RB20 Auto Transmission

Posted: November 16th, 2007, 6:39 pm
by A31 Cefiro
My transmission seems to be working fine sometimes, but other times, the gears dont change like they're supposed to.
I'm thinking that the transmission is moving off its alignment to the engine.

Is this possible?

If so... does anyone know where I can take it to have the necessary adjustments made?

Posted: November 16th, 2007, 6:42 pm
by A31 Cefiro
On rare ocassions I can actually kick down,
Other than that... I can floor the pedal and the car just moves along lazily

Any advice?

I wont mind fixing the problem myself.... If someone can tell me what to do

Posted: November 16th, 2007, 8:44 pm
by ~Street Sleeper~
ever considered selling the car?

Posted: November 16th, 2007, 10:52 pm
by Dragsta
A31 Cefiro,is it the 4speed or 5speed tranny u have?

when last u checked/changed the oil?

Posted: November 17th, 2007, 6:41 am
by A31 Cefiro
Its the 5speed

I changed the oil about 2 months ago.

Posted: November 19th, 2007, 3:34 pm
by sleepingfistr33
There is a small sensor on the transmission itself ....I believe that the sensor trips and sends a message to the brain and so the car feels sluggish. I cud be wrong

I have a spare parts for the rb20 and 25 transmissions....325 0015

Posted: November 19th, 2007, 7:48 pm
by A31 Cefiro
I fixed it today actually! :)
I removed the panel that fits around the gear lever, and I noticed that the metal plate, that the gear lever sits on wasn't secured properly.
So I tightened the screws, and went thru a long process of testing and re-adjusting... until I got it right.

It works fine now. :D

I got my RB monster back! :onfire:

Posted: November 19th, 2007, 8:07 pm
by Dragsta
Nice, Strange, but glad to hear u got through

Posted: November 21st, 2007, 3:03 am
by A31 Cefiro
Ok... now its working on and off
It works fine for a while and then it goes back to how it was.
I have to cut off the engine and restart for it to work again.

Also... when I start the car first thing in the morning and put the lever in D, It feels like its in neutral (just revs) :(

Posted: November 21st, 2007, 10:04 am
by Dragsta
^ that sounding like d clutch slipping..

Pull d dipstick and smell the oil...

Posted: November 21st, 2007, 9:43 pm
by Conrad
Nice to see you've got your baby up and running A31 Cefiro. You've made a lot of threads lately about bringing it back. Hope it all works out for you. Who knows we could meet sometime and discuss ideas on our cars. 0X

Posted: November 22nd, 2007, 10:11 am
by Joe Joe Black
Hey A31 is the tranny DE or turbo? i had that same prob with my tranny so i got the turbo and everything worked out fine.

Hey Conrad the set up of the R33 should be the same for the ceffy and also the coilovers should work bolt for bolt because i believe its the same model or close to chassis

Posted: November 22nd, 2007, 7:54 pm
by A31 Cefiro
It's a DE tranny...
What's the estimated price of a turbo tranny?

Posted: November 23rd, 2007, 3:44 pm
by Joe Joe Black
hmmm last time i checked about $2000-$2500, doh worry man it worth it in the end! Totally different drive, the response feels a lot more powerful and it could take jammin, it may cost big bucks but worth it trust me.
Us A31 Cefiro guys need to stick together. 0X

Posted: December 5th, 2007, 9:10 pm
by halfbreed
if u interested i have a RB20 turbo tranny for sale, complete with converter and flex plate. never used locally either. $2000 and its yours! 724-9394

Posted: December 6th, 2007, 8:50 am
by Dave
did u reset the ecu
since the engine was running like that, it may have thrown some adjustment into the mix and may still be reading like there is a problem

Re: RB20 Auto Transmission

Posted: July 20th, 2021, 8:34 pm
by Rated Union
I recently bought a c32 laurel medallist, an I too have had that problem with my tranny till it burnt out.!
Now I'm trying to buy a new transmission and want to know what to invest in..?!

Posted: July 20th, 2021, 8:36 pm
by Rated Union
Been looking for the same transmission for a long time now.
I need some advice and quickly be4 I repeat the same mistake.!

Posted: July 23rd, 2021, 11:32 am
by Sundar
hey, Anyone know if the RB20DET(Non NEO) Automatic Transmission Mount is different from the others?

Posted: July 23rd, 2021, 11:32 am
by Sundar
Rated Union wrote:I recently bought a c32 laurel medallist, an I too have had that problem with my tranny till it burnt out.!
Now I'm trying to buy a new transmission and want to know what to invest in..?!

What type of engine?