, 10:21 pm
by X_Factor
i am thinking about doing the coil pack upgrade since

if u doing the external coil get the MSD blaster coil its like 350 new

dunno much about the spring n shock stuff...but i saw the TEIN springs and they look nice

about the suspension stuff...see if u can get the engery suspension bushings for ur car...if u get the complete kit would be decent..

Posted: November 27th, 2007, 11:45 pm
by belalegosi
kyb gr2 shocks are good for daily/dex driving

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 9:20 am
by Reyos
thanks for the info guys
X Factor....by chance do you know who supplies the MSD blaster coil??
never heard about energy bushings.....are they stronger than normal bushings?

jngaz if i go with that shock, would i also have to replace of the springs too??....
i was looking at some pics from dex 6 that wagonrunner took and it more than obvious that my car just floating on the ground...

does anyone know how they measure the stiffness of the spring?

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 9:35 am
by wagonrunner
Sheriff's has the MSD blaster coil.
Energy suspension bushings > OEM bushings

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 10:01 am
by Reyos
thanks Karl...
Something still confusing me here.....
i know that Stiffening of the suspension reduces body movements (rolling, diving, etc.) resulting in a more stable and controllable vehicle, which is important for dex....
the thing i am not sure of is : what is it exactly that i need to buy in order to have a stiff suspension??
i know for sure i need the shocks.....
but i am thinking that i would need a stiffer spring as well otherwise i would just damage the shock at a faster rate.
I am not sure but is a stiff shock designed to work with a stiff spring? or can it be used with the normal B14 spring?

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 10:38 am
by wagonrunner
Quiksilver,
It wont answer your question, but it may help you all the same

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/car-suspension.htm

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 11:15 am
by belalegosi
for the springs eibach would be a good brand but it all depends on u and how stiff u want it.
check around dex and see what the other sentra's are running if any of them are running anything but oem. That way you'll get their feed back as to what works and what doesn't

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 12:17 pm
by wagonrunner
concerning the strut bars they dont really give u that much noticable difference.. its mostly cosmetic.

disagree here on two points.
1) strut bar gives a better bite when cornering aggressively. you do notice a tighter turn at speed.
2) also give a quick camber adjustmnet, again more noticeable through cornering.

it'll be hard to find a replacement distributor... rewire and get a msd coil pack instead. Its better, it'll improve your gas mileage and give u more power

not really that hard to find, but............costs.
FU dizzy ........... $400-550
MSD...................$350
SR20 / RB20 ext coil..........$100 + rewiring $60

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 3:38 pm
by belalegosi
^^^I've been studying abroad these last few years so I'll take your word on the bamboo prices. However, I still think its easier to find a MSD blaster coil than a used one in bamboo :|

about the strut bars... yes it does serve sum purpose but if u're ballin on a budget sway bars go a longer way and are more functional.

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 3:43 pm
by X_Factor
street concepts also has the msd external blaster coil

them men in bamboo want all kinda 200-250 and thing for a sr20 coil..
soo thts why i would rather put the extra and get the msd ext. coil

once u say the word SR20 in the bamboo..prices like it automatically goes up

here is a link
http://www.energysuspension.com/

Posted: November 28th, 2007, 3:59 pm
by wagonrunner
jnqaz wrote:^^^I've been studying abroad these last few years so I'll take your word on the bamboo prices. However, I still think its easier to find a MSD blaster coil than a used one in bamboo :|

about the strut bars... yes it does serve sum purpose but if u're ballin on a budget sway bars go a longer way and are more functional.

i'm a debe / penal shopper :lol: Bamboo too premium for me, so there is a last resort. :lol:

agree with you on the sway bars. it's better to have sway bars alone, than having the strut alone, but having both is best.

Posted: November 29th, 2007, 7:21 am
by NST
^^Scene thanks i getting the sway sometime this week or next week...this is the frist B14 part i see a little stress to find...i guess i'll get the struts later

Posted: November 29th, 2007, 9:58 am
by Alpha_2nr
or the springs eibach would be a good brand but it all depends on u and how stiff u want it.
check around dex and see what the other sentra's are running if any of them are running anything but oem. That way you'll get their feed back as to what works and what doesn't

Not a good idea to run drop springs/lowered springs on stock struts ;)

Damping and spring rates often aren't perfectly matched for optimium handling, and struts may bet damanged over time due to weaker OEM valving.

Posted: July 28th, 2008, 2:06 pm
by Rebelb14
Question?

Have the AD22 front brake setup from a pulsar as well as the back disk brake setup, both have abs. My b14 is Non-Abs. Anybody ever do this conversion already, want to get some info b4 i go by mech.

Would i need a bigger master cylinder? If so would the one from the pulsar vzr work in a b14, the long back light model.

Since that little issue come up, the long back light b14 was manufactured in which year 95 -99? :|

Posted: July 30th, 2008, 11:13 am
by trinidrift
but ent endless and brembo have nice brake upgrades??

Posted: July 31st, 2008, 7:01 pm
by CarzStuff
got a new set of energy suspension front control arm bushings
a.k.a big and small cradle bushing for $400 if you want
contact 778-9851

Posted: August 6th, 2008, 8:31 pm
by turbonator
trinidrift wrote:but ent endless and brembo have nice brake upgrades??

Yeh dey have nice brake upgrades for the average man who does walk around with ah million dollars as pocket change :roll:

Posted: August 6th, 2008, 9:12 pm
by wagonrunner
Rebelb14,
get someone who has done it before, if anyone has done it before.
the consensus of most mechs i spoke to is, better sell d ride and buy one that came with abs, than go through the hassle of that swap.

i'm thinking because it's labor intensive (routing lines), and then risk involved. what happens if there is a failure?

i don't know having never done it, nor seen it done, so took their word for it.

has anyone here done a non-ABS to ABS swap on a vehicle?

Posted: August 6th, 2008, 10:58 pm
by trinidrift
well im gonna stick to d aftermarket for my upgrades.
Y PUT A PRICE ON QUALITY THAT HAS BEEN TESTED THOROUGHLY!!!!!!!!!! :twisted: 0X